NorthernLights24 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Can anyone recommend a decent pair of headphones at a reasonable price (under Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Ive been using these for about 3 years now: http://www.amazon.co...13574101&sr=8-9 They are quite good, the sound quality is second to none for the price - comfortable as fu*ck as well, you barely notice they are in (had several problems when crossing the road) Only issue is i have to replace them about once every 6 months - they get quite alot of punsishment from me which they weren't really built to stand up to. So if you treat your headphones delicately i doubt you'll be dissapointed with these. If you are bit of a roch yin then look for something a bit more sturdy if you don't like the thought of spending £10 every 6 months or so... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 ive always wanted proper headphones, as in ones with the cups that go over ur ears, but i tried a pair once an they just look ridiculous as they stick away out can you get proper ones, but sit flush against your head? Did you not start a headphone thread at the start of the year? Spamspamspam got ones identified for you if I recall. Think he's the DJ who knew what the hell he was talking about. EDIT: There you are. I see you didn't like them though. Headphones Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Klipsch. I'll second that, had a pair of Klipsch X1's for about a year now and they've been spot on. Comfortable, with clear, bassy sound, all for the pricely sum of Link to comment
InTaeEm Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I know the ones im away to suggest are miles above what your looking to spend but I had a shot of my mates 'Beats by Dr Dre' the other day, he has the big 'uns that go over your heed as he's into DJ'ing and helps out every weekend, and I must say, i am seriously tempted to get a set, the best by a country mile in quality and the bass on them is superb.. only problem being it will be hard to find them for under Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I use the Klipsch ones for my mp3 player, but these Sony MDR v700's for DJing Link to comment
Dazzler Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Shure Srh440 are the ones I have. Link to comment
Dazzler Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I'm not big into headphones but was wandering round a shop when i got collered by the dude as i stopped to look at the Shure range. f**king hell they were the dogs dingles. 300 note like but by f**k they were good.Mine were Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I use the Klipsch ones for my mp3 player, but these Sony MDR v700's for DJing Sony headphones for Djing? Might as well just get headcandy's and be done with it. Both are sh*te, one at least looks aright 1 Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 if i was to buy new headphones i'd buy rio ferdinand style 'cans'. Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Sony headphones for Djing? Might as well just get headcandy's and be done with it. Both are sh*te, one at least looks aright Opinions mate, they do the job just fine for me Link to comment
dervish Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Gads hate the cans style hfs except for djing. Canna go far wrong with these: Sennheiser CX 400-II Most have them for about Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I use Ultrasone Edition 9's, pricey but worth it. Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Gads hate the cans style hfs except for djing. Canna go far wrong with these: Sennheiser CX 400-II Most have them for about Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I use Ultrasone Edition 9's, pricey but worth it. do they go well with your burberry scarf and lacoste clobber? Link to comment
360 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 I'll second that, had a pair of Klipsch X1's for about a year now and they've been spot on. Comfortable, with clear, bassy sound, all for the pricely sum of Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Might get a pair of these, look pretty good for a non-DJ such as myself. The Klipsch are amazing. Great sound quality and they really cut out the outside noise. They come with a 2 year guarantee, too. Which is really handy. Link to comment
360 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 The Klipsch are amazing. Great sound quality and they really cut out the outside noise. They come with a 2 year guarantee, too. Which is really handy. Sounds good to me, just need to get an Ipod so I have something to use the headphones for. Link to comment
minijc Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Just bought a cheap pair of JVC, sport clip ones as my Bose inear one have broke, well one side has, pretty annoyed as that's my second pair at Link to comment
