vanderark14 Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 whats the thoughts on this? Do you believe that its to celebrate the oldest Football Association in the world's 150th anniversary or is it because UEFA made a fortune from the last one? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 whats the thoughts on this? Do you believe that its to celebrate the oldest Football Association in the world's 150th anniversary or is it because UEFA made a fortune from the last one? 20:80 split. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 money. but thats what fifa and uefa are all about. england lost the world cup due to money, now they won the c.l. final due to money. Link to comment
tup Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Joke decision. Football is no longer for everyone, only the privileged few it seems, railroading all the resources into a small number of pockets. Sickening. Link to comment
johnstrac Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Fancy a trip to London ?As if. Link to comment
minijc Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Nice of them to do this as a celebration gesture, Wembley is a fantastic stadium an d fit for such a massive occasion. Link to comment
tup Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Nice of them to do this as a celebration gesture, Wembley is a fantastic stadium an d fit for such a massive occasion. Wonder if we will get a Panorama special on who exactly made this decision and how it was arrived at? I for one would love to see such a programme. Link to comment
minijc Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Wonder if we will get a Panorama special on who exactly made this decision and how it was arrived at? I for one would love to see such a programme.Why would they do that? No bribes would have been involved. Link to comment
tup Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Why would they do that? No bribes would have been involved. You reckon? I would say it's an absolute certainty that some palms were greased, possibly not in straight cash payments, but everyone knows how these things work, the decision makers get lavished with gifts and meals etc etc. by corporate backers, and feel they cannot deny them. But of course this is not important, England got this one, therefore a mass sweeping of inconvenient truths under the carpet is fully justified. Come on BBC, ITV get the Champions League final, here's your chance to get back at them. Link to comment
OddJob Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 Found it strange to see Wembley getting it again but there you go. From what i gather the last one passed without any incident so obviously a big help there. Link to comment
minijc Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 That's not a bribe though, is it? It's just them being nice. Link to comment
tup Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 That's not a bribe though, is it? It's just them being nice. I'm sure Jack Warner would concur. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted June 17, 2011 Share Posted June 17, 2011 You reckon? I would say it's an absolute certainty that some palms were greased, possibly not in straight cash payments, but everyone knows how these things work, the decision makers get lavished with gifts and meals etc etc. by corporate backers, and feel they cannot deny them. But of course this is not important, England got this one, therefore a mass sweeping of inconvenient truths under the carpet is fully justified. Come on BBC, ITV get the Champions League final, here's your chance to get back at them. why you moaning tup? england obvioulsy won it fair and square. you know, just like when russia and quatar won it fair and square, and it was just england being bad losers. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 I'd say it's been given to Wembley again purely because of cash profit and to butter up the FA a little after the World Cup fiasco. Fully aware FIFA and UEFA are two differnet entities as well. Link to comment
zander Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 Why did they give England it this year if they were gan to in two years pretty pointless, nae that I really gee a f**k it just means it quite close for us in the event of us getting to their. Link to comment
tup Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 why you moaning tup? england obvioulsy won it fair and square. you know, just like when russia and quatar won it fair and square, and it was just england being bad losers. I'm not, I dinna give a f**k where the corporate whorefest final is played, but I'm highlighting the blatant double standards of the rankly hypocritical English. Russia and Qatar have never had a World cup, so there's a case for saying they deserve it (well Russia anyway). England just had the final, they had it in the 90's, but do we hear their media saying, hang on a minute, this is unfair? Do we f**k, not a peep. Link to comment
Jaws Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 I'm not, I dinna give a f**k where the corporate whorefest final is played, but I'm highlighting the blatant double standards of the rankly hypocritical English. Russia and Qatar have never had a World cup, so there's a case for saying they deserve it (well Russia anyway). England just had the final, they had it in the 90's, but do we hear their media saying, hang on a minute, this is unfair? Do we f**k, not a peep. Amazing how you've missed the point yet again. I do find the decision strange but have England bribed UEFA for them to come to this decision? I highly doubt it. Big difference between the World Cup bid and this. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 Amazing how you've missed the point yet again. I do find the decision strange but have England bribed UEFA for them to come to this decision? I highly doubt it. Big difference between the World Cup bid and this. Don't think that was what he meant. It's right enough that the media haven't said a peep about it although it's crap they get it within 3 years. Nothing about bribery. Link to comment
Jaws Posted June 26, 2011 Share Posted June 26, 2011 Don't think that was what he meant. It's right enough that the media haven't said a peep about it although it's crap they get it within 3 years. Nothing about bribery. Aye. That's why i said there's a difference between the 2. Tup keeps on making England out to be bad losers, like they lost the World Cup bid fair and square yet they never. If i found out i had lost something because of bribery, damned right i would have something to say about it. Link to comment