zig-a-zig-ah Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 On STV right now. Says looking back the only thing he'd change is that he wouldn't have taken the job. Ye know Link to comment
centraldon Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Far less "you knows" than usual. Suspect it's a nervous thing. Also said Aberdeen was a disaster for him. The feeling is fully reciprocated. Link to comment
baconman Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Think he was very honest. If i were him i wouldnt have taken the job too. Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted April 15, 2011 Author Share Posted April 15, 2011 Far less "you knows" than usual. Suspect it's a nervous thing. Also said Aberdeen was a disaster for him. The feeling is fully reciprocated. Hmm. 4 times in the 1st 16 seconds. Link to comment
centraldon Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Very honest, refreshing to hear an out of work manager refer to his previous failures in such glaring terms rather than blatantly tout himself to all and sundry by putting a ridiculous spin on things. Good luck Dingus. Chelsea. Arsenal. Peterborough. Entire London area. Championship would be ideal.... Doh. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 A failure as a manager in his time here but a playing hero of mine and will always be an Aberdeen FC club legend. Link to comment
centraldon Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Hmm. 4 times in the 1st 16 seconds.That's nothing. He used to make entire sentences out of "you knows". Link to comment
zig-a-zig-ah Posted April 15, 2011 Author Share Posted April 15, 2011 That's nothing. He used to make entire sentences out of "you knows". Made me cringe. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 He did once string three consecutive 'you knows' together in a single sentence. Absolute shambles of a manager for us, which is unfortunately how a large section of what's left of the Aberdeen support will remember him, given they have no memories of him as a player. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 McGhee will never be a good manager again, if he ever was in the first place. His time with us found him out big style. An excellent post, and I agree with all you said. Enough has been said about the legend thing, but McGhee was obviously never up to the job. Maybe he inherited better players in his previous positions, which masked his deficiencies, which are all too obvious now. Depending on what lifestyle he wants, he may never have to work again, but I can't see him getting another managers job very easily. As the saying goes, some men are discovered, others are found out. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 McGhee has never been a great manager and he never showed anything except an adept touch of making himself OUT to be a great manager. He had a Steve Jobs style Reality Distortion Field because the record was never fantastic but he had people wetting themselves over his appointment (annointment?) Nothing against him personally (because I don't know him ye know) and yes, he was a legend as a player but the damage he's done to us as a manager is going to take quite a while to recover. (Yes yes the board, wiggie, whatever should give endless money, all their fault, conspiracy to kill the club to take the ground, blah blah blah) Link to comment
rossafc92 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 He seemed very honest, didn't hold much back and basically told it how it was during his time with us. I only know the Mark McGhee that managed us, not the Mark McGhee who played for us, and despite the fact my blood boils when I remember games like Sigma Olomouc, Raith Rovers and the Celtic debacle, I realise how much the man did for this club and therefore my hatred is simmered and I still have a lot of respect for him. Unlike his predecessor, he hasn't kept going on about his departure. I loved Jimmy, but hearing the same story over two years begins to get boring about how he couldn't understand why he was given the bullet. Fair enough, I still can't quite grasp why he was sacked, but it's boring hearing him say it over and over again. At least McGhee has kept quiet and only twice mentioned his time with us and his departure. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 (Yes yes the board, wiggie, whatever should give endless money, all their fault, conspiracy to kill the club to take the ground, blah blah blah) McGhee was given nothing to spend on replacements for guys like Miller, Mulgrew, Kerr, Duff, McDonald or Severin. That's half a first team gone over the course of McGhee's time at the club. He was operating on a crippled budget, and when you have nothing to spend the quality of your acquisitions is going to vary. I suspect, given the guys who came in and the fact that we couldn't sign that left back for an alleged 500 quid a week, that the wage budget was significantly lower than that given to Calderwood. We saw what happened the last time the sh*t-for-brains on the board crippled the playing budget under the alcoholic they hired to manage the team. But they chose to do so again under McGhee, and just like last time we were looking at the possibility of relegation. They're just about stupid enough to keep doing that. Don't get me wrong, McGhee was a total disaster everywhere else, a few free transfer gems aside. He paid the price for being too honest about how sh*te the playing staff was, he lost one and loaned out the other of the only two senior fullbacks at the club, he refused to take blame and his tactics were anywhere between sh*te and bizarre. He failed to recognize that 9-0 to Celtic was anything more than "only 3 points lost" and his inability to organise the team was breathtaking... the Sigma debacle being a case in point. And having said all that he got not one shred of support from the board, save to pay lip service to what a great job he was doing while they organised the capture of Brown and Knox to replace him. You run the club like it's Steptoe and Son and it WILL finish at the arse end of the table. That's exactly what those above McGhee were doing, yet again. They also failed to recognise that investment following the European run... and how many millions did we make there... was kinda important. "Endless money" no-one expected, that's a nonsense, but to cripple the budget when significant cash HAD came in? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 I only know the Mark McGhee that managed us, not the Mark McGhee who played for us, and despite the fact my blood boils when I remember games like Sigma Olomouc, Raith Rovers and the Celtic debacle, I realise how much the man did for this club and therefore my hatred is simmered and I still have a lot of respect for him. The game against Ujpesti Dosza (sp) was a testimony to the player McGhee was. He ran over every single inch of the Pittodrie pitch, as the team tried to claw back a 0-2 deficit from the away leg. It didn't help that our players were being booted around by them either. Every second 'tackle' seemed to be a sly stamp on an Aberdeen player's ankle or foot. He scored his second goal just as the ref was looking at his watch, then scored the third to put us through in extra time. Before the end of the game he was chasing another ball down the wing and just keeled over from exhaustion. When was the last time you saw an Aberdeen player run himself to a standstill in an attempt to win a game. I reckon that's the difference between a team that wins and a team that doesn't. McGhee and that whole team had a winning mentality. The players you see come in now just stroll through games as though it's an inconvenience that prevents them from doing more shagging and drinking. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Good player in his day. Yes!Good manager. No!Tacticly inept, as much charisma as an ashtray! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Good grief, here we go again. The guy failed as our manager, and he has gone, is there any need to rubbish the guy any further? The man did more for this club as a player than any of you whinging little boys will ever do, so please show a bit of respect and grow the f**k up. Link to comment