daytripping Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 do they go well with your burberry scarf and lacoste clobber? Funnily enough I just ordered a new Barbour shirt,have a stagger on Saturday night so thought I'd treat myself. Dutch Mill 7pm Saturday If you want a look. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Got some skull candy buds just now. They were alright, but seem to be losing it. Lasted 4 months which is longer than usual. Back to sennheiser or however it is spelt. Last set I had of them were excellent. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Opinions mate, they do the job just fine for me Well, my opinion is, no self respecting dj would wear anything bar poi2000's or a fat set of denons. Anything else is just not cricket furryboots you playing anyway? Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Well, my opinion is, no self respecting dj would wear anything bar poi2000's or a fat set of denons. Anything else is just not cricket furryboots you playing anyway? Used to promote/DJ at a house night in London from 2005-2008, and played occasionally at house clubs in Edinburgh like Ultragroove and Solescience, but these days it's mainly my front room after too many beers! The Sony's served me well in my glory years though Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Used to promote/DJ at a house night in London from 2005-2008, and played occasionally at house clubs in Edinburgh like Ultragroove and Solescience, but these days it's mainly my front room after too many beers! The Sony's served me well in my glory years though So is that ministry of sound style djing and promoting or did you have a proper night down there? I used to do nights all round Aberdeen for years... Played Secret Sundayz a couple times for Giles in landan. I did nae bad in the netherregions for a couple of years but bust my back so had to can the cans. I blame the weight of the Denons on my napper, the crock though had his own theory which probably made more sense but I didnt believe him. He reckoned 8 hour sets while doing some columbian marching will crush discs after around 15 years Feels like another life now, still miss it once in a blue moon, usually when I'm dying for my hole from something under 30 haha! So do you get out and about much with it now? Been asked to come out of retirement for a night in the Forum in a couple of months time so there might be one more chance to catch the big bad one in action Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 So is that ministry of sound style djing and promoting or did you have a proper night down there? I used to do nights all round Aberdeen for years... Played Secret Sundayz a couple times for Giles in landan. I did nae bad in the netherregions for a couple of years but bust my back so had to can the cans. I blame the weight of the Denons on my napper, the crock though had his own theory which probably made more sense but I didnt believe him. He reckoned 8 hour sets while doing some columbian marching will crush discs after around 15 years Feels like another life now, still miss it once in a blue moon, usually when I'm dying for my hole from something under 30 haha! So do you get out and about much with it now? Been asked to come out of retirement for a night in the Forum in a couple of months time so there might be one more chance to catch the big bad one in action Nah it was our own night, put it on in various spaces around London, usually 4 or 5 parties a year. Always free to get in, paid for it all out of our own pockets, just for the sheer love of music and partying. Highlight was an annual August bank holiday party on the Battersea Barge. Great times Edit: Nice one re. Secretsundaze, still go now and again to their parties. Tempted to go to their 10th anniversary parties later this month, DJ Rolando on saturday and Moodymann on the sunday. Strong line-ups. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Nah it was our own night, put it on in various spaces around London, usually 4 or 5 parties a year. Always free to get in, paid for it all out of our own pockets, just for the sheer love of music and partying. Highlight was an annual August bank holiday party on the Battersea Barge. Great times Edit: Nice one re. Secretsundaze, still go now and again to their parties. Tempted to go to their 10th anniversary parties later this month, DJ Rolando on saturday and Moodymann on the sunday. Strong line-ups. Those are usually the best nights though. You turn up somewhere expecting a big night because the flyer has 3 huge dj's and it can be a let down. You turn up to a freebie in London or Berlin (those were my favourite freebie parties!) and its just a load of people in it for the shits and giggles. I played at one in Delft, full of proper cyber hippy types, freaky as f**k but an awesome laugh. Warmed up for Rolando a few times. Last time was in snaffers actually. I played his track Jaguar with UR's transitions layered over the top and Detroit Grand Pubahs sandwiches coming through it, he was well impressed, great buzz!!! Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Those are usually the best nights though. You turn up somewhere expecting a big night because the flyer has 3 huge dj's and it can be a let down. You turn up to a freebie in London or Berlin (those were my favourite freebie parties!) and its just a load of people in it for the shits and giggles. I played at one in Delft, full of proper cyber hippy types, freaky as f**k but an awesome laugh. Warmed up for Rolando a few times. Last time was in snaffers actually. I played his track Jaguar with UR's transitions layered over the top and Detroit Grand Pubahs sandwiches coming through it, he was well impressed, great buzz!!! That's some triple-decker! Good skills lad Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 That's some triple-decker! Good skills lad 20 years djing man and boy. Started on the hip hop, love a good cut and scratch and it transcends into techno extremely well Link to comment
Ando Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 20 years djing man and boy. Started on the hip hop, love a good cut and scratch and it transcends into techno extremely well AFC Chat's very own Jeff Mills Link to comment