The Scale Of The Universe

• Replies 61

I know a chap who literally cracked up thinking about how everything began and where we came from, also the scale of the solar system and where it ended.

He drinks in the four mile in Bucksburn occasionally, does a strange thing with his tongue, sticks it in and out fast like a snake, he's not a bad lad at heart, just in his own words "mad as a hatter".

http://primaxstudio.com/stuff/scale_of_universe/

It might take a minute or two to load but worth the wait. I admit that its not our insignificance in the grand scheme that gets me, its the idea of 7m long earthworms :o

Watched a program a few weeks back about how there are maybe an infinite amount of universes, and that we are jist a tiny part of a tiny part of the whole thing. The infinitum of it all would mean that there would have to be other copies of earth with all its inhabitants including you and me :o

What blew meh mind away was the theory of parallel universes, where every decision made by every person then led to a whole new universe, each as valid as the other.

Its quite easy to replicate here. Eh can call Cheesepipes a Frank Bruno loving deviant, and he'll reply, thus sending this thread off in a totally different direction compared to if eh actually did some work and didn't answer.

Aye.....that was Mark Everett fae Eels's Dad( Hugh Everett ) that sussed that oot.....a discovery ( still theoretical mind ) that many of the greatest minds of today regard as the way it is.

Possibly of no material benefit as yet but it fair expands yer mind jist thinkin' aboot it.

Watched a program a few weeks back about how there are maybe an infinite amount of universes, and that we are jist a tiny part of a tiny part of the whole thing. The infinitum of it all would mean that there would have to be other copies of earth with all its inhabitants including you and me :o

What blew meh mind away was the theory of parallel universes, where every decision made by every person then led to a whole new universe, each as valid as the other.

You sure you wernae watching that episode of Family Guy about parallel universes..!? :itch-chin:

(which by the way is one of the best ones i've seen)

If the universe was infinite the night sky would be completely bright......due to the fact that it would be bathed in light continuously. Ergo, the universe isn't infinite.

i know.

might still be expanding though. or accellerating and expadning.

or collapsing.

Ok, I'm not trained but I've listened to a lot of podcasts about this...so here goes.

Yeah, it has been established the universe is expanding. It was thought that gravity would be causing the expansion of the universe to slow down but it was actually found this wasn't the case.

They actually found that the universe is expanding. So the real mystery is why it is expanding and what is causing it. This is a mystery because scientists looked at the universe and, via complicate math, they calculated that the universe is expanding quicker than it should be given the forces at play during the big bang.

Its rather like a ball accelerating up a hill rather than slowing down as it goes up the hill.

This is where the idea of 'dark energy' was created. Its speculated there is a force which is causing objects to push away from each other, kinda like the opposite of gravity. Until recently there was plenty of evidence for this but no physical proof....I think they have found it recently but its one of those scientific theories which we know exists but we cannot find it. Its difficult to find because this 'dark energy' is thought to be only 30 proton masses of energy per metre cubed......estimates are that it makes up 70% of the universe.

I think a good analogy for the expansion of the universe is baking dough.

Imagine the earth and surrounding stars are raisins in dough. They start close together but as the dough is baked the space between them increases....gravitationally bound objects maintain the same distance from each other but other objects accelerate away. The space between objects is increasing as more space is being created between those objects.

Over enough time this is gonna cause 'energy' death...essentially all energy (which is a form of mass, or is it the other way around?) gets kinda stringy and drawn out......it 'dies' ...its wavelength is billions of miles long..

Kinda bleak :) ... no massive explosion, no massive contraction....just a slow energy death .....

I think that is right.....

Ok, I'm not trained but I've listened to a lot of podcasts about this...so here goes.

Yeah, it has been established the universe is expanding. It was thought that gravity would be causing the expansion of the universe to slow down but it was actually found this wasn't the case.

They actually found that the universe is expanding. So the real mystery is why it is expanding and what is causing it. This is a mystery because scientists looked at the universe and, via complicate math, they calculated that the universe is expanding quicker than it should be given the forces at play during the big bang.

Its rather like a ball accelerating up a hill rather than slowing down as it goes up the hill.

This is where the idea of 'dark energy' was created. Its speculated there is a force which is causing objects to push away from each other, kinda like the opposite of gravity. Until recently there was plenty of evidence for this but no physical proof....I think they have found it recently but its one of those scientific theories which we know exists but we cannot find it. Its difficult to find because this 'dark energy' is thought to be only 30 proton masses of energy per metre cubed......estimates are that it makes up 70% of the universe.

Imagine the earth and surrounding stars are raisins in dough. They start close together but as the dough is baked the space between them increases....gravitationally bound objects maintain the same distance from each other but other objects accelerate away. The space between objects is increasing as more space is being created between those objects.

Over enough time this is gonna cause 'energy' death...essentially all energy (which is a form of mass, or is it the other way around?) gets kinda stringy and drawn out......it 'dies' ...its wavelength is billions of miles long..

Kinda bleak :) ... no massive explosion, no massive contraction....just a slow energy death .....

why dont you leave it to the number bods, eh?

What the f**k would you know about baking dough? :dontknow:

Regards,

Geoff's brother. :checkit:

Here's something I found interesting....

Conventional thought has long been that the speed of light is constant. around about 3 million of your European metres per second. For this reason it's thought that our chances of realistically visiting other planetary systems and saying Hi to the local life there are pretty remote unless we send off robots and give them hundreds of years to do their thing, and then only maybe. We couldn't, we were told, ever break the speed of light. That's it for us.

