robbo Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 cant find it in the online edition so youll have to take my word for it or check your own copy. anyway, i get a phonecall last night from my mum saying its about your dad. hes in hospital. hes been in surgery for the last 6 hours. so im thinking ffs, whats happened. to be in surgery for 6 hours is obviously very serious so he must be on deaths door so i obviously get a bit concerned. turns out he now works at aberdeen airport as a baggage handler and got his hand caught in a machine yesterday. had the fire brigade out, ambulance, loads of stuff. anyone meant to be on the london flight was delayed for hours for obvious reasons. she then tells me his new(ish) mrs called her to say he had been in the operating room and it looks like hell lose his left hand. so given that i thought he was dead, finding out his hand is gone seems a bit of a blessing. called me today to say shed spoken to the ward and as of right now hes only lost his pinky and ring finger above the knuckle but they are operating again tomorrow to see if they can save the other 3 fingers or not. no idea what actually happened yet but from what folk are saying, the baggage machine got stuck and hes gone to turn it off but slipped and fell into it. in the wider context, it makes you thankful for what you have. even simple things like tying his shoelace will be a bitch (if its still possible). hes a keen golfer but this will have pretty much put paid to that aswell. ive no idea how itll affect the rest of his life if he does lose the other 3. driving will become a monumental change, not impossible but so much new stuff to learn at 57. cant see him still being a baggage handler with one working hand. and to round it off for him, hes 56 for another 22 hours. birthday june 8th. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Damn that is not a fine way to be spending your birthday! Hope they can save the rest of his hand. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 If they can save the other 3 he will be fine. My brother had a wall collapse on his hand a few years back. He lost his pinky and ring finger, his middle came right off but they got it stitched back on. He's now fine and reckons it has no adverse effect on his life. So hopefully all go's well for you Dad. Chin up mate... Link to comment
Peterheid Loon Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Can i just ask why you put the title heading "My Idiot Father" why is your dad an idiot because he had an accident?? Seems a very odd and harsh thing to say after reading your post as to what happened to him. :confused: Anyway, hope he makes a full recovery as best as can be under the circumstances. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 As someone who has had similar I also find it very harsh that you call your dad an idiot. Accidents happen and no one wants them to happen. I hope your dad makes a good recovery. Oh and it is amazing what you can learn to do when one hand is out of commision. Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 I imagine trying to make a bit of light about a very sad accident. Wouldn't read too much into that. Hope he progresses fine though Robbo!! Link to comment
tup Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Hopefully it's nae the een min! Only joking, all the best to your faither, that sounds horrendous, and as you say could have been much worse. Link to comment
robbo Posted June 7, 2011 Author Share Posted June 7, 2011 aye, hes always been a bit of a showman. certainly no shrinking violet. his party piece for as long as i can remember is him walking on his hands. so once hes out, hell undoubtedly be in the paper giving an interview to milk it that fraction more Link to comment
daytripping Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Will he be going back to work? Have a mate on the look out for a job. tia Link to comment
Henry Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Will he be going back to work? Have a mate on the look out for a job. tia Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Jesus, that's not nice. Hope he makes a good recovery. Looking through the P and J, I can't seem to find the story though. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 Some folk have no sense of humour. Idiot is probably the most polite thing I can say about my dad. Link to comment
robbo Posted June 7, 2011 Author Share Posted June 7, 2011 Looking through the P and J, I can't seem to find the story though. Presumably yesterday's one? aye, 6/6 one. my mother showed her age when she said "i just nipped out to get a copy. i got you one too coz i thought you might like one to keep". almost knocked myself unconscious with the facepalm Link to comment
essexdon Posted June 7, 2011 Share Posted June 7, 2011 hope he recovers well, any chance he can get a reduction in price at the fitba Link to comment
dervish Posted June 8, 2011 Share Posted June 8, 2011 Hope he gets as much back as possible. That sort of thing can happen any second any day, just so unfortunate. Link to comment