Quagmire Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 I remember there being a topic on this at the time, possibly lost when LS got carted off and the site went down. Anyway, an uncle has been jailed for attacking his nephew & best man (the pub manager) and stealing 10k. This even though the manager claimed he didnt think it was the uncle? Bizarre, has the manager been cleared of any involvement? Anyone got any inside info? Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 The uncle was wearing a balaclava so assuming he didn't regularlydo that i'd imagine he wouldnt have been recognised. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 I spent, on average, 7 days a week in Murdos, from the ages of 16-20 odd. Nice, quiet, respectable place too Link to comment
Quagmire Posted August 19, 2011 Author Share Posted August 19, 2011 The uncle was wearing a balaclava so assuming he didn't regularlydo that i'd imagine he wouldnt have been recognised. Good point. But you'd think he'd recognise his voice or mannerisms. Or the fact he was cutting about 10k richer! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Good point. But you'd think he'd recognise his voice or mannerisms. Or the fact he was cutting about 10k richer! It was the best man who didn't recognise the uncle. It doesn't say anything about the nephew not recognising him. Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Good point. But you'd think he'd recognise his voice or mannerisms. Or the fact he was cutting about 10k richer! I thought it was suspicious too but would have thought that plod wouldhave sussed out if the manager was a willing accomplice. I don't think the uncle had been his uncle for very long Link to comment
Quagmire Posted August 19, 2011 Author Share Posted August 19, 2011 It was the best man who didn't recognise the uncle. It doesn't say anything about the nephew not recognising him. Mr Gribble (Bar Manager/Victim), who had been McPhails best man, said it felt like a "hammer or a gun". Now i know the EE aint the greatest but I dont think they'd confuse all that...... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Mr Gribble (Bar Manager/Victim), who had been McPhails best man, said it felt like a "hammer or a gun". Now i know the EE aint the greatest but I dont think they'd confuse all that...... A nail gun obviously. Both a gun and a hammer. Bit suspicious going in for a pint with a nail gun and a balaclava. Why did they not call the cops? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 A nail gun obviously. Both a gun and a hammer. Bit suspicious going in for a pint with a nail gun and a balaclava. Why did they not call the cops? Nae in Murdos. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 A nail gun obviously. Both a gun and a hammer. Bit suspicious going in for a pint with a nail gun and a balaclava. Why did they not call the cops?Was it nae pre opening time, like 8 in the morning or thereabouts Nae in Murdos.Oi Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Was it nae pre opening time, like 8 in the morning or thereabouts Oi That makes it worse. Some c**t wearing a balaclava and wielding a nailgun knocks on your door early morning. I'd have a look through the peep hole and if I saw that I'd think to myself is that normal or have I arranged a Joiner from IRA carpenters to come round. Jesus how thick are the folk who go to Murdo's? 1 Link to comment
Tommy Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Jesus how thick are the folk who go to Murdo's? Ollie min, just dinna. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 Ollie min, just dinna. Go on. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 That makes it worse. Some c**t wearing a balaclava and wielding a nailgun knocks on your door early morning. I'd have a look through the peep hole and if I saw that I'd think to myself is that normal or have I arranged a Joiner from IRA carpenters to come round. Jesus how thick are the folk who go to Murdo's? :hysterical: :hysterical: Link to comment
dervish Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 That makes it worse. Some c**t wearing a balaclava and wielding a nailgun knocks on your door early morning. I'd have a look through the peep hole and if I saw that I'd think to myself is that normal or have I arranged a Joiner from IRA carpenters to come round. Jesus how thick are the folk who go to Murdo's? HAHAHAHA!!! To be fair never went there often but saw quite a few scraps there. No bother if you're not looking for it mainly but if you want it, you got it. Saw one guy start on another, promptly get knocked spark out then dragged out by the heels to a rendition (by the whole bar) "Cheerio Cheerio Cheerio".Another less savory time saw a guy pull a hatchet ("keys, wallet, change for the bus, phone... I'm forgetting something I know it...oh f**k!... nearly forgot the hatchet there... whew!") out on the poor bar man who had to go and sort something started off by some women (might actually have been a bar maid...) ended up with at least two cop cars and somehow still went on for ages.Sure there were others too but canna mind, not a bad place but wouldn't get wasted there. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 19, 2011 Share Posted August 19, 2011 HAHAHAHA!!! To be fair never went there often but saw quite a few scraps there. No bother if you're not looking for it mainly but if you want it, you got it. Saw one guy start on another, promptly get knocked spark out then dragged out by the heels to a rendition (by the whole bar) "Cheerio Cheerio Cheerio".Another less savory time saw a guy pull a hatchet ("keys, wallet, change for the bus, phone... I'm forgetting something I know it...oh f**k!... nearly forgot the hatchet there... whew!") out on the poor bar man who had to go and sort something started off by some women (might actually have been a bar maid...) ended up with at least two cop cars and somehow still went on for ages.Sure there were others too but canna mind, not a bad place but wouldn't get wasted there.Drank in Murdos for 10+ years and witnessed probably about 5 scuffles, and one absolute doing.Which unfortunately I was on the wrong end of. Yacks, Tooner, I hinna forgot, Ye bassarts! Link to comment
dervish Posted August 20, 2011 Share Posted August 20, 2011 Ah Murdos not a bad place, what happened like? I mind the telephone box by six roads was smashed in for maybe a month went down the street maybe 9am and it had finally been fixed came home at maybe 2pm the locals had obviously taken exception to the change in their environment cos it was f**ked again. They then fitted some kinda plexi-glass stuff which was essentially just seen as a challenge. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 Knife-wielding robbers threatened a shop manager before stealing a four-figure sum of money in Aberdeen.Police said the thieves used a "sharp weapon" to force the 21-year-old Co-op manager to hand over the cash during the raid at Sclattie Park shopping centre in Bucksburn. The store was targeted just after 8am on Sunday and police are now appealing for information about a stolen black Subaru Impreza used by the two men. The car was stolen from a house in Deeside just prior to the robbery and has the distinctive registration K666 RFC. A spokesperson for The Co-operative Food said: Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 That's my local shoppie! Never knew about the robbery. Would have been better robbing it last thing at night. Link to comment
tup Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 How's the jaw now old stager? Link to comment
Henry Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 And where were you on Sunday morning? Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 And where were you on Sunday morning? Where every right minded person would be at that ungodly hour, in my bed! Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 How's the jaw now old stager? I'm not one to complain Tup, an injury like this would break many a man but I'll soldier on in silence. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 Sounds like an inside job, that shop is staffed by dodgers. Link to comment
Tommy Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 How did they end up with minor injuries by getting threatened? Sounds like a cheeky claim coming on. Probably shat himself and it's just a polite terminology. 1 Link to comment
tup Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 I'm not one to complain Tup, an injury like this would break many a man but I'll soldier on in silence. If that gyppo could see you now, the very embodiment of bravery and stoicism, he might have thought twice before he punched you once and nearly killed you! It's folk like you that make me proud to be alive. 1 Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 If that gyppo could see you now, the very embodiment of bravery and stoicism, he might have thought twice before he punched you once and nearly killed you! It's folk like you that make me proud to be alive. Cheers Tup, it's heartening to know I've touched your soul. As for the gypo he'll get his in the return leg. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 There used to be a young Asian lass with a strong Aberdeen accent that was worth a dunt, but I reckon it was an inside job aswell. Probably involving Sclatties most dodgy of residents The McPhersons! I gave her a lift home one night when it was snowing, she's smoking! works in some thai place in town now. Her sister works in davies chipper. Link to comment
tup Posted October 24, 2012 Share Posted October 24, 2012 daytripping has also been known to help old wifie's across the road when the traffic is busy. Link to comment