Big Man Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 An indictment has been served on goodwillie for assault: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-14573586 This boy just can't stay out of trouble. Fairly gaggin to be in the public gallery for this one... Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Nothing new - this was last November!! Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 18, 2011 Author Share Posted August 18, 2011 Nothing new - this was last November!! Aye, but its nice to see the crown following through with something for once (or appearing as if they are). The case will collapse or be abondoned - mark my words... Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 was that not part of an earlier case where the charges were dropped? Link to comment
Monkey Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Must be quite a serious assault though if it is on Indictment as this would mean a jury trial with much more serious sentencing powers if he's found guilty. Anyone know the actual ins and outs of what has meant to have happened? Link to comment
tup Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Was he dressed as a sheep when he did it? I'm sure David Robertson was Little Bo Peep Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 18, 2011 Author Share Posted August 18, 2011 Must be quite a serious assault though if it is on Indictment as this would mean a jury trial with much more serious sentencing powers if he's found guilty. Anyone know the actual ins and outs of what has meant to have happened? Premier League footballer David Goodwillie has pleaded not guilty to assaulting a man in a city centre. The 22-year-old Blackburn Rovers and Scotland striker is charged with assaulting John Friel, by repeatedly punching him on the head and body and kicking him on the body on November 3 last year in Queen Street, Glasgow. The player's lawyer submitted a not guilty plea by letter to Glasgow Sheriff Court, said a court official. A trial date has been set for October 28 at the same court. Goodwillie, from Stirling, moved from Dundee United to Blackburn this summer for a fee thought to be Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 It was one of our office clerks that told me an indictment had been served, im going to check that though - she's a dumb blonde. If he's found guilty the maximum sentence that can be imposed by the sheriff court on indictment is 5 years imprisonment and/or a Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Why would he get life for an assault? 9 times out of 10 these are dealt with with a fine. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 It was one of our office clerks that told me an indictment had been served, im going to check that though - she's a dumb blonde. If he's found guilty the maximum sentence that can be imposed by the sheriff court on indictment is 5 years imprisonment and/or a Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Never said he would. Big Man did.Wasnt talking to you. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 18, 2011 Author Share Posted August 18, 2011 Why would he get life for an assault? 9 times out of 10 these are dealt with with a fine. Don't be radiculous i never suggested he would get life. All i was saying was, that if he was found guilty and the sheriff reffered the case to the high court for sentencing the maximum penalty they can impose is life imprisonment and/or an unlimited fine. I was just making people aware of the maximum penalties. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Wasnt talking to you. Move your reply away from underneath my post then smartie pants. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Move your reply away from underneath my post then smartie pants.If im talking to you, I would quote. Its a general reply smartie pants. Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 18, 2011 Share Posted August 18, 2011 Nae often you're called smart Dazzy. I wanted him jailed when he was at united now i aint fussed seeing as he aint there or at the huns. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Opened his account for Blackburn tonight and played the full 90. Link to comment
GK55 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 scored a cracker too! and had one chalked off for offside Link to comment
Scarface Posted September 12, 2011 Share Posted September 12, 2011 watched the blackburn game yesterday and have to say that goodwillie looked out of his depth. the lad has clearly got potential, as illustrated for scotland against lithuania the other night, but he's clearly got some way to go before he can fully adjust to the rigours of the epl. granted, playing as the lone striker for a team like blackburn away from home against two giant brutes like senderos and hangeland is no easy task, but yesterday i thought goodwillie looked slow, immobile, relatively unfit, and generally poor (although, to be fair, i think the commentators said he hurt his hamstring early on) as typified by one chance where he fortuitously raced clear of the fulham defence and curled his shot well wide when he should of squared it for his team mate to score on a plate. anyone else watch it? Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted September 12, 2011 Share Posted September 12, 2011 Thought he looked slow etc v Lithunia and I didnt see what folk were raving about him Link to comment
Liam Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqEsMqdPz-E Heres the cctv of his scrap. Creased when Swanson got knocked oot, was like something out of a cartoon Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqEsMqdPz-E Heres the cctv of his scrap. Creased when Swanson got knocked oot, was like something out of a cartoon Genius hears the sirens & makes a run for it but straight towards them Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 To be fair to Goodwillie, I'd have done the same. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 To be fair to Goodwillie, I'd have done the same. Took him long enough though stood stunned not knowing what to do looking at Swanson sparked oot whilst the boy that did it just hovers around in the background. Then when he finally does do something (& for getting there in the end) he runs TOWARDS the fkn cops Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Danny Swanson took a hit like a champ! Jesus christ that was mad haha Link to comment
wee jock poo-pong mcplop Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 To be fair Goodwillie did good.The boy in white deserved everything he got (And more) for that cowardly attack Liked him running into the bin though!! Link to comment
The Highland Don Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Liked him running into the bin though!! Nearly pished maself with laughter at that part, wasn't expecting it at all Link to comment
Ke1t Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Took him long enough though stood stunned not knowing what to do looking at Swanson sparked oot whilst the boy that did it just hovers around in the background. Then when he finally does do something (& for getting there in the end) he runs TOWARDS the fkn cops I don't see why Goodwillie is getting shit for that... the guy he hit was clearly a threat. He'd already knocked out his mate and was obviously threatening Goodwillie. Sucks for the guy that he squared up to the wrong guy and got put on his arse, but he was the one looking for trouble. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 blindsided, that's takin fackin liberties. liked the boy attacking the immovable object, the bin. Link to comment
Pash Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Boy stumbling in to the bin after getting crumpled by Goodwillie was the best. Link to comment