That's Us Below 10,000 Fans Now

Was checking the stats for Aberdeen attendances for this season, and that's us down to 9070 average home attendance.

What's Mine's legacy so far? What kinds of things has he given us in his time at the helm?

* Sub - 10,000 fan base

* No investment in playing staff

* 8 figure debt

* Failure to win a single major domestic trophy

* Money pissed away on multiple management teams

* No training facilities

* From third to fifth biggest team

* Repeated threat of relegation

* Biggest league defeat

* Biggest European defeat

* Alienated fans

* Refusal to back managers

* Failure to garner any investment whatsoever

* Litany of incompetent decisions (Hiring a known alcoholic, giving Calderwood a 3 year contract shortly before sacking him meaning massive compensation, paying to bring in McGhee, Sacking McGhee and having to pay him off, giving Millions to completely untested managers, allowing managers to spend as much time at their Scotland job as the job Aberdeen were paying them to do, pissing away share issue money, pissing away any money brought in as transfer fees, pissing away an extra 12 million or so that we didn't have, artificially restricting the number of outlets selling Aberdeen merchandise, spending hundreds of thousands on a a viability study for a new stadium without having a single penny with which to actually BUY a new stadium (good work, bloke), and I'm sure many, many other incompetent decisions I'm forgetting... feel free to add those I missed.

With Milne continuing on at the helm, I'm sure we can look forward to another 16 glorious years of decreasing attendance, spiraling debt, threats of relegation, decreasing quality of playing staff, managers hung out to dry, chronic lack of investment and, quite possibly, lower league football for the first time in the club's 100+ year history.

I salute you, Mr Milne.... you've turned this club around. From a force that was very capable of challenging the Old Firm, we're now a club with no fans, money, players of note, trophies or self respect.

From THIS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBCyIh616DQ

To THIS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxAjCA-VQoM&feature=related

Proud of yourself?

Might be an opportunity to get the fans back on side.

When we're getting a dry full length up the anus by a rampant Celtic fire on some classic melodies. DJ Paul from the Mudd Club could spin the tunes.

Knowing Aberdeen they'd stick on some Morrisey as the 9th went in, prompting mass suicide of the few supporters there are left.

Certainly not a bad thing and not depressing at all. The Smiths are immense!

They are indeed... just not the kind of thing you want to be listening to when you're already depressed.

"There's a club if you'd like to go, where you could meet someone who'll really love you.

So you go and you stand on your own, and you leave on your own, and you go home and you cry and you want to die."

:suicide:

They are indeed... just not the kind of thing you want to be listening to when you're already depressed.

"There's a club if you'd like to go, where you could meet someone who'll really love you.

So you go and you stand on your own, and you leave on your own, and you go home and you cry and you want to die."

:suicide:

Haha fair enough.

Aberdeen Football Club?

The Smiths are upbeat sounding with jangly guitars (like twee) but look at the lyrics and it's pretty depressing stuff.

I know the words to a lot of The Smiths songs and I know what you mean. But I don't get depressed by listening to them. I get quite happy actually.

Was checking the stats for Aberdeen attendances for this season, and that's us down to 9070 average home attendance.

What's Mine's legacy so far? What kinds of things has he given us in his time at the helm?

* Sub - 10,000 fan base

* 8 figure debt

* No training facilities

* Biggest league defeat

* Alienated fans

* Litany of incompetent decisions (Hiring a known alcoholic, giving Calderwood a 3 year contract shortly before sacking him meaning massive compensation, paying to bring in McGhee, Sacking McGhee and having to pay him off, giving Millions to completely untested managers, allowing managers to spend as much time at their Scotland job as the job Aberdeen were paying them to do, pissing away share issue money, pissing away any money brought in as transfer fees, pissing away an extra 12 million or so that we didn't have, artificially restricting the number of outlets selling Aberdeen merchandise, spending hundreds of thousands on a a viability study for a new stadium without having a single penny with which to actually BUY a new stadium (good work, bloke), and I'm sure many, many other incompetent decisions I'm forgetting... feel free to add those I missed.

With Milne continuing on at the helm, I'm sure we can look forward to another 16 glorious years of decreasing attendance, spiraling debt, threats of relegation, decreasing quality of playing staff, managers hung out to dry, chronic lack of investment and, quite possibly, lower league football for the first time in the club's 100+ year history.

I salute you, Mr Milne.... you've turned this club around. From a force that was very capable of challenging the Old Firm, we're now a club with no fans, money, players of note, trophies or self respect.

From THIS

To THIS

Proud of yourself?

Bit in bold.......... Settle ya tube!

But all the rest, aye fair enough, nae arguments there.

I would say we are 5/6th.

Who gives a f**k whether we're 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th.................biggest club. I just want us to be competing at the top end of the table and maybe winning the odd trophy every 2 - 3 years!!

The fact we play in a crap league, standard is pish with over paid players might also have something to do with the demise of AFC?

I agree with every point made about SM because he has made some very poor decisions pulling this once great club down. Money pissed away, opportunities to build private facilities wasted, signing very poor players who care little about the team they play for.

Alternatives to SM? Ian Wood couldn't give a f**k about fitba and i dont blame him. I guess its SM to stay, I cant think of anyone else who has any serous wad of cash who can pull this club out of its present demise?