baconman Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Good grief, here we go again. The guy failed as our manager, and he has gone, is there any need to rubbish the guy any further? The man did more for this club as a player than any of you whinging little boys will ever do, so please show a bit of respect and grow the f**k up. Hear hear. I watched the interview last night and i thought he was very honest and lets be realistic here, he could have been a lot more damning of the club and its lack of support etc but he wasnt. The club he played for is very different to the club he managed. Our directors are a joke. The finances of our club is a shambles. If those directors has been a bit more savvy some investment should have been made into a state of art training facility with an unrivalled youth policy producing a conveyer belt of good quality players who feel proud about the club they play for. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Good grief, here we go again. The guy failed as our manager, and he has gone, is there any need to rubbish the guy any further? Hey that'd be nice, to leave him alone that is. But to be honest he has been left alone by fans post his dismissal unlike the previous incumbent. The interview put him back in the spotlight for another day though and hopefully that'll be that. Link to comment
RUL Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 To be fair JC was doing huge stories in weegie rags within days, live from Mallorca. Where as McGhee has retained a dignified silence and by all accounts given a truthful account of himself here too! Its because unlike JC he isn't a c**t! Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 A number of less than intelligent players who played for a great manager in an extraordinarily successful AFC think that they too can be managers. They don't even aspire to be great managers themselves. They just think they can do the job and get a decent wage in the process. McGhee will never be a good manager again, if he ever was in the first place. His time with us found him out big style. You need a bit of charisma and an ability to inspire and motivate others, and this is just the personality section we're looking at here. Tactically, he had no idea, as zero full backs attests, the most embarrassing state of affairs ever. Gordon Strachan is a little tit and he got lucky at Celtic, as the darkness were so poor. Boro got his stock reduced to where it should be. McLeish is the best of the bunch, a surprise to me personally. The boy done well.Neale Cooper is a pish manager too.Well...he maybe did alright to start with...but his last job was a total write off. The game against Ujpesti Dosza (sp) was a testimony to the player McGhee was. He ran over every single inch of the Pittodrie pitch, as the team tried to claw back a 0-2 deficit from the away leg. It didn't help that our players were being booted around by them either. Every second 'tackle' seemed to be a sly stamp on an Aberdeen player's ankle or foot. He scored his second goal just as the ref was looking at his watch, then scored the third to put us through in extra time. Before the end of the game he was chasing another ball down the wing and just keeled over from exhaustion. When was the last time you saw an Aberdeen player run himself to a standstill in an attempt to win a game. I reckon that's the difference between a team that wins and a team that doesn't. McGhee and that whole team had a winning mentality. The players you see come in now just stroll through games as though it's an inconvenience that prevents them from doing more shagging and drinking.Aye. an utterly immense performance that een. Superb. To be fair JC was doing huge stories in weegie rags within days, live from Mallorca. Where as McGhee has retained a dignified silence and by all accounts given a truthful account of himself here too! Its because unlike JC he isn't a c**t!This would appear to be the case like. Link to comment
wilco91 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Total failure and no longer a club legend in my eyes, didn't give a flying f**k and just a Cheap Jimmy Calderwood Link to comment
Batting71 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 To be fair JC was doing huge stories in weegie rags within days, live from Mallorca. Where as McGhee has retained a dignified silence and by all accounts given a truthful account of himself here too! Its because unlike JC he isn't a c**t!Absolutely 100% correct! Link to comment
minijc Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Any of our Gothenburg legends have achieved more in their lives than Calderwood ever will, end of story.Aye but none of them have won the alba cup so their life is not complete. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Aye but none of them have won the alba cup so their life is not complete. The absolute pinnacle of the slug's career. I salute him. Link to comment
minijc Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 The absolute pinnacle of the slug's career. I salute him.Were you at the club lastnight for the party? Aye Alba cup win but probably get them relegated, cup win though. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Were you at the club lastnight for the party? Aye Alba cup win but probably get them relegated, cup win though.Yes.Was there.Fairly mangled. Just had an tin of Carlsberg Export as a stabiliser.Feel excellent noo, and ready for a 3pm to 3am shift kicking aff at the club. Yas. Link to comment
minijc Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Yes.Was there.Fairly mangled. Just had an tin of Carlsberg Export as a stabiliser.Feel excellent noo, and ready for a 3pm to 3am shift kicking aff at the club. Yas.Didna see you atah, ended up in toon, hame the back o 3, sare heed the day. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Didna see you atah, ended up in toon, hame the back o 3, sare heed the day. I was the reverse. Toon >>> club baxk o' 11. Onyhoo.In summary. Mark McGhee. Brilliant player for us. Tragedy as a manager. Very sad. Willie Miller-esque. Apart fae the lack o' a marvellous initial period. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Total failure and no longer a club legend in my eyes, didn't give a flying f**k and just a Cheap Jimmy Calderwood One of the clubs greatest players. Get a grip. Link to comment
wilco91 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 One of the clubs greatest players. Get a grip.Opinion, Also the clubs worst manager Link to comment