Aberdeen Airport

Ke1t

Going to need to get a prepaid/disposable phone in Aberdeen in a few weeks.... is there somewhere at the airport that sells them?

If not, where's the closest/best place to get one?

Aye ke1t min there's a travel dixons at aberdeen airport dunno if they sell fones. Da ken how cheap they'll be if they did.

When you get off the plane make sure you stay airside and go and find the dixons - can't miss it.

If nae union street is hoachin with fone shops. You'll be able to get a cheap pay as you go for

Going to need to get a prepaid/disposable phone in Aberdeen in a few weeks.... is there somewhere at the airport that sells them?

If not, where's the closest/best place to get one?

Closest place to the airport would probably be asda min. You'll get something for 20-30 quid with some credit.

Furryboots you staying? Hotel or mates/olds? You'll not get cheaper than asda or tesco but if you're not hiring a car or if you're staying in the centre they'll be chunts to get to

Aye ke1t min there's a travel dixons at aberdeen airport dunno if they sell fones. Da ken how cheap they'll be if they did.

When you get off the plane make sure you stay airside and go and find the dixons - can't miss it.

If nae union street is hoachin with fone shops. You'll be able to get a cheap pay as you go for

Nowhere in Aberdeen airport sells phones unless you want something like a sim free blackberry. Used to work at Dixons there hence how I know. Best bet is Asda in Dyce.

Also you can buy stuff from there as they aren't a "tax free" shop. You still pay tax but the price is a percentage discount compared to the price in Currys/Pc World. You can fill out a form to claim back tax if your eligible though.

Closest place to the airport would probably be asda min. You'll get something for 20-30 quid with some credit.

Furryboots you staying? Hotel or mates/olds? You'll not get cheaper than asda or tesco but if you're not hiring a car or if you're staying in the centre they'll be chunts to get to

Staying in Aberdeen, car rented for the month, but will probably be travelling to Paris, London and Amsterdam, time allowing.

Have had no luck with service on my own phone, and once while driving from Glesca I blew a tire in the middle of nowhere. Had to tramp to some creepy farmhouse for help, which was a nightmare and only reluctantly given. Had zero service on my own phone and the roadside service was going to take hours to reach us, so ended up sitting in the pishing rain on some deserted stretch of road, trying to get the tyre changed. Which would have gone a bit easier if they had kept the wrench for the weird bolts in the car.

Anyway, everything's sorted out except for getting a phone, which I can't do till I get into Aberdeen.

Staying in Aberdeen, car rented for the month, but will probably be travelling to Paris, London and Amsterdam, time allowing.

Have had no luck with service on my own phone, and once while driving from Glesca I blew a tire in the middle of nowhere. Had to tramp to some creepy farmhouse for help, which was a nightmare and only reluctantly given. Had zero service on my own phone and the roadside service was going to take hours to reach us, so ended up sitting in the pishing rain on some deserted stretch of road, trying to get the tyre changed. Which would have gone a bit easier if they had kept the wrench for the weird bolts in the car.

Anyway, everything's sorted out except for getting a phone, which I can't do till I get into Aberdeen.

If you're doing that sort of traveling Kelt I'd pick up a 2nd hand open phone from the market or george street so you can get a French sim at CdG and a Dutch one a Schiphol. You'll get something in one of the 2nd hand places for 30-40 that will have tinterweb etc and a tenner or less for each sim. Dam sight cheaper though than using a P&G in France or Holland and that way you'll be able to use googlemaps etc anywhere and find you're way around if needed.

Even if you have a boarding card from your inbound flight you'll be ok. Not that he can buy a phone there as they don't sell them!

Aye, i was just thinking that.

When you fly in there's nothing to stop you going straight from the arrival gate to the duty free shops. World duty free even advertise on their website that you can buy stuff when you get back.

Spam son was your comment based on experience?

Can you not just bring your own phone and swap out the sim card with a pay as you go sim, or is it network locked?

Assuming it's GSM and none of that sh*te american CDMA.

American phone technology is about 5 years behind Europe. Every time we're over in Aberdeen we're standing outside electronic shops looking in the windows like we're monkey-people.

I've never had any luck with my own service in Europe, and usually pick up a phone in Glesca. Flying into Aberdeen this time, but I know Aberdeen Airport is pretty backwoods, so wasnae sure I'd be able to pick up a phone there. Not going to waste my time searching for one now that I know the airport doesn't have them.

When you fly in there's nothing to stop you going straight from the arrival gate to the duty free shops. World duty free even advertise on their website that you can buy stuff when you get back.

World duty free you need to be an international flight to get the tax free discount. Dixons not being a tax free shop is open to everyone at a discounted rate.

Sure is

You cant buy anything from an airport once you've shown your passport, you are no longer traveling. The rule is that you must be traveling to a destination to be able to shop in any shop that sells any sort of duty free goods even if you are paying duty on them.

If Dazzer was dishing out stuff to people with arrival passes then its no wonder he's no longer there ;)

Sure is

You cant buy anything from an airport once you've shown your passport, you are no longer traveling. The rule is that you must be traveling to a destination to be able to shop in any shop that sells any sort of duty free goods even if you are paying duty on them.

If Dazzer was dishing out stuff to people with arrival passes then its no wonder he's no longer there ;)

Dixons isn't a tax free shop, hence why they have been rebranded as Dixons Travel. The only shop that sells tax free in Aberdeen Airport is the World Duty Free.

Question: Do passengers from international flights go straight from the arrival gate to be screened by customs or can they get back into the departure lounge?

Its been a while since i came through aberdeen as an international.

Question: Do passengers from international flights go straight from the departure gate to be screened by customs or can they get back into the departure lounge?

Its been a while since i came through aberdeen as an international.

It really depends what gate your arrive in, most international flights don't allow you to if I remember correctly. Not worked there for over a year now so things might have changed.

You'll be able to buy stuff on the way out and pick it up on your way back. I wouldn't recommend buying anything other than hardware though as everything else (memory cards, headphones etc) are super inflated prices compared to online. Hardware runs very close to margin especially on dslrs.

And will you be taking in an Aberdeen game whilst you're over or might that just ruin your trip? :laughing:

I shall endeavour to attend all the games.. and I'm packing Valium just in case I do.

This is actually the first time back home that I haven't made prior arrangements to attend all the games, though.

If I'm out of the country at the time of a game then I'll be f**ked if I'm flying back specifically to watch 90 minutes of keech. I'll just log on to RedTV in a Dutch hash bar and watch the game baked oot ma pan.

You must be thinking of a different Paris to the one in France, then.

The one in France is f**king magic :)

If you like begging gypsies, thieving north africans, filthy streets, expensive crap hotels, worst food on the planet, a subway inhabited by tramps and pickpockets, overpriced beer and shyte strip joints with 60 year old mingers then yes Paris is indeed fecking magic.

Bordeaux was the only nice place I went to in France but even that wasn't perfect.