Sonoftherock Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Just has a call from the bank to tell me that they have cancelled my debit card, because two fraudulant attempts have been made to use my bank details. Over the past few days, someones tried to buy something from an online store in America using my card details and just yesterday they tried to book a hotel room somewhere in America. Fortunately though, my bank were on the ball and I've not lost any money! Has anyone had any experience with this type of thing before? I've no idea how someone's managed to get my card details... however, I do use the internet to buy/pay for quite a lot of stuff! Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Just has a call from the bank to tell me that they have cancelled my debit card, because two fraudulant attempts have been made to use my bank details. Over the past few days, someones tried to buy something from an online store in America using my card details and just yesterday they tried to book a hotel room somewhere in America. Fortunately though, my bank were on the ball and I've not lost any money! Has anyone had any experience with this type of thing before? I've no idea how someone's managed to get my card details... however, I do use the internet to buy/pay for quite a lot of stuff! Twice it has happened with my debit card. First time it was used on iTunes, to purchase something for under a pound. Supposedly this is a regular method used by fraudsters to see if they can get by the bank's Fraud detection. HSBC phoned me up, I confirmed it wasn't me and the card was cancelled. Second time I noticed it and reported it to the bank. Was about Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted June 9, 2011 Author Share Posted June 9, 2011 Twice it has happened with my debit card. First time it was used on iTunes, to purchase something for under a pound. Supposedly this is a regular method used by fraudsters to see if they can get by the bank's Fraud detection. HSBC phoned me up, I confirmed it wasn't me and the card was cancelled. Second time I noticed it and reported it to the bank. Was about Link to comment
K-9 Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Aye - same as above. Tried to make 2 small donations to charity then after that worked ordered pizzas in London and several mobile phone top ups. Thankfully not much left in my account at thatt point so never got that much out. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 How did HSBC notice that there was something untoward about an iTunes purchase? The only reason mine was flagged up was because the purchase was made in foreign country... if they'd tried to buy something in Australia then they'd most probably have got away with it! Well, I think it was because I had never made any iTunes purchases. If I had been a regular customer, it may have gone undetected. Also, as I said, HSBC seem to monitor and query a lot. Most common fraudster technique is to try an untraceable low value transaction. If the card gets blocked, they move on, if it doesn't they make a few purchases at your expense. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 So many people make a fuss about this, and indeed it's happened to me once. It's irrelevant. It's not really fraud in the sense that you don't lose money over it. The bank pays it. i.e. a victimless crime. As for the details, the bank's own systems for holding your details are far from secure, and they know it. Criminals can think of any number of ways of obtaining these, easily. Read 'McMafia' for an insight into this so-called crime. And yet all you hear is folk banging on about 'Oh I never give out my card details on the interent in case someone steals money from me' All I can say to that is ? Nobody steals anything. I don't know anyone who has lost money and not had it refunded, perhaps on a debit card, but a credit card is 100% covered for this type of thing. Still, it spreads fear and confusion. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 i only deal in cash the tarts ower there no take cairds yet? Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 The government are attempting to isolate those who deal in cash, and indeed any transaction over the value of Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 The government are attempting to isolate those who deal in cash, and indeed any transaction over the value of Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Strange my mates dad bought a Jag XK and paid with notes stuffed in an hold all...........( await the boring normal response from Tup that he is a drug dealer etc etc) , some people still like to deal in cash but as it was a private sale I doubt anyone reported it Of course private transactions do not get reported, only a fool would think otherwise. And you would be right to question the origin of it, but if you've just lifted it from the bank then there's zero issue. If, on the other hand, you routinely have wads of cash, you're basically up to no good. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 The government are attempting to isolate those who deal in cash, and indeed any transaction over the value of Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted June 9, 2011 Admin Share Posted June 9, 2011 RBS are constantly putting holds on my card and calling me up when i withdrawal large amounts of cash. Annoying, but quite reassuring. Link to comment
Pash Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 RBS are constantly putting holds on my card and calling me up when i withdrawal large amounts of cash. Annoying, but quite reassuring. Same with Clydesdale. I bought a laptop off the internet in the morning then went to Tesco at lunchtime and the self service till refused my card. Got back to work and phoned Cyldesdale and they said they had blocked it cos a large amount was taken out in the morning, I said it was me that bought the laptop and they unblocked within a few minutes. Still didn't get my lunch though! Like you say, annoying, but quite reassuring. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Can't agree its a victimless crime as tup claims, Link to comment
essexdon Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 the cash limit for buying a car is now 9000 from a dealer or auction, Anti-Money Laundering Legislation Anti-Money Laundering Legislation introduced by HM Revenue & Customs is in effect. To comply with the rules we only accept up to Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 the cash limit for buying a car is now 9000 from a dealer or auction, Anti-Money Laundering Legislation Anti-Money Laundering Legislation introduced by HM Revenue & Customs is in effect. To comply with the rules we only accept up to Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 I got lucky last week. Same thing, call from bank to say there had been some dodginess with my card. Called them and I found out I was meant to be in China of all places spending money on shoes. The bank refused the payment though which was lucky. Bit of a mare being without a bank card for the last week but I'd rather that than an empty bank account. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Correct. No hope of getting it back. Who cares? Who's the victim? The bank. They're c**ts, so they deserve it. Modern day Robin-Hood-ness on behalf of these ingenious fun lovin criminals. nae really min they pass the costs onto us in additional charges, raised insurance rates, by backing out of returning the money using a wee loophole here and there... The banks will have ways of getting it back and those ways just end up costing us in the end. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 nae really min they pass the costs onto us in additional charges, raised insurance rates, by backing out of returning the money using a wee loophole here and there... The banks will have ways of getting it back and those ways just end up costing us in the end. Not really. The bank gets not one single brass farthing from me. They have no way of recouping anything from my direction. Only stupid people get bank charges. Link to comment
essexdon Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 everyone is done over by the banks at some point, money paid in after 3 on a working day is not normally credited till next working day, they keep the money and play with it on the markets overnight globally, by the time it his your account it has made the bank money, may only be a few quid per 100 but multiply that by the 50-60 million people in this country and thats why the banks find such big profits.bank charges are another matter, thankfully i havent had them for some time. but the banks treat us as second class citizens only there to make them money Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Not really. The bank gets not one single brass farthing from me. They have no way of recouping anything from my direction. Only stupid people get bank charges. You still loose out on interest on your savings etc Tup and have to pay more in interest on your mortgage, loans, anything financial. There is more chance of me ending up in the sack with all the female S clubbers (aye, the originals like) that the bank taking a hit from card fraud. And by bank charges I meant monthly and annual account charges for services etc all being ramped up and not not the being a pleb and spending what you dont have charges. Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Not exactly credit card fraud but my PAYPAL account was compromised and some nice person decided to send 4 separate payments of $400 to a dummy business with a dummy website paying for dummy goods. Thankfully I get notified when any purchases are made and it takes a few days for the cash to transfer, so I was able to contact PAYPAL who to be fair intercepted the cash very quickly and stopped the transaction before my bank account was emptied. After that I changed my email address & password, been a year now and there's been no repeat. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Some f**ker in Vietnam or South Korea once used my charge card for flying lessons. Link to comment
tup Posted June 9, 2011 Share Posted June 9, 2011 Some f**ker in Vietnam or South Korea once used my charge card for flying lessons. Was it a young Mohammed Atta? Link to comment