buzz15afc Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 there will be a special leaving Aberdeen at 0828 on Sunday, calling at Stonehaven @0844Laurencekirk @0858Montrose @0908Arbroath @ 0923Perth @ 1004Cumbernauld @ 1053Motherwell @ 1110Arriving @ mount florida @ 1140 I work for scotrail and just got this info about 10 minutes ago..... But I would advise anyone thinking about travelling to double check with scotrail before making plans!! The train is on the computer systems we use for train info but no 100% sure whether or not this info is correct Link to comment
RUL Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Its true, its on the National rail website, dunno why they left it so late to announce? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Its true, its on the National rail website, dunno why they left it so late to announce? Wow the return of the fitba special , total carnage , will be magic, but knowing Scotfail they will put on 2 carriages Link to comment
SheepieBaaBaa Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Wow the return of the fitba special , total carnage , will be magic, but knowing Scotfail they will put on 2 carriages If I were Scotrail I'd call it a "Football Special" rather than special train. Sounds a bit too much like "special bus" i.e."windae licker" bus. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Wow the return of the fitba special , total carnage , will be magic, but knowing Scotfail they will put on 2 carriages I doubt it will be carnage, it will be dry Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 If I were Scotrail I'd call it a "Football Special" rather than special train. Sounds a bit too much like "special bus" i.e."windae licker" bus. There maybe quite a few borderline cases on the train and many moving towards that stage by the end of the journey Link to comment
RUL Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Probably been set up for the corporates. Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 I doubt it will be carnage, it will be dryAnd no doubt the cops will be on it with cameras in folks faces. Link to comment
Tommy Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Train cancelled. Lack of interest ? What kind of company is that? Link to comment
athenaeum Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Ive been saving my persil vouchers for this! Link to comment
tmwtm Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 They should have been announcing this weeks ago and making it a decent return fare. Laughable that they've announced and cancelled it today though. Link to comment
oilcat Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Sooo they announce a direct train two days before the game (after people have been stating for weeks that the only available service train gets in too late) with a ridiculous fare of Link to comment
adolf kitler Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Aye, that is something that is really pissing me off just now. Folk with their kids at a football match getting filmed by 'Football Intelligence' officers. f**king creeps! Because it's easier to hassle the bloke with his kid than having to go after real criminals like the ones above. Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted April 15, 2011 Author Share Posted April 15, 2011 this train would have required 4 drivers and 4 conductors to work it from aberdeen to glasgow due to regional route knowledge of said staff... this costing scotrail approx £1500 on staffing this is before fuel and other running costs... my guess is... A) they couldnt staff itB ) it wasnt financial viable this be due to the fact the company (i work for) are a bit of a joke when it comes to organising anything that will not benefit the west coast/strathclyde area)C) lack of interest (again due to that fact that it was only made aware to anyone today) AND THE FACT THAT COST OF TICKETS WERE RIDICULOUS!!! i would like to apologise for originally posting that the train was running, i reckon if scotrail had talked to the club they couldve sent an 7/8 coach engine hauled train to aberdeen and sold seats linked to tickets, these train could hold 700/800 people and at £30/£40 a head wouldve been good for fans/club/and scotrail Link to comment
RUL Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Are you saying Scotrail staff are on Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted April 15, 2011 Author Share Posted April 15, 2011 Are you saying Scotrail staff are on £200 a day?drivers salary £36000 + a year and conductors on £24000 + a year... also sunday working is contracted overtime so they will struggle to get staff to work the train also the company will be paying taxes and whatever else goes on top of the top lines.. sunday overtime will work out at £200 for driver and £100 for conductor Link to comment
OddJob Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Just as well my old man is driving down then, what a shower of sh*te Scotrail are. f**king muppets!!!!! Link to comment
Scarface Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 What a f**king disgrace. Total amateurs. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 there will be a special leaving Aberdeen at 0828 on Sunday, calling at Stonehaven @0844Laurencekirk @0858Montrose @0908Arbroath @ 0923Perth @ 1004Cumbernauld @ 1053Motherwell @ 1110Arriving @ mount florida @ 1140 I work for scotrail and just got this info about 10 minutes ago..... But I would advise anyone thinking about travelling to double check with scotrail before making plans!! The train is on the computer systems we use for train info but no 100% sure whether or not this info is correct Hey Buzz. I also have the privilige of working for Scotrail. I'm a guard up in Inverness, what's your role? Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Are you saying Scotrail staff are on Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 i reckon if scotrail had talked to the club they couldve sent an 7/8 coach engine hauled train to aberdeen and sold seats linked to tickets They don't do engine hauled trains any more. They just have these wee diddy diesel things. At least British Rail ran proper trains, with meals as well. I went to the 1970 cup final on one. Denis Law's brother was in charge of the restaurant car and the catering. It was superb. Railways in this country are a joke these days. We don't even have s Sunday service here, they are always on strike. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 They don't do engine hauled trains any more. They just have these wee diddy diesel things. At least British Rail ran proper trains, with meals as well. I went to the 1970 cup final on one. Denis Law's brother was in charge of the restaurant car and the catering. It was superb. Railways in this country are a joke these days. We don't even have s Sunday service here, they are always on strike.That's Privatisation for ya! Gotta keep the share holders happy.. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 That's Privatisation for ya! Gotta keep the share holders happy.. It will soon all be owned by Deutsche Bahn anyway. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 It will soon all be owned by Deutsche Bahn anyway.Wouldn't bother me. First group are a bunch of mindless tubes to work for.. Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted April 15, 2011 Author Share Posted April 15, 2011 They don't do engine hauled trains any more. They just have these wee diddy diesel things. At least British Rail ran proper trains, with meals as well. I went to the 1970 cup final on one. Denis Law's brother was in charge of the restaurant car and the catering. It was superb. Railways in this country are a joke these days. We don't even have s Sunday service here, they are always on strike.they do have local hauled engined trains... 2 of them go round the fife circle every morning and evening rush hour!!!! Link to comment
RUL Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 It will soon all be owned by Deutsche Bahn anyway. Will this mean being able to travel from one end of the country to the other after 9pm on a weeknight? Link to comment