weapon Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Just a reminder in case folk have forgot, Scotland U 16's play England the nite in the Victory Shield needing only a draw to win the shield, it's live on Sky sports.....cum on Scotland!!! From Sfa webiste: Under-16s ready for England testMonday, 28 March 2011 Sky Sports Victory Shield England v Scotland Globe Arena, Morecambe Wednesday 30 March Kick-off 7.35pm Live on Sky Sports Scotland under-16s can win the Sky Sports Victory Shield outright for the first time in 12 years with a draw over England. Ross Mathie's side sit top of the group after beating Northern Ireland and drawing with Wales and a point against England at the Globe Arena in Morecambe on Wednesday night will see the trophy head north. Lewis Kidd, who will captain the side in the place of injured Stuart Urquhart, Jamie Lindsay and Cameron Smith travelled with the under-17 side to Italy for the UEFA European Under-17 Championship elite round and will hope to use their experience of playing with an older group in Wednesday's Victory Shield decider. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 I'll be watching this tonight, good luck to the young scots and to the two dandies in the squad Link to comment
Nespa Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 hopefully we have a good big centre half as Andy Cole's son up front for them is about 6ft 4 and can put the ball away. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 hopefully we have a good big centre half as Andy Cole's son up front for them is about 6ft 4 and can put the ball away. Last time I watched a victory shield match, the english were a team of absolute giants... in comparison the Scots were like a troop of malnourished dwarves! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 I'll be watching this tonight, good luck to the young scots and to the two dandies in the squad 1 Balmedie loon. Link to comment
tup Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Sky even commandeering loons football now, christ. Mon the Scotland, I'm chuffed to see England lose at anything, but when it comes to fitba, and this fixture in particular, it's all out war on the guffs. Intae them. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Sky even commandeering loons football now, christ. Mon the Scotland, I'm chuffed to see England lose at anything, but when it comes to fitba, and this fixture in particular, it's all out war on the guffs. Intae them. I could be wrong but I think sky have had this tournament for years and I think they sponsor it. Link to comment
tup Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 I could be wrong but I think sky have had this tournament for years and I think they sponsor it. Oh well, I'm of an era where these things were available on the telly, free. The under-16 World Cup held here was brilliant, and all the Scotland games were shown live if I remember correctly. Changed days now, it's Sky calling the shots on just about every issue in football. Link to comment
Ross the Red Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 hopefully we have a good big centre half as Andy Cole's son up front for them is about 6ft 4 and can put the ball away. He can't play tonight, he's reached his maximum number of day's off from school. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 god they are playing Flower of Scotland at half speed. Link to comment
GK55 Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 wtf was that national anthem about? Link to comment
onlyjim Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 need to hold on to the ball a wee bit better if we are going to equalize Link to comment
weapon Posted March 30, 2011 Author Share Posted March 30, 2011 I know that we're trying to get away from the requirement of big physical players towards technically good players, but englands players look like giants compared to ours Link to comment
a1-don Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 I know that we're trying to get away from the requirement of big physical players towards technically good players, but englands players look like giants compared to ours Also giants compared to Iniesta, Xavi, Messi, Neymar etc etc Still... if we insist on hoofing the ball through the air all the time maybe we should get a few giants of our own. Link to comment
weapon Posted March 30, 2011 Author Share Posted March 30, 2011 Also giants compared to Iniesta, Xavi, Messi, Neymar etc etc Still... if we insist on hoofing the ball through the air all the time maybe we should get a few giants of our own. Aye, if we were playing it about and holding onto the ball i wouldn't be worried, but we're humping it up field and our passing is pretty poor............cum on scotland!!!!!! Oh f**k sake.......2-0 land of the giants Link to comment
onlyjim Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Short passes are what's needed. no chance in the air Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Who are the Dons players? Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 if thats the case, then as cynical as it may be, could be a good thing for us that he got injured? wise up MT Link to comment
onlyjim Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 one more and the cup is ours Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 Shadow of the team in their first 2 matches. Feel sorry for wee Cammy with being stretchered off, host of Premiership clubs scouts are there to watch him and his game ends like that. These things seem to happen at unfortunate times in football. He's miles ahead of his time, has been playing in the Aberdeen Under 19 squad of late. Pretty sure he scored a hat trick not to long ago aswell.Dont think he has.Last time we chatted this was his next aim. Aberdeen have asked to leave school and sign full time straight after his exams. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 + 3 mins Come on Scotland 1 more. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 I never knew his dad drank in the Horse given they don't live in Balmedie anymore. ST's dad and Cammys dad are very good mates, and ST wrote on my page he played in a closed door under 19s match....in which he scored a hat trick. ST used to be the lads neighbour..... I've been keeping up to date with him via person in question as I know their dads are in very close contact.Actually just didnt want to reveal anything. I think you may have the wrong person Roberto. He's never been in the U19 squad. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 So his dad never said that up at the pub yi dafty as you edited your post ;-).Getting yourself confused again. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 mate shut up you know what i mean, just as robert did as i said wise up....why would u want him injured? to sit out a season of progression? to make him a semi decent player for aberdeen and not a great prospect for the loon and his country? i never ever ever understand statements like that, its stupid and foolish to think thats what AFC require. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 30, 2011 Share Posted March 30, 2011 haha no I'm not, you told a wee porky and I spied it. I know exactly the lad in question and I trust the words of his neighbour on how he's doing because as I say his dad and Camerons dad are close mates. Check my Facebook and you'll see STs comments.... End of arguement because there is nothing to give away, the lads dad wouldn't have been in the Horse, he hates Balmedie and got out. Unless of course 2 Cameron Smiths played tonight who just so happen to look the same and lived in Balmedie but moved out many years back..... Hey hum. Aff tae bed , what a heap of nonsense. His Dad used to be in the bar quite alot (i now know hes moved) . Was speaking to him the last time he was up when he was back seeing his pal who lives directly next door to him,joiner boy. He hasnt been in any U19 squad, so that was just a lie on your part. Classic Roberto. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 31, 2011 Share Posted March 31, 2011 As I say, you can check Roberto's facebook......I'm going on what best mates would say to one another. Want a wee check-a-roo? You can do....wire in. My latest status. ST would know what he's talking about given he was his neighbour for years.... So classic Roberto, niente......classic ST, who to be honest, kens fit he's talking aboot.You said he had been in the U19 squad of late. Which actually isnt the case. He played in one closed door friendly which anyone can play in very similar to a trialist. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted March 31, 2011 Share Posted March 31, 2011 'of late'......so he was, as it was a few weeks ago? Did he play for the under 19's, oui or si? You claimed he hadn't played for the under 19's and said this was his next aim, did he play? Oui or si? A simple oui or si will do Who said anything about it being an U19 match? Surely a closed door friendly means almost anyone can take part. No he officially has never been in a U19 squad. Link to comment