Our Current Squad

By my reckoning, we have a squad of 18 just now, including the likes of Jordon Brown, Joe Shaughnessy, Clark Roberston, Ryan Fraser and Nicky Low (and Youl Mawene). 19 if you include Foster, but that could go either way (only one way I'd like to see him go but that's another matter).

With training about to recommence within the next couple of weeks..... is this figure just a tad on the small side and what sort of end figure do you think we'll end up with as a 1st team squad?.... 23, 24?

We had one of the SPL's smallest rosters last year, I'd expect more of the same this year.

A small squad is okay if the players in that squad are good players... but when your squad is paper thin AND pish, well....

Without a number of signings, I'd estimate three or four more, we're going to be in the same kind of sh*t as we were last season when the injuries start mounting up.

With our injury history over the years & last season being one of our worst, then questions should be asked about either our signing policy (older experienced injury prone etc.) or our fitness routines & those that are looking after the well being of our players cos this is not a new thing for us & last year wasn't just one of those things & us being unlucky. Yes we were unlucky with regards Fyvie, Mackie & folly but the rest were just the norm for us & there was plenty of the norm.

So having said all that & with our history, we REALLY shouldn't be going AGAIN with such a small squad as all it does is gives the club the same old bollocks excuses about being unlucky with injuries.

Make yer bed, you lay in it.

Decent sized squad with core dependable players is not that big an ask.

Otherwise we will continue as a complete laughingstock to the rest of the SPL, even (disgutingly IMO) to the diddy teams we once looked down on & 'expected' to beat at a canter.

By my reckoning, we have a squad of 18 just now, including the likes of Jordon Brown, Joe Shaughnessy, Clark Roberston, Ryan Fraser and Nicky Low (and Youl Mawene). 19 if you include Foster, but that could go either way (only one way I'd like to see him go but that's another matter).

With training about to recommence within the next couple of weeks..... is this figure just a tad on the small side and what sort of end figure do you think we'll end up with as a 1st team squad?.... 23, 24?

Of the young players mentioned, I reckon only Shaugnessy & Robertson will be first teamers/subs.

I reckon we need;

GK (at least one if Langfield is not given the all clear)

LB

centre mid

left mid

striker

that is the minimum we need.

If we dont get those I reckon it'll be more of the same.

Without putting too much thought into it, there's probably only about a half dozen I would keep out of our current "squad". By my reckoning we need to sign around 16 new players.

In order to make a significant difference to the state of AFC's playing staff, you're probably not far off the mark.

I don't think I'd want to keep a single senior player, given the option.

In order to make a significant difference to the state of AFC's playing staff, you're probably not far off the mark.

I don't think I'd want to keep a single senior player, given the option.

Yeah I agree, get that Mawene to f@ck!!!

Haha, seriously though, I agree in an ideal world we could happily let a lot of them go, but not a single player??

You'd get rid of vernon, milsom, fyvie, smith for example?

Yeah I agree, get that Mawene to f@ck!!!

Haha, seriously though, I agree in an ideal world we could happily let a lot of them go, but not a single player??

You'd get rid of vernon, milsom, fyvie, smith for example?

Vernon is OK, he's worth keeping, but perhaps not as long term first choice, he's a bit too lumbering for me.

Milsom is an excellent player.

The jury is still out on Fyvie, far too much hype, John Fleck syndrome if he's nae careful.

Smith is worth keeping certainly.

Vernon is OK, he's worth keeping, but perhaps not as long term first choice, he's a bit too lumbering for me.

Milsom is an excellent player.

The jury is still out on Fyvie, far too much hype, John Fleck syndrome if he's nae careful.

Smith is worth keeping certainly.

My point was that we certainly have players worth keeping and to say otherwise is a bit over zealous. Not saying we don't need a huge improvement in the squad, just that we do have some quality already.

Frank mcdougall was lumbering but with the right service.. Well you know.

And I agree fyvie hasn't proved himself yet but he's certainly worth keeping.

Going on the basis the little hun chunt Ricky Foster will be here...we need:

GK - we need one anyway with Howard away, but depending on Langfields recovery perhaps a first choicer.

Left back Don't know the Steven Smith latest.

Another centre back We need to sort the defence out.

Left & Right midfielders Obviously if Aluko is here just one.

Striker

So 6 minimum. Don't expect that many sadly.

Going on the basis the little hun chunt Ricky Foster will be here...we need:

GK - we need one anyway with Howard away, but depending on Langfields recovery perhaps a first choicer.

Left back Don't know the Steven Smith latest.

Another centre back We need to sort the defence out.

Left & Right midfielders Obviously if Aluko is here just one.

Striker

So 6 minimum. Don't expect that many sadly.

And that is just for decent first team - we also need decent cover!!

Jamie Langfield

Rory McArdle

Yoann Folly

Andrew Considine

Scott Vernon

Darren Mackie

Peter Pawlett

Fraser Fyvie

Michael Paton

FW Josh Magennis

Ryan Jack

Robert Milsom

Nicky Low

Joe Shaughnessy

Jordan Brown

Clark Robertson

Ryan Fraser

Jack Grimmer

Youl Mawéné

Richard Foster

Mitchel Megginson

Jamie Masson

In bold the ones I'd keep, some are just being kept because I haven't seen them enough & are young & therefore haven't had a chance yet.

Going by our injuries (not just last season but EVERY season) we need a squad of 26 minimum but not mostly kids, we need kids in it yes & we have enough for now, so unless a young gem comes along, I'd say we need to sign a good few experienced players.

We're not replacing the ones that aren't in bold, so we must get some out on loan please to make room