Sinus Infection

Ke1t

Been struggling on with a sinus infection for about two weeks, f**king horrible.... bloody ooze, painful, swollen face, can't breath. Any time I tried to exhale through the right nostril it closed up, so I've been breathing through my mouth like an exhausted retard.

Anway, today I was snottering and pulling the grunty faces, trying to get my nose clear of some of the sh*t that's packed in up there, and lo and behold this f**king blood clot almost goes down my throat... I fished that bloody, mucusy bad boy out of my mouth and held it up like I'd just caught myself a 20lb salmon.

Now I can actually breath again, but my face hurts like a b*stard. Fair amount of blood coming out of my nose on the right hand side, which is a bit worrying considering I had a blood clot the size of a AAA battery in my head.

Anyway, has this ever happened to anyone else, and should i be worrying right now?

I mean, the blood clot's gone (took some pictures of it) but when I blow my nose it's just blood coming out....

Thoughts?

a couple of years ago I had what I thought was a cold, except it lasted for two months. Eventually I had to visit the doc, which I was a bit embarrassed about as bothering mr doc with a cold is gay and I can't believe folk go looking for anti biotics for colds and can't believe they're prescribed. It will be the end of mankind most likely.

Anyway the doc says you don't have a cold you have a sinus infection.

My symptoms were:

running nose (like a tap)

very sore nose

Mr doc said best solution was to flush it out with a saline nasal spray - which worked a treat.

a couple of years ago I had what I thought was a cold, except it lasted for two months. Eventually I had to visit the doc, which I was a bit embarrassed about as bothering mr doc with a cold is gay and I can't believe folk go looking for anti biotics for colds and can't believe they're prescribed. It will be the end of mankind most likely.

Anyway the doc says you don't have a cold you have a sinus infection.

My symptoms were:

running nose (like a tap)

very sore nose

Mr doc said best solution was to flush it out with a saline nasal spray - which worked a treat.

That's my philosophy... doctors are for serious sh*t, colds and sinus infections don't count as serious. And antibiotics aren't something I take unless I'm seriously ill, so no point me going to the doctor. Anyway, I doubt antibiotics would do a whole lot to fix a blood clot. They'd probably have to go in there with scalpels and sucky machines, and charge me ten grand to do it... feck that. Good old fashioned snotter has fixed that problem without anibiotics or surgery.

My only real area of concern is the blood that's now coming out of my nose, and my face hurts like a motherf**ker.

Ach, I'll stick some Cortisone cream up my nose.. that fixed the weird, cancery lump on my ballsack a few months back... can't fail to work for hemorrhaging.

I quite often have problems with the old sinuses at the tail end of a cold, but nothing to the extent of blood everywhere, just face and head pains and random dizziness.

Never spoken to a doctor about it, so can't really help you beyond that.

Think I did lose my sense of smell on one of these instances though...

sounds like you need your nose "cotirised" (sp)

for that you will need to see a doctor mate. i had the same 2 years ago, let it go for about 3 weeks where i suffered continual random nose bleeds which were not only uncontolable but embarassing as i often looked like i'd been chinned, they happened at work, in town, everywhere. i'd see a doctor they tidy it up, the procedure is a caker but a bit uncomfortable for 10 mins. you'll feel like a new man afterwards. :thumbup1:

sounds like you need your nose "cotirised" (sp)

for that you will need to see a doctor mate. i had the same 2 years ago, let it go for about 3 weeks where i suffered continual random nose bleeds which were not only uncontolable but embarassing as i often looked like i'd been chinned, they happened at work, in town, everywhere. i'd see a doctor they tidy it up in 10 mins, the procedure is a caker but a bit uncomfortable for 10 mins. you'll feel like a new man afterwards. :thumbup1:

Had my nose cauterised a number of times... burst a blood vessel in the back of my nose playing fitba and it kept just spontaneously bleeding. One time I stuck an individual Pepsi bottle to my nose and had it about a third filled by the time I got to Foresterhill.

They got a trainee nurse to do it one time... she froze the wrong part of my nose, then stuck the stick with the acid right up my hooter. Hurt like a bugger, and my eyes were watering.

"You're not crying, are you?" says the silly b*stard.

My heids thumping, I need to lie doon :(

Had my nose cauterised a number of times... burst a blood vessel in the back of my nose playing fitba and it kept just spontaneously bleeding. One time I stuck an individual Pepsi bottle to my nose and had it about a third filled by the time I got to Foresterhill.

They got a trainee nurse to do it one time... she froze the wrong part of my nose, then stuck the stick with the acid right up my hooter. Hurt like a bugger, and my eyes were watering.

"You're not crying, are you?" says the silly b*stard.

My heids thumping, I need to lie doon :(

ffs, that sounds like ARI right enough. i got a minor operation done on my finger once to tidy up a sliced tendon, (i was awake for it) botched job wasn't the word. i think the plastics doc was actually a night porter. my left middle finger looks a cross between omar the porn stars piece and a nic-nac now.

anyway i reckon you should get your beek checked oot fae a quack just incase, without wanting to sound like a poof you could choke in yer sleep if it starts again.

My girlfriend was almost sick when she saw that pic.

I had a similar type of thing a few years ago but it was whitish and honeycomb looking. I'd been on the columbian all weekend and the biggest Tony Montana bogie you've ever saw was the resulting excretion from my hooter.

Had to taste it as well and it completely numbed the gums and I swear I got another dunt off it.

Got a bused up nose myself (broken a few times) and get things a bit like that (but no that size) pretty frequently. Nowt like that though:

The close proximity of the brain to the sinuses makes the most dangerous complication of sinusitis, particularly involving the frontal and sphenoid sinuses, infection of the brain by the invasion of anaerobic bacteria through the bones or blood vessels.Abscesses,[18] meningitis, and other life-threatening conditions may result. In extreme cases the patient may experience mild personality changes, headache, altered consciousness, visual problems, and, finally, seizures, coma, and possibly death.

Face is feeling a bit better, stopped coughing up blood now inna. Heid's no thumping so much either. I think the swelling in my face might be subsiding too.

I reckon if I live through tonight I'll be fine. :thumbs:

Necked a fair amount of pain killers, and the Vicodin is going to get broken out if I have another night like last night.

Plan is to neck a few Jack and Cokes, drop a few Vicodin, double up on the extra strength antihistamines, and watch some mindless action movies back to back upstairs in bed. No such thing as over-medicating, not when I'm in pain.