• Milsom
    • Bebo
    • Vernon
    • Fyvie
    • Smith
    • Mcnamee
    • Mackie
    • Foster

You asked two questions in the poll, so I gave my two answers.

Best Player: Milsom. Looks a class act and after thinking it was strange Fulham had held on to him for so long, I can see why they did. Some bad injuries meant we got a shot of him, can't see him staying beyond the end of this season due to financial constraints.

Best Player This Season: Vernon. f**k knows what this season would have been like without his goals.

p.s. I love polls on here. How do you go through the entire squad using their correct surname, except from one player? (I am exempting Nikola due to the difficulty of spelling his surname...)

Spot on there Foster!!! Could not be airsed typing his full name or figuring out how to spell it. Was also looking for 2 answers so well done you!!! Tricking one mind you as FF could well be our best player.

Where ifil?

Surely if we can include players injured for the majority of the season we should have Ifil?

Some people used to love him as a defender reading the posts so surely deserving of a spot

The guy was absolute mince and I got some amount of stick for describing his as an accident waiting to happen!!!!

Guest the shepherd

Although he has only be here approximately three months Robert Milsom gets my vote as player of the season so far. The season prior to Boxing Day was instantly forgettable, bar the first, say, two league games.

i went for folly.

never saw him in a full 90 min game so my opinion means f**k all but from what ive heard/seen in highlights/read on here, he was very much the water carrier of the team when we were shockingly bad....and has been sorely missed. so put him in a semi confident team and hed be even better. thats my logic at least

Isn't the issue of who the best player is in any team down to what type of footballing brain you have? For example, if you prefer to build from the back and like to see a good crunching tackle as much as a goal, then surely you'd pick the beast of a centre half (unfortunately we don't have one), because you feel his position is the most important? If you think that the player who sprays the passes about in the middle is so crucial due to the play they create and chances they make, then surely you feel whoever occupies that position is the best (so long as he does it well of course)?

All I'm saying is that I don't think that anybody should say that somebody else is wrong in saying that somebody is our best player. For me, I think it's Rob Milsom. Whilst Scott Vernon is my favourite, Milsom's passing is very good and his all round play in the middle is better than most of what I have seen in the SPL this season. I also base this opinion on the fact that I feel the central midfield position is vital given how it can dictate how you press a game.

Maguire or a non-sulking Aluko.

Now as much as a fanny that you are, you usually ken your fitba.

Why do you think Maguire is a better player than Milsom?

I'm not having a go, I'm genuinely interested to know.

For the record, I think our best player is Milsom, followed by Aluko, then Maguire. Pawlett, when fit, would join that category also.

Verno is my favourite though, he is a lad.

Now as much as a fanny that you are, you usually ken your fitba.

Why do you think Maguire is a better player than Milsom?

I'm not having a go, I'm genuinely interested to know.

For the record, I think our best player is Milsom, followed by Aluko, then Maguire. Pawlett, when fit, would join that category also.

Verno is my favourite though, he is a lad.

I'm basing it on the overall contribution, Milsom has barely put his foot in the door, good player though he undoubtedly is.

Vernon has also contributed massively, but I'm of the opinion that he owes a lot of his goals to the work of Maguire.

Aluko was two years ago a brilliant player, and is still capable of it now and again, but seems to drift for weeks on end, so cannot be considered as the best on that basis.

Maguire has contributed more to AFC than Milsom therefore he gets my vote at present.

I'm basing it on the overall contribution, Milsom has barely put his foot in the door, good player though he undoubtedly is.

Vernon has also contributed massively, but I'm of the opinion that he owes a lot of his goals to the work of Maguire.

Aluko was two years ago a brilliant player, and is still capable of it now and again, but seems to drift for weeks on end, so cannot be considered as the best on that basis.

Maguire has contributed more to AFC than Milsom therefore he gets my vote at present.

:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Reasonable explanation min, I'm nae sure why you find it hilarious Stoney?

However, I'm not sure that Maguire is the one who is responsible for Vernons goals - Apart from the St Mirren game in the league at home I cant really remember him setting up Vernon all that often?

Reasonable explanation min, I'm nae sure why you find it hilarious Stoney?

However, I'm not sure that Maguire is the one who is responsible for Vernons goals - Apart from the St Mirren game in the league at home I cant really remember him setting up Vernon all that often?

I'm just talking about his general link play, he's very effective at receiving the ball, holding it, and bringing the midfield into play, allowing quick through balls for the much higher up the park Vernon to run on to. Hibs game at Pittodrie was a prime example, also Hearts there 0-0, where we continually got in behind because of the work of Maguire in particular.

Stoney offers nothing.

No point in discussing it any further, I have never seen a player lose the ball one game as i did magurie in the hearts game, He doesnt bring ANYBODY into the game, he is looking at number 1 and whats best for him.

Strange that for one so talented and our "best" player that hes been free to talk to clubs for four months and still not a peep! Actually getting worried that he might still be here next season! By that time he might have over taken Stevie Craig in the goals per games stakes :)