Tord31 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 P&J reports in amongst the AFC stuff that the team played an XI a side game for the first time in training yesterday and lined up.... Oldfield Foster Mawene Considine Clark Jack Fyvie Osbourne Milsom Pawlett Vernon and the paper confirmed Oldfield would play tonight. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Looks fairly robust. Dunno about 4-5-1, but if it keeps Mackie out of the team, then it's fine by me. Shows the pretty desperate need for us to get a first pick striker on board. Wiould be okay short term (or maybe for games away to OF?) as long as Jack and Pawlett get forward to support Vernon. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 6, 2011 Author Share Posted July 6, 2011 If thats how the first XI looks then I think it shows we desperately need a full back, a wide midfielder and a striker (and obviously a goalie as that one is a trialist). Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Dundee United won the title by using only 13 players. All we need are good players, hard b*stards, 15 of them, supplemented by youth. It's total garbage to suggest we need 22 players in the first team squad. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Dundee United won the title by using only 13 players. All we need are good players, hard b*stards, 15 of them, supplemented by youth. It's total garbage to suggest we need 22 players in the first team squad. tup, this is isn't 1983. players get more suspensions now for a start, and for whatever reason, more injuries.15 players? pfffttt..We DO need a left back, striker and ideally a left mid. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 tup, this is isn't 1983. players get more suspensions now for a start, and for whatever reason, more injuries.15 players? pfffttt..We DO need a left back, striker and ideally a left mid. They don't make em like they used to. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 and the paper confirmed Oldfield would play tonight.Maybe they could play Tubular Bells on the PA Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 I never thought that much of him in the 1st half at Glebe Park. Bit too flappy in his 6yarder and we were lucky on a couple of occassions when we cleared off the line. Home win tonight! Link to comment
Quagmire Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 If we're going to play that system i'd rather see Mackie on right wing than Jack. Jack has absolutely no pace. Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 6, 2011 Author Share Posted July 6, 2011 The jury is still out on Ryan Jack if I'm going to be honest. I hope he proves me wrong. Agreed. Ideally for me he starts as a sub this season. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 can't see him getting much first team action unless we're desperate. Was anonymous in many, many games last season. Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 can't see him getting much first team action unless we're desperate. Was anonymous in many, many games last season. Was also anonymous at the League Cup final, in the Rangers end So he's got a bit of work to do has wee Union. Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 can't see him getting much first team action unless we're desperate. Was anonymous in many, many games last season.Looking at our right side just now we could be seeing more of him, not less. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 I read the P&J today and after going through the interview with Mawene I only have one question Is Paul Third the b*stard child of Charlie Allan and Pauline Quirke? Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 I read the P&J today and after going through the interview with Mawene I only have one question Is Paul Third the b*stard child of Charlie Allan and Pauline Quirke? I'd sack him on the basis of poor personal health. No wonder the club and fans want nothing to do with trosks like thon. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Was also anonymous at the League Cup final, in the Rangers end So he's got a bit of work to do has wee Union. In contrast to most (it appears), I thought he played decently in a lot of games last season.Considering...first season...team in turmoil...asked to play all over the shop. But with the above in mind...he'll be receiving less slack from this poster.Be okay if he can maintain a good standard of performance...but if he doesn't come up to scratch...the his twattish and diserespectful hun exploits will gradually become a clearer memory.Not by choice. It just will.Stupid loon. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Dundee United won the title by using only 13 players. All we need are good players, hard b*stards, 15 of them, supplemented by youth. It's total garbage to suggest we need 22 players in the first team squad. If it's garbage to suggest we need 22, it's utter sewage to suggest we'd get by with 15. 18 is the bare minumum - and that would likely be too few. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 P&J reports in amongst the AFC stuff that the team played an XI a side game for the first time in training yesterday and lined up.... Oldfield Foster Mawene Considine Clark Jack Fyvie Osbourne Milsom Pawlett Vernon and the paper confirmed Oldfield would play tonight. 1 - Pawlett is pish in the left - get him on the right2 - Jack is NEVER a wide right midfielder This highlights the lack of width in the team.IF we had a left back, you could push Clark up, and switch Pawlett over. Just highlights the need for 3 players to be brought in. Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 If it's garbage to suggest we need 22, it's utter sewage to suggest we'd get by with 15. 18 is the bare minumum - and that would likely be too few. 15 first team player supplemented by this supposed golden generation of youths. I don't count Pawlett or Fyvie as first teamers by any means yet, overhyped bairns the pair of them. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 15 first team player supplemented by this supposed golden generation of youths. I don't count Pawlett or Fyvie as first teamers by any means yet, overhyped bairns the pair of them.Pawlett i'd agree with, but i've seen enough of Fyvie to suggest he's more than capable of playing in the first team. Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 If thats how the first XI looks then I think it shows we desperately need a full back, a wide midfielder and a striker (and obviously a goalie as that one is a trialist).Precisely - and that is just for a first team, never mind decent cover in this positions. Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Dundee United won the title by using only 13 players. All we need are good players, hard b*stards, 15 of them, supplemented by youth. It's total garbage to suggest we need 22 players in the first team squad.Its total garbage to suggest 15 players is way forward. Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Agreed. Ideally for me he starts as a sub this season.Agreed - for Peterhead preferrably. Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 15 first team player supplemented by this supposed golden generation of youths. I don't count Pawlett or Fyvie as first teamers by any means yet, overhyped bairns the pair of them.So how many of the youths to supplement them? Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Its total garbage to suggest 15 players is way forward. 15 first team players, not 15 players in total. And instead of your Stuart Duffs and Derek Youngs and Jerel Ifilses of this world kicking about the bench scratching their collective arse, we use hungry young players, who we're told are brilliant but so far flatter to deceive, as substitutes and injury replacements. If you dinna play young players regularly, in a good team, they will never develop. Link to comment
tup Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 So how many of the youths to supplement them? I can think of several off the top of my head, Fyvie, Pawlett, Jack, Megginson, and Grimmer I would say seven to cover most areas of the team. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 Maybe they could play Tubular Bells on the PA surprised nobody pulled you up on that Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 A ball has not been kicked in anger yet and already the knives are out for players. Lets just allow them to play for the club and see how they do under Brown and knox. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 6, 2011 Share Posted July 6, 2011 A ball has not been kicked in anger yet and already the knives are out for players. Lets just allow them to play for the club and see how they do under Brown and knox. I'm already dreading tonights game. A bad result could push some over the edge Link to comment