* Sub - 10,000 fan base

* 8 figure debt

* No training facilities

* Biggest league defeat

* Alienated fans

From THIS

To THIS

Proud of yourself?

Before I read that post, if the tosspot had been sitting in an electric chair, and I had the choice to flick the switch and fry the c unt to his deserved death, I would gladly have unde taken the task.

Now though, having read that, and been reminded how bad he's utterly screwed us, there's no way on earth I'd be flicking that switch.

I'd have to make sure that he suffered the longest and most horrifically painful torture ever to take place on this planet.

Making sure he had all the neccesary drugs consumed so that he couldn't die on us too prematurely.

Utter wankstain.

What are we then?

I would say we are 5/6th.

Explain yourself, sir.

Anyone thinking we're anything above that is seriously deluded.

Things are getting worse by the season.

Next season will be yet another a season of transition and rebuilding. How many years has this been the case.

Going by budgets, we are the 4th biggest team no matter how you look at it, or how badly the wage thieves that we call OUR players have performed this season.

I am assuming that you are all putting either Hibs or Utd or even both above us, when neither of them are. Hibs have sold more season tickets i'm pretty sure & are climbing up to our level with regards money spent but are not there just yet because their budget is still smaller.

& Utd are still the second team in Dundee.

If the pars win the SPL the next three seasons in a row without increasing their budget, where would that put them? 2nd biggest team, or even the biggest?

What worries me is the way our average is slipping towards that of Dundee Uniteds.

Going from clear 3rd not so long ago down to 5th is also a touch distressing.

Average Attendance Rankings

Team Average

1 Celtic.....48399

2 Rangers.....45305

3 Heart of Midlothian.....14222

4 Hibernian.....11053

5 Aberdeen.....9072

6 Dundee United.....7389

7 Kilmarnock.....6427

8 Motherwell.....5255

9 Inverness C T.....4526

10 St Mirren.....4450

11 St Johnstone.....3844

12 Hamilton Academical.....2898

Going by budgets, we are the 4th biggest team no matter how you look at it, or how badly the wage thieves that we call OUR players have performed this season.

I am assuming that you are all putting either Hibs or Utd or even both above us, when neither of them are. Hibs have sold more season tickets i'm pretty sure & are climbing up to our level with regards money spent but are not there just yet because their budget is still smaller.

& Utd are still the second team in Dundee.

If the pars win the SPL the next three seasons in a row without increasing their budget, where would that put them? 2nd biggest team, or even the biggest?

I don't think you can use purely budgets as a yardstick.

In the past we've seen teams like Dundee spend more than Aberdeen, bringing in the likes of Caniggia when we were signing Dow and Perry. Even when they were beating us we were still selling more tickets than them and playing to bigger crowds.

For my part I take things like ambition, league placing, attendances, debt and spending all into account. I really don't think we're spending significantly more than the likes of Hibs at all... I'd like to see the comparative figures that shows we're way ahead of United and hibs.

As far as league placing is concerned we're on about a par with Hibs, as far as debt goes we're on a different planet in the money owed column, as far as attendances are concerned Hibs drew about 2000 more fans per home game, ambition-wise they've signed guys like Stokes and Riorden when we were bringing in Dutch amateurs. The only 'ambitious' signing I can think of for us recently has been Hartley, and that was because we had a team with no quality and the closest to leadership we had was Diamond or Kerr... as far as Youth development is concerned, the last decade or so Hibs have produced and sold on at massive profit a string of youth player.... we wish we had been half as successful.

Hibs HAVE overtaken us in every area except league position this season. If we're pissing more money away on a massively inferior playing staff than the teams above us that makes us dumber and less fiscally responsible, not bigger.

The Old Firm and Hearts are clearly way ahead of us, Hibs have overtaken us, and we're on our way to parity with a Dundee United team that, on the field, is already a level above us.

We're 5th largest on a number of levels, and if we don't arrest the decline VERY soon we're going to be on a level with United.

Wishes and pixie dust don't make us bigger than anyone.

Hibs are not a bigger club than Aberdeen & even most hibs fans would agree with this.

Yes their attendances have gotten bigger than ours but should we ever get back to performing at even an adequate level, then that will be rectified.

We've been losing support steadily over the last couple of decades, or at best just idled along.

It's gotten a lot worse over the past two seasons & it will get worse next season again if the club do not show more ambition & for this reason i hope/believe that the club will finally show some ambition cos I think this is their last chance to win back the numerous deserting fans.

Besides, this is the last chance for the board to overspend before the new UEFA ruling comes in in 2013 so be prepared for the debt to get a little bigger imo.

Hibs are not a bigger club than Aberdeen & even most hibs fans would agree with this.

Yes their attendances have gotten bigger than ours but should we ever get back to performing at even an adequate level, then that will be rectified.

We've been losing support steadily over the last couple of decades, or at best just idled along.

It's gotten a lot worse over the past two seasons & it will get worse next season again if the club do not show more ambition & for this reason i hope/believe that the club will finally show some ambition cos I think this is their last chance to win back the numerous deserting fans.

Besides, this is the last chance for the board to overspend before the new UEFA ruling comes in in 2013 so be prepared for the debt to get a little bigger imo.

I get your point that they're not bigger than us, but you haven't explained why... I'm interested to understand why the club with more cash, fans, superior youth system, more recent success (2 cups in the 2000s v 0 cups) , and better training facilities (v NO training facilities) isn't a bigger club.