K-9 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 As this year's Scottish football season draws to an end, will it be remembered for the quality of football or for the ugly face sectarianism? It was a football season marked with parcel bombs, sectarian chanting and even a political summit. Scotland's football seemed to make the headlines across the world for all the wrong reasons. Reporter Reevel Alderson investigates the secterian scar that seems to blight Scottish football and explores the roots of the problem. With contributions from many of the people caught up in this year's sectarian headlines, the programme asks if we will ever be able to solve Scotland's not-so-secret shame. Anyone looking forward to this tonight on BBC1? Hoping the old firm get badly exposed as clubs not willing to really try and stop it as money to be made off back of it. Also hoping some undercover reporting showing some of the sumbags following the clubs for the scumbags they are. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Anyone looking forward to this tonight on BBC1? Hoping the old firm get badly exposed as clubs not willing to really try and stop it as money to be made off back of it. Also hoping some undercover reporting showing some of the sumbags following the clubs for the scumbags they are. can't see it myself. This will painted as Scotland problem that Scotland has to clear up. Link to comment
K-9 Posted May 18, 2011 Author Share Posted May 18, 2011 can't see it myself. This will painted as Scotland problem that Scotland has to clear up.Aye - hoping but kind of expecting it to be huge disappointment trying to pin it on Scottish football as a whole. Link to comment
tup Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 We're not going to solve it, seeing as the folk running the country are amongst the most bigoted of all. Freemasons run this country. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Sectarianism isn't a Scotlands problem, it's a SPL / Rangers & Celtic problem (with hints of Hearts). You don't hear anything about this sort of stuff in Scotland outside of those two clubs. Let's look at the mail bombs: Neil Lennon - Celtic Manager (granted he's a N.Irish Catholic...)Trish Godman - wore a CELTIC topPaul McBride - made some comment about bias SFA towards Rangers I'm sure there are isolated incidents in Glasgow that we never hear about, but it's almost certain it stems from those two vile clubs. Link to comment
Jambo83 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 I've heard Hearts fans are on it, I just hope it's clear that while we may have hundreds of idiots amongst our support, it's nothing like the thousands, or tens of, amongst the OF support. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 I've heard Hearts fans are on it, I just hope it's clear that while we may have hundreds of idiots amongst our support, it's nothing like the thousands, or tens of, amongst the OF support. You only needed one idiot from last week to drag your club into the sectarian mire Link to comment
tup Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 I've heard Hearts fans are on it, I just hope it's clear that while we may have hundreds of idiots amongst our support, it's nothing like the thousands, or tens of, amongst the OF support. At least you're acknowledging it now, rather than the outright denial you attempted last week. Your club could start by banning the Ulster flags. Link to comment
athenaeum Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 I've heard Hearts fans are on it, I just hope it's clear that while we may have hundreds of idiots amongst our support, it's nothing like the thousands, or tens of, amongst the OF support. aye ok just a tiny minority :blahblah1: Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 There was a similar program on Channel 4 in 1995 which is /was probably far more insightful, it was called Faith , Flutes and Football ( BBC seem to be copying this), nothing changes. Link to comment
tup Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Watch the Hearts fans confirm my claims from last week that they are every bit as bigoted as their cousins in the West. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted May 18, 2011 Admin Share Posted May 18, 2011 I look forward to Celtic fans claiming the programme is anti-catholic and discriminatory, and for Rangers fans to claim that the 'pro-catholic celtic BBC showing bias against Rangers' again. Link to comment
brownie Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 We're not going to solve it, seeing as the folk running the country are amongst the most bigoted of all. Freemasons run this country. do you really believe that? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted May 18, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted May 18, 2011 Anyone looking forward to this tonight on BBC1? Hoping the old firm get badly exposed as clubs not willing to really try and stop it as money to be made off back of it. Also hoping some undercover reporting showing some of the sumbags following the clubs for the scumbags they are. I guarantee we will be painted in a bad light. Expect to see negative AFC pictures. Link to comment
Suspect Device Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 We will be dragged into it because the Huns have successfully included the word Hun as a sectarian term of abuse (to spread the blame game). And I will almost guarantee that next season we will be fined for singing you're just a Hun with a whistle (which is a f**king stupid song anyway) Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 There was a similar program on Channel 4 in 1995 which is /was probably far more insightful, it was called Faith , Flutes and Football ( BBC seem to be copying this), nothing changes. BBC Panorama did an episode on it just a few years ago as well... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ubwn4FjHas The only thing the governing bodies have done since then is introduce the appropriate behaviour thing you get told about at every game but no team as far as I'm aware has ever been brought to task using it. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 BBC Panorama did an episode on it just a few years ago as well... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ubwn4FjHas The only thing the governing bodies have done since then is introduce the appropriate behaviour thing you get told about at every game but no team as far as I'm aware has ever been brought to task using it. Bizarrely I'm actually on that programme. I'm one of the choir in black tie singing the Old Firm pish. There's even a close-up of my face at the start of 'Boys of the Old Brigade' Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Bizarrely I'm actually on that programme. I'm one of the choir in black tie singing the Old Firm pish. There's even a close-up of my face at the start of 'Boys of the Old Brigade' Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Honestly one of the most surreal things I've ever done. When I got the invitation to go through to the BBC studios in Glasgow to take part in the fliming it took me a micro-second to go "erm.... YES!!!" I was so intrigued I just had to see what it was all about. We got to meet the lassie who did the interviewing and presenting, she had some unbelievably funny stories from the halfwits she interviewed in prison from both sides of the OF divide. Let's just say that neither group of fans came out of it as anything other than utterly retarded! Link to comment
OddJob Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Bizarrely I'm actually on that programme. I'm one of the choir in black tie singing the Old Firm pish. There's even a close-up of my face at the start of 'Boys of the Old Brigade' Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Ok, brief explanation required. I do a lot of singing and in fact run my own choir here in Edinburgh. I have also over the years done a fair bit of broadcasting (mainly religious pish) for the BBC, usually on radio but the occasional telly piece as well. An old pal of mine, who has run choirs in Scotland for about forty years (no exaggeration) was asked to put a group together for the 'Scotland's Shame' broadcast, the idea being to make an ironic contrast between having a properly trained choir singing these songs of hate (in four-part harmony, ha ha!) interspersed with footage of the OF animals belting them out on the terraces for real. He knew that I would be amused and so he asked me, and like I say I thought the whole idea so funny I had to accept. So a large group of us traipsed through to the Weege from Edinburgh one evening to be filmed singing the songs in front of a giant cinema screen showing images of violence at OF matches. We did four songs, two from each side: - Hello Hello- The Sash- Soldier's Song- Boys of the Old Brigade Like I say, an utterly surreal but hilarious experience. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Ok, brief explanation required. I do a lot of singing and in fact run my own choir here in Edinburgh. I have also over the years done a fair bit of broadcasting (mainly religious pish) for the BBC, usually on radio but the occasional telly piece as well. An old pal of mine, who has run choirs in Scotland for about forty years (no exaggeration) was asked to put a group together for the 'Scotland's Shame' broadcast, the idea being to make an ironic contrast between having a properly trained choir singing these songs of hate (in four-part harmony, ha ha!) interspersed with footage of the OF animals belting them out on the terraces for real. He knew that I would be amused and so he asked me, and like I say I thought the whole idea so funny I had to accept. So a large group of us traipsed through to the Weege from Edinburgh one evening to be filmed singing the songs in front of a giant cinema screen showing images of violence at OF matches. We did four songs, two from each side: - Hello Hello- The Sash- Soldier's Song- Boys of the Old Brigade Like I say, an utterly surreal but hilarious experience. 5 minutes 30 seconds in this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8V7Y9cg8e5o&NR Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 5 minutes 30 seconds in this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8V7Y9cg8e5o&NR Yup, that's me! Christ was that really six bloody years ago!? Nae real. Seems like yesterday. Link to comment
Jonty Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Typically presented as a Scottish issue and "Scotland's shame" etc. Nice to hear from Nicola sturgeon that the executive has spent 1.7 million on organisations combatting sectarianism since 2007, 500k alone this year. And all the while we in the north east don't have the cash to spend on gritting roads or a street party. Neil Doncaster is a spineless twat too - separating the clubs from the fans, what's that about? Link to comment
Quanny Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Total pish. All i got out of it was that everyone is saying they are doing something but doing f**k all. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Total pish. All i got out of it was that everyone is saying they are doing something but doing f**k all. Pretty much the exact same as what was said six years ago in the Panorama programme. Ultimately the situation will never improve because neither side actually wants it to improve. They both make far too much money out of it. And their identities are too wrapped up in it as well. Rangers enjoy their 'WATP' supremacy too much, and Celtic enjoy their 'rebel/outsider/underdog/oppressed' pish too much, for either side to ever let go. They both f**king love it, and it will never, never improve. Link to comment
Jonty Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 If any Scottish politicians had any balls they would levy a punitive tax on Celtic and rangers ( say 10%of ticket revenue)to pay for "anti sectarian" groups and promotion. Guarantee the chanting would soon stop, and the union/irish flags would disappear. Unfortunately will never happen. Witness that f**kin stupid labour whoor who ended the last session of the Scottish parliament wearing a Celtic top. Makes me sick. Link to comment
Quanny Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 I think just f**k them both dock points so neathyer wins the league it will soon stop then. Link to comment
Jonty Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Simple starting point if anyone is really serious about a solution. Eliminate denominational schools. Nae c**t mentioned the obvious. Agreed. Tax the f**k out the clubs as well tho as a large proportion of their revenue is based on bigotry. Link to comment
Sheep#1 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Talk about stereotypes, every hun was fat, bald and retarded and every tim was ginger, ugly and retarded! Link to comment