Ke1t Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 Little Kelt Jnr in his first match today for the 5 year olds... (he's 4 1/2). His team 3-1 down... two late goals by wee Kelt earns the draaaa! Was a joy to behold, him nudging the other players off the ball, throwing his arm across them to gain the advantage, little pushes from behind, Brought a tear to Auld Kelt's eye it did. Literally stole the ball off his own teammate's boot to rifle his second home from about 6 inches. He sometimes gets carried away though, and he'll just full out deck another player to get the ball off them, just like his old dad before him. Bless, he doesnae understand the card system yet... Was like watching a young Frankie McDougall... only much, much dirtier. Link to comment
boboisared Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 Little Kelt Jnr in his first match today for the 5 year olds... (he's 4 1/2). His team 3-1 down... two late goals by wee Kelt earns the draaaa! Was a joy to behold, him nudging the other players off the ball, throwing his arm across them to gain the advantage, little pushes from behind, Brought a tear to Auld Kelt's eye it did. Literally stole the ball off his own teammate's boot to rifle his second home from about 6 inches. He sometimes gets carried away though, and he'll just full out deck another player to get the ball off them, just like his old dad before him. Bless, he doesnae understand the card system yet... Was like watching a young Frankie McDougall... only much, much dirtier. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 Hah quality! Dont think boys can play organised futbol here until u6 and thats just fun 4s or donething Link to comment
tup Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 I've made it clear to my chiel that getting 'wired in' is uppermost in Scottish fitba. If you can do that, the rest will take care of itself, never mind the ball, go for the man, if the ball does come to you, get rid of it ASAP, Row Z, dinna f**k about with fancy sh*t or there's a fair chance you'll get your leg broken. All good Scottish coaching points of note. Link to comment
dervish Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 Good man, get stuck in about those americans, learn them good. Though hope you haven't been repeatably showing him simmys tackle? That might be a bit much for the soccer moms to take to see their we angels* getting a simmy special. *typo Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 I've made it clear to my chiel that getting 'wired in' is uppermost in Scottish fitba. If you can do that, the rest will take care of itself, never mind the ball, go for the man, if the ball does come to you, get rid of it ASAP, Row Z, dinna f**k about with fancy sh*t or there's a fair chance you'll get your leg broken. All good Scottish coaching points of note. I've made that point so clear to my nephew he tackles his own team mates when he's had enough of watching them all chase round after the ball round the pitch in the standard group of 20 that follows the ball everywhere. Link to comment
tup Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 I've made that point so clear to my nephew he tackles his own team mates when he's had enough of watching them all chase round after the ball round the pitch in the standard group of 20 that follows the ball everywhere. Aye, ridiculous, this is where our problems commence, the bee swarm mentality, here's these spoilt little shits thinking they are Maradona in Link to comment
OddJob Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 Little Kelt Jnr in his first match today for the 5 year olds... (he's 4 1/2). His team 3-1 down... two late goals by wee Kelt earns the draaaa! Was a joy to behold, him nudging the other players off the ball, throwing his arm across them to gain the advantage, little pushes from behind, Brought a tear to Auld Kelt's eye it did. Literally stole the ball off his own teammate's boot to rifle his second home from about 6 inches. He sometimes gets carried away though, and he'll just full out deck another player to get the ball off them, just like his old dad before him. Bless, he doesnae understand the card system yet... Was like watching a young Frankie McDougall... only much, much dirtier. Good stuff Kelt, he's learnt well Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 I've made it clear to my chiel that getting 'wired in' is uppermost in Scottish fitba. If you can do that, the rest will take care of itself, never mind the ball, go for the man, if the ball does come to you, get rid of it ASAP, Row Z, dinna f**k about with fancy sh*t or there's a fair chance you'll get your leg broken. All good Scottish coaching points of note. I agree with your point, but this is precisely the reason why Scotland doesn't produce so many top class footballers. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 I agree with your point, but this is precisely the reason why Scotland doesn't produce so many top class footballers. Was listening to Sportsound on Friday just past and they had a couple of kids coaches at schools speaking about the decline in our game after the Euro results. They and a couple of ex pros all said the same thing when it comes to why... The skill is coached out of them by the age of 12 or 13 by the so called pro coaches at the lads clubs and pro club youth teams. Instead of nurturing talent, allowing kids to express themselves with a ball, learning how to pass, trap, move and enjoy the game for what it is they are told to run through hoops and chase a ball round a park. The other said he saw plenty of 11 year olds that had a lot more skill than 13 year olds because the 11 year olds are still allowed to express themselves on the ball. He was speaking about a certain player he taught at school but wouldnt name names, Tam Cowan thought he meant Barry Brannan, said that was what was happening to him as a kid at Airdrie so he went to a club in England that did allow him to play while teaching him the game as well. They also said that no fresh ideas were ever taken on board in Scotland, everything was just passed down like . One said that all the European coaches came here in the 70's and 80's and took the best bits of our game, pace, drive and power and added it to what was good about theirs. Our coaches havent changed or adapted though, we dont allow expression and we only pick players that have pace and power to go forward. The ones that do have a bit of flare are called flashy b*stards and are either turned off the game or move south and learn their trade their. Link to comment
dervish Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 My dad used to train youth teams that went against the main Aberdeen youth one for that age group, one game his lot (a few years younger than them too) took them to bits and someone (won't say who) said "aye... they are a good passing team" and it was meant in the way "aye... they can f**k about and that but they aren't really going to make it". Link to comment
tup Posted August 21, 2011 Share Posted August 21, 2011 And dervish this comes about because everyone involved shares the win at all costs mentality, not just the kids and parents, but the coaches and clubs too. It's a fallacy, competitive football should start at 14 at the very earliest. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 22, 2011 Share Posted August 22, 2011 And dervish this comes about because everyone involved shares the win at all costs mentality, not just the kids and parents, but the coaches and clubs too. It's a fallacy, competitive football should start at 14 at the very earliest. I agree with you on the competitive football shout but the problem there lies in the very nature of human beings and the nature of football. Parents probably take the brunt of the blame as they like to see their kids doing well or being better than others. That in itself is the catalyst for matches played at youth level to become competitive. Take 10 kids playing 5 a side and there will maybe be a couple of parents not bothered about their kids being on a winning or losing side. There should be no losing side at that age but even if scores were not being counted and it was a kick about with plenty of goals, most parents would be keeping a running tally and tell their kid at the end that they won 12-8. It's human nature to be competitive and playing a sport that tallies up points, goals, or whatever else can be counted up will always result in some sort of competition. Very difficult to change the mindset once it's been ingrained for over a hundred years. Try telling your lad that it doesn't matter what the score is as long as you enjoy yourself. He'll say "OK dad" then play his heart out trying to win. Pretty difficult to say it's not competitive either when your gonna let loose in front of him when Aberdeen go 1-0 up on Sunday against the Huns. It's a catch 22 situation. Don't play competitive and lose the winning mentality that's needed to have success. Play competitive and get too much of a win at all costs mentality. It's a delicate balance. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 22, 2011 Share Posted August 22, 2011 Some great posts, especially the last one! I actually think its gone to far the other way when i watch kids football, theres no competitive spirit at all, nobody celebrates goals as they dont have passion for playing. I wonder how many of the kids have experienced a live football game and i dont mean sky sports. Link to comment
phoenix Posted August 22, 2011 Share Posted August 22, 2011 Little Kelt Jnr in his first match today for the 5 year olds... (he's 4 1/2). His team 3-1 down... two late goals by wee Kelt earns the draaaa! Was a joy to behold, him nudging the other players off the ball, throwing his arm across them to gain the advantage, little pushes from behind, Brought a tear to Auld Kelt's eye it did. Literally stole the ball off his own teammate's boot to rifle his second home from about 6 inches. He sometimes gets carried away though, and he'll just full out deck another player to get the ball off them, just like his old dad before him. Bless, he doesnae understand the card system yet... Was like watching a young Frankie McDougall... only much, much dirtier. A memory that will abide , Kelt. I remember thestooge coming off the bench to score the winner for his team. Never did it again......like. Link to comment