But recently some guys with the giant heads have discovered that light might not always have been travelling at the speed we currently measure it at. So if the speed of light isn't a constant then it changes. And if it changes then it can probably be artificially changed. And if it can be artificially changed then other guys with giant heads will probably come up with ways of travelling faster than the speed of light, without letting light know that we're in fact f**king with it. Light will be all, "Here I am, travelling at like 3 million metres a second, whatever the f**k a metre is, no-one f**ks with me because I'm f**king LIGHT!" but all the while our giant heads will have built engines that are going, "Yeah, we're going at light speed, totally. Wish we could go faster than that, but we can't because Light's f**king BOSS!" but really these engines are going maybe a million times the speed of light and light has no f**king idea....

...stop me if this starts getting overly technical...

...and if we can do that then all we need to do is build big-ass airtight containers, fill them with colonists and shovels and PS3's and fire them off at planetary systems billions of miles away, and these f**king things will arrive there by LUNCHTIME! BOOM! colonies all over the f**king place. We'll be a starfaring race, raining Human death upon primitive civilizations, just so we can steal their f**king oil and stick their f**king Korans in the toilet... because Humans are c**ts and need very little excuse to act like it.

I think the problem is the amount of energy you would need to go anywhere near the speed of light. As speed increases mass also increases, the heavier something gets the more energy you need to 'do work' on something , so unless you have invented something with near infinite energy then you ain't gonna go at the speed of light :)

But then they will be going back in time too, no?

I'm confused :confused:

Really wish I was good at Physics

Time travel was originally based on the idea that elementary particles - photons - had been thought to have been capable of travelling faster than the observed speed of light. Photons are (as their names suggests) the basic building blocks of electromagnetic radiation or, in other words, light itself.

Boffins were able to observe photons travelling on their own for the first time recently, and discovered that unlike the previously established theory, photons were seen to travel at no faster a velocity than the speed of light and, in some cases, hundreds of nanoseconds slower. This showed that light (photons) cannot travel faster than light itself.

What does all this mean? It's all thanks to Einstein and his Principle of Causality (part of his Law of Relativity). Basically, it says effect cannot arrive before cause. In other words, a photon (light) cannot arrive before light itself has arrived. That's why this experiment, recently performed, might finally make Time Travel "Absolutely scientifically impossible," instead of "Vaguely possible Science Fiction".

Sorry Doc Brown.

4226189294_doc_brown_full_1_answer_2_xlarge.jpeg

Actually, not much. I'll ask my dad :)

Good point. Well made.

Just like the bread. :thumbup1:

Travelling at the speed of light is possibly but unlikely.

How's that for physics?

Anyway the whole point of science is to try and claim something and have other people try to shoot it down. So that boy with the teeth on BBC says anyway. Brian Cox I think his name is.

Good point. Well made.

Just like the bread. :thumbup1:

Travelling at the speed of light is possibly but unlikely.

How's that for physics?

Anyway the whole point of science is to try and claim something and have other people try to shoot it down. So that boy with the teeth on BBC says anyway. Brian Cox I think his name is.

"At its purest, scientific discovery is about painstakingly creating new and complex theories to explain why the sun rises and the bees buzz ... And then passing your life work to faceless peers to scrutinise, examine and ultimately reject - crushing you utterly.

... At its purest, a scientist is an individual who then takes as much joy from being wrong as he does from being right because, after all, being wrong has eliminated a possible explanation and reduced the pool of possible answers - and despite being wrong, is a contribution to science.

Both are rarely pure."

But then they will be going back in time too, no?

I'm confused :confused:

Really wish I was good at Physics

I suppose it would depend... if you can manipulate the speed of light without breaking it, say you can fool light into thinking it's doing 300,000,000 metres per second, when in fact you're actually going 600,000,000 metres per second, then technically you're still going at the speed of light, because you've artificially manipulated light to move at 600,000,000 metres per second.

And since you're only going at the speed of light, artificially increased though it may be, then you're not breaking the light barrier... just f**king with it a little.

Stephen Hawking at a conference in Geneva actually said, "If we can f**k with the speed of light, you know, dick around with it without letting the f**ker know that we've got our fist up its arse and are operating it like a f**king Sooty Puppet, then sh*t, we can do whatever the f**k we like, pretty much.. so yay us".

In fact, I have that clip.... and I think you'll find my quote to be verbatim.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T87N97kUcDE

The leading school of thought on the matter of (In the words of Kelt, hard anal to the Electromagnetic Spectrum) is using gravity. It's only recently being realised that gravity appears to be the supreme force of the Universe, not time. In fact time is affected (bent) by gravity in the same way light is. This boils down to the famous phrase :

The faster an object travels, the slower the passage of time for that object, relative to a stationary observer.

On the International Space Station, astronauts age .007 seconds less per six months in orbit than any Human Being on the Earth below. The same is true for frequent fliers (But the difference is much, much smaller).

So in the future, it may be possible to use gravity or the effects of gravity to travel "faster" than the Speed of Light, without ever actually doing so. This is the origin of the idea of "Wormhole"; two singularities linked together to allow the instantaneous traversal of an enormous distance.

If the universe was infinite the night sky would be completely bright......due to the fact that it would be bathed in light continuously. Ergo, the universe isn't infinite.

Sorry sir, i was never very good at science and a complete noob. Could you explain this one to me please?

:sherlock:

Sorry sir, i was never very good at science and a complete noob. Could you explain this one to me please?

:sherlock:

tehre would then be an infinite number of stars which means every line of sight into teh sky would end on a star thuis giving a permanently bright sky