Northern Lights

buzz15afc

im thinking about booking a 3 night trip to go to iceland to see the northern lights, im sure norway/finland/sweden are probably better choices but cost a helluva lot more to go see.

has anyone done this kind of holiday and got any tips? i.e time of year etc

thanks

Wintertime is the best time, but any time from September to March could see activity, depending also on the cloud cover. Had quite a good sighting down from Greenland to Iceland last year in September, but know others have seen better (had fabulous weather, but the particles weren't playing ball for a while). It's all about the luck of the draw.

Have fun!

:checkit:

• 9 months later...

The moon's in the south, figured that the Northern Lights'd be in the northern sky, so I took a wee trip out to the golf course...... And apart fae some stars, the moon, lights fae the boats, and a random motor wi steamed up windows rocking fae side to side, the square root of utterly bugger all to report.

im thinking about booking a 3 night trip to go to iceland to see the northern lights, im sure norway/finland/sweden are probably better choices but cost a helluva lot more to go see.

has anyone done this kind of holiday and got any tips? i.e time of year etc

thanks

Went on holiday to Iceland a few years ago - when it was hoorin expensive. Cracking place though with a very well developed tourist industry. Bits of it are like how you would imagine the moon to look. If you are at all interested in geology or stuff like that then I'm sure you'd love Iceland. Can't beat looking into a volcano, going whale watching, climbing up massive bits of lava, watching geysers erupting, standing in a fault line, swimming in the thermal waters. I went in the summer so too late for the northern lights but there's so much to do and see if you do decide to go there.

The moon's in the south, figured that the Northern Lights'd be in the northern sky, so I took a wee trip out to the golf course...... And apart fae some stars, the moon, lights fae the boats, and a random motor wi steamed up windows rocking fae side to side, the square root of utterly bugger all to report.

Aye ok Patrick. But the brightness of the moons illuminating the whole sky tonight. So when the clouds blown away by the hoolie up here the lights too much to make out decent aurora.

Went on holiday to Iceland a few years ago - when it was hoorin expensive. Cracking place though with a very well developed tourist industry. Bits of it are like how you would imagine the moon to look. If you are at all interested in geology or stuff like that then I'm sure you'd love Iceland. Can't beat looking into a volcano, going whale watching, climbing up massive bits of lava, watching geysers erupting, standing in a fault line, swimming in the thermal waters. I went in the summer so too late for the northern lights but there's so much to do and see if you do decide to go there.

Ach, all the geology type stuff, Blue Lagoon etc is all nice and that, but Iceland is known for it's pussy. First class, plain and simple.

nae sure so dinna quote me on this one...

Think Mars is also in the sky now as well, opposite side to Venus and Jupiter. There was a really bright, slightly red star like light in up there last night.

One of the best things about walking the dogs at night is seeing the stars, that and the lady's getting naked for bed :)

nae sure so dinna quote me on this one...

Think Mars is also in the sky now as well, opposite side to Venus and Jupiter. There was a really bright, slightly red star like light in up there last night.

One of the best things about walking the dogs at night is seeing the stars, that and the lady's getting naked for bed :)

Aye, if it disnae twinkle, it's nae a star, so ye were spot on there, that een wis mars