Bobby Connor Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Please try to answer the survey questions as honestly as possible. It should take no longer than 15 minutes to answer all of the questions contained within the survey paper. If you are unable to respond using conventional internet technology please click here where you will be re-directed. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 I'm incredulous at the thought some people may not be incredulous! Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Until I entered this thread I was other. Now that I am in the thread, I am still other, just a different other. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted August 24, 2011 Author Share Posted August 24, 2011 Distinct lack of incredulity so far. Not sure how that makes me feel... Link to comment
minijc Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 "other" more or less because it's all over the place. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Distinct lack of incredulity so far. Not sure how that makes me feel...I would wager it makes you feel incredulous. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted August 24, 2011 Author Share Posted August 24, 2011 I would wager it makes you feel incredulous. Only in the dictionary defined meaning of the word. Link to comment
Robbie Winters Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 I cannot see an option for *Fair to middling* Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted August 24, 2011 Author Share Posted August 24, 2011 I cannot see an option for *Fair to middling* This survey has been assembled by the Glasgow School of Science who have proved beyond reasonable doubt that there is no such thing as 'fair to middling' and, furthermore, that an average sized person is a fiction. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 I think my response was the response of everyone else when they read this, complete and utter incredulity. What is it with people on here lately, and incredulity - there appears to be wave of it? Even MT has recently encroporated the word into his online vocabulary... Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted August 24, 2011 Admin Share Posted August 24, 2011 This survey has been assembled by the Glasgow School of Science who have proved beyond reasonable doubt that there is no such thing as 'fair to middling' and, furthermore, that an average sized person is a fiction. Big Bobby points out a great observation. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted August 24, 2011 Author Share Posted August 24, 2011 Big Bobby points out a great observation. Thank you wee man! Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted August 24, 2011 Admin Share Posted August 24, 2011 Thank you wee man! Link to comment
Podge Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Just reading Incredulous made me feel Incredulous Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 I think incredulous is a kind of other. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 I thought it said Impotent survey... Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 mate it was me who brought it to the group im like that telly in my kitchen - a pioneer L L Joking aside, if you can provide direct evidence of your use of the word i would be willing to hail you as a pioneer for the remaining lifetime of this forum. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 im not one for browsing mate, i cant use the search thing but bobby connor will verify it! Im afraid a scan quickly reveals that Tup is the principle pioneer of the word on here. You fail. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 eh!? whens he say it? i said it to describe the whales an dolphins programme on monday night! I know i remember. But he's been using it as waaayyy back as june: http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=25501&st=60&p=568418&hl=incredulous&fromsearch=1entry568418 Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted August 25, 2011 Author Share Posted August 25, 2011 im not one for browsing mate, i cant use the search thing but bobby connor will verify it! It is indeed a MT inspired thread, even the use of all caps to emphasise the word 'now' is from the MT rule book of good internet practise. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 A quick scan actually shows Woolenrouge using the word 'incredulous' back in the day, and there have been a fair few instance of it since then. The reason it's being highlighted recently is because of Millertime's misunderstanding of it's usage, using it as a synonym for 'incredible'. "That was incredulous" Link to comment
seanthesheep Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 A quick scan actually shows Woolenrouge using the word 'incredulous' back in the day, and there have been a fair few instance of it since then. The reason it's being highlighted recently is because of Millertime's misunderstanding of it's usage, using it as a synonym for 'incredible'. "That was incredulous" Ach Kelt min it's all inconsequential anyway. Link to comment
phoenix Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 Ach Kelt min it's all inconsequential anyway. Nae sure aboot that sean. You might think that the flapping of a butterfly's wings was inconsequential but according to Chaos Theory , it could trigger of a storm on the other side of the Planet. Millertime's use of the word has already triggered of this debate and has help me with my own understanding. In a way.....nuthin' is inconsequential. And God is Pooh Bear. Link to comment
Henry Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 really? care to show me, in the context i used it, how it was wrong? anyone watch this? incredulous in Link to comment
Henry Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 is it? a programme that says we'll be discussing stuff with dolphins in 5 years, isnt incredulous? A programme itself, be it on talