Pot Luck Posted June 6, 2011 Share Posted June 6, 2011 Just wondering are any of you going to this ? Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted June 6, 2011 Share Posted June 6, 2011 Ive got tickets for me and the missus. Going to see Madness and Maximo Park and spend the rest of my time in the dance tents I think. Dying to see Sander van Doorn again and Fergie never disappoints. Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 6, 2011 Admin Share Posted June 6, 2011 It's been cancelled because tup said it's going to be shite. Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted June 6, 2011 Share Posted June 6, 2011 It's been cancelled because tup said it's going to be sh*te. You're doing God's work, Tup. Link to comment
thebladder Posted June 27, 2011 Share Posted June 27, 2011 what's the stort with this, a few folk have told me it's cancelled but nothing about that on their web-site and ticketmaster still selling tickets. Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted June 27, 2011 Share Posted June 27, 2011 what's the stort with this, a few folk have told me it's cancelled but nothing about that on their web-site and ticketmaster still selling tickets. Don't think its been cancelled. My mum e-mailed them on Friday to book VIP tickets and the guy e-mailed her the details of how to get them today. So if it was cancelled I'm sure she would have been told. However I am told tickets are not selling well at all, so wouldn't be surprised if it did get cancelled Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 27, 2011 Share Posted June 27, 2011 Don't think its been cancelled. My mum e-mailed them on Friday to book VIP tickets and the guy e-mailed her the details of how to get them today. So if it was cancelled I'm sure she would have been told. However I am told tickets are not selling well at all, so wouldn't be surprised if it did get cancelledThey are asking folk to shell out 55 quid for the Saturday without telling them who headline act is going to be. I thought about going for Madness on the Sunday but no interest in any of the other acts that day so 55 quid to see Madness alone on an hour set is a no no. Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted June 27, 2011 Share Posted June 27, 2011 They are asking folk to shell out 55 quid for the Saturday without telling them who headline act is going to be. I thought about going for Madness on the Sunday but no interest in any of the other acts that day so 55 quid to see Madness alone on an hour set is a no no. That was my thinking as well. I haven't decided if I am going or not, but looking more like not. I like a few of the bands Madness, Maximo Park, The Waterboys, but its too expensive and line up not even confirmed yet. Its looking more and more like a disaster. Link to comment
bucksburn-don Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 If they had announced who the saturday headliner was going to be and had said earlier that it was in danger of being cancelled due to poor ticket sales, then there might if been more sales. Plus a lot of folk would of been waiting until after titp before buying. Link to comment
Jonty Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 If they had announced who the saturday headliner was going to be and had said earlier that it was in danger of being cancelled due to poor ticket sales, then there might if been more sales. Plus a lot of folk would of been waiting until after titp before buying. Yup - seems to me that the "mystery guest" whoever he was either doesn't exist, or has pulled out. Second summer in a row here has been a cancelled festival at Seaton Park, some folk never learn... Link to comment
tup Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 You've all dodged a bullet, sounded pish. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Yup - seems to me that the "mystery guest" whoever he was either doesn't exist, or has pulled out. Second summer in a row here has been a cancelled festival at Seaton Park, some folk never learn... Heard a rumour that the Saturday headline act was gonna be Ian Brown, I guess we'll never know now. Event cancelled due to poor ticket sales. Link to comment
hopeisimportant Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Well that is total cack. And I'm blaming all of you miserable sods for not buying a ticket - I thought the line-up looked pretty strong! STV Story Link to comment
tup Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 There's always other festivals, chin up, hope is important, hopeisimportant min. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 cancelled due to lack of interest. feck me. its nae like there many better things to do in aberdeen of a summers weekend. Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Heard a rumour that the Saturday headline act was gonna be Ian Brown, I guess we'll never know now. Event cancelled due to poor ticket sales.STV article says it was meant to be Faithless but in end they couldn't make it. Link to comment
tup Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 STV article says it was meant to be Faithless but in end they couldn't make it. 'We come Once' was my favourite ditty of theirs. Link to comment
1983 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 From what i've heard it's not down to poor ticket sales, more like ticketmaster releasing the ticket revenue after the event, meaning money had to be found for the acts now. If true, sounds like Mike Myres was invloved Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 From what i've heard it's not down to poor ticket sales, more like ticketmaster releasing the ticket revenue after the event, meaning money had to be found for the acts now. If true, sounds like Mike Myres was invlovedHaha - i know someone who was just the other day boasting they had won weekend passes on Northsound for the festival. Just text them asking if looking for their money back!! Link to comment
brownie Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 a Ian Brown was approached to play the Saturday night but his services don't come cheap. If they had managed to get an agreement with him then ticket sales would have ben far better. That said, it comes as no surprise that this has been canceled. Promotional stuff has been lacking, location wasn't great, no camping and to me they have tried too much too soon. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Disappointing news. Only positive was it let us be at home on first day of the season as we'd told SPL we needed an away game on 30th. Link to comment
Giblets Posted January 14, 2012 Share Posted January 14, 2012 Anyone know if they are going to try and make this happen again this year? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted January 14, 2012 Share Posted January 14, 2012 Its disappointing that it was cancelled. People in Aberdeen complain that we don't have much on here, but when they try to organise anything folk turn their backs on it, moan like fuck and it gets cancelled. Same with the granite rocks new years thing, although it was too expensive for what you got. Link to comment
zander Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 The whole concept of the idea just didn't work for some, You had no camping for starters which probably ruled out anyone from outside the city for starters. Link to comment
StevieT1986 Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 The fact that there was no headliner announced so the saturday ruined it as alot of people i know were holding off to find out who was headlining before buying Link to comment
Quagmire Posted January 20, 2012 Share Posted January 20, 2012 The fact that there was no headliner announced so the saturday Correct. If you're going to pull something like that off you need a band, like Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, Snow Patrol etc, that would fill the AECC . The line up was actually decent (Idlewild, Twilight Sad, X-Certs) but they werent going to help sell tickets on a grand scale. Link to comment
Giblets Posted January 21, 2012 Share Posted January 21, 2012 Aye but are they going to be attempting it again this year? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted January 21, 2012 Share Posted January 21, 2012 Aye but are they going to be attempting it again this year? Hope so. Lessons learned. Try and get some camping and announce headline acts sooner. Link to comment