buzz15afc Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 sitting here listening to the tiles slide off the roof and watching wheelie bins fly across the backies!!! trees down all over the place. im glad i aint working as all of the trains are f**ked due to speed restrictions!!! Link to comment
fatshaft Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 f**king pish like, I had a match to play, and being a laddie who spent a number of years standing sideways on the isle of man, fancied my chances against a rapidly improving and over-handicapped young loon. But no, course closed. Will now be playing Friday, and no doubt get humped on a flar calm evening Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted May 23, 2011 Author Share Posted May 23, 2011 f**king pish like, I had a match to play, and being a laddie who spent a number of years standing sideways on the isle of man, fancied my chances against a rapidly improving and over-handicapped young loon. But no, course closed. Will now be playing Friday, and no doubt get humped on a flar calm evening i was supposed to play this aftrenoon too, gutted as i think the wind wouldve greatly improved my slicing Link to comment
granite sheep Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Aye the wind here in Torry is f**king mental, quite fancied a jog tonight but I'm nae bothering if that wind disnae die doon Link to comment
OddJob Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Crazy winds out there, couldn't wait to get out of work as impossible to do much at all in the yard. One of the truck drivers in the base needed a hand to pull the tarpaulin over at the side of the truck and we struggled like f**k with the speed of the wind, so much so that it nearly f**king knocked me out as it swung towards us, bloody hazard like. Better not be like that tomorrow Link to comment
tainboy Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Got called by my leasing agents today. Apparently a tree has blown over in my back garden, just missed the garage but wiped out the clothes line. Must be hooring big tree as the clothes line is about 20m+ from the nearest tree. And I'm in norway the now too Link to comment
zander Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Scaffolding batons came flying off the scaffold surrounding our work, missing a customer by a few feet. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 I work in the countryside and the drive home was like completing a physical challenge on the Crystal Maze. Something flew from somewhere and hit my car. And I had to dodge fallen down trees and branches all the way home. Pretty scary, but surely not as bad as the winds experienced the late 80s, remember when Michael Fish said there was noting to worry about? Link to comment
robbo Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 inlaws are in glasgow and their train home was cancelled. scotrail have suspended all travel until further notice. dunno why im trying to move back to scotland, its a fine summery evening here - been BBQ weather all day Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted May 23, 2011 Author Share Posted May 23, 2011 inlaws are in glasgow and their train home was cancelled. scotrail have suspended all travel until further notice. typical, i swap my days off, and the trains i wouldve been working on are all cancelled!!!! Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted May 23, 2011 Admin Share Posted May 23, 2011 inlaws are in glasgow and their train home was cancelled. scotrail have suspended all travel until further notice. dunno why im trying to move back to scotland, its a fine summery evening here - been BBQ weather all day I'm taking the train tomorrow! Link to comment
Iraq_Red Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 I'm out in Inveurie on my house is at the top of the of the hill and it's blowing a gale here, anyone else's Sky signal being disrupted? Link to comment
buzz15afc Posted May 23, 2011 Author Share Posted May 23, 2011 I'm taking the train tomorrow! so long as the trains have managed to get back to there depots for the start of day 2m things should be fine, only thing will be the state of the lines, busy night for network rail boys i think Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 6ft fence blew down in my car park where my car should have been, then trees behind it went. Luckily was called into work 5-10. So glad I went now Link to comment
HughMungus Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 tried to get to Inverurie from Alford...phukked just past Monymusk...huge tree...and then...(thought we could sneek round it)..and fit?? anither huge tree....felled and f**ked....a massive failure (not a whale tho)... Northsound radio saying be careful me thinkin....how the phukk do you do that??? I got home ;o) Link to comment
HughMungus Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 this the start of the end of the world?! You can buy horse manure buy the bucket just west of the alleged incident... sorry...didna hae ony contingency plans for the end of the world... Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 I live in what's called "Tornado alley" every year we get blasted around this time, not only with Tornados but the baseball size hail that comes with it.We have been on severe Tornado watch off and on for the last week or so.If you havn't experienced that kind of weather it is scary sh*t! Link to comment
robbo Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 so long as the trains have managed to get back to there depots for the start of day 2m things should be fine, only thing will be the state of the lines, busy night for network rail boys i think very busy night for the rail boys. meant to be trees and debris over half the lines. can still get buses but as far as the trains go, could be the end of the week before normal service is resumed. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted May 24, 2011 Admin Share Posted May 24, 2011 so long as the trains have managed to get back to there depots for the start of day 2m things should be fine, only thing will be the state of the lines, busy night for network rail boys i think "Train is not stopping" at the station, so it's effectively cancelled and my tickets are apparently non-refundable. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 You chancers dinna ken fit wind is. Except from Oklahoma. He does. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 There has been extensive Tornado damage in Oklahoma this afternoon, and it is still hitting OKC as i typei40 has been closed West of Oklahoma City with many vehicles having been flipped over and several suburbs around OKC have been hit.Luckily we only got the start of it as it headed up from Texas over us and headed East. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 Stay safe buddy! Thanks bri Watching live on tv there is total devastation around the OKC Metro area These things just wipe out everything in their path. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 28, 2011 Share Posted May 28, 2011 What a difference three days make. On Wed nine people lost their lives here in Oklahoma during the Tornados. This is Memorial weekend it's over 100 degrees and everyone is either at the lake or in swimming pools.That's Oklahoma for you. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted May 28, 2011 Admin Share Posted May 28, 2011 If god existed, you just got to feel he's got a sense of humour sending tornadoes to the bible belt. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 28, 2011 Share Posted May 28, 2011 There's a creek at the bottom of our property, usually about 2 feet deep with banks about 12 feet deep... went down there a couple of days ago, and the water was more or less at the top of the banks, with all trees and caravans and vehicles being carried off to wherever the f**k the creek goes. Was shitting myself thinking it was going to keep rising and flood the sh*t out of the house. Spoke to the neighbour who I suspect has dementia and he was telling me how back in the Great Flood Of '83 or whenever, the creek burst its banks and flooded the whole f**king neighbourhood. Just wondering if I can call and get flood insurance as I'm bailing the living room oot. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted May 28, 2011 Admin Share Posted May 28, 2011 There's a creek at the bottom of our property, usually about 2 feet deep with banks about 12 feet deep... went down there a couple of days ago, and the water was more or less at the top of the banks, with all trees and caravans and vehicles being carried off to wherever the f**k the creek goes. Was shitting myself thinking it was going to keep rising and flood the sh*t out of the house. Spoke to the neighbour who I suspect has dementia and he was telling me how back in the Great Flood Of '83 or whenever, the creek burst its banks and flooded the whole f**king neighbourhood. Just wondering if I can call and get flood insurance as I'm bailing the living room oot. Maybe you should build a sand bank around the property then claim the costs of labour / sand on the insurance. Cheaper than having to build a new house. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted May 29, 2011 Share Posted May 29, 2011 There's a creek at the bottom of our property, usually about 2 feet deep with banks about 12 feet deep... went down there a couple of days ago, and the water was more or less at the top of the banks, with all trees and caravans and vehicles being carried off to wherever the f**k the creek goes. Was shitting myself thinking it was going to keep rising and flood the sh*t out of the house. Spoke to the neighbour who I suspect has dementia and he was telling me how back in the Great Flood Of '83 or whenever, the creek burst its banks and flooded the whole f**king neighbourhood. Just wondering if I can call and get flood insurance as I'm bailing the living room oot. Where do you live Ke1t? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted May 29, 2011 Share Posted May 29, 2011 Where do you live Ke1t? The beautiful greater metropolitan Detroit area. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 29, 2011 Share Posted May 29, 2011 The beautiful greater metropolitan Detroit area. Is that nae where the Addams Family live? Link to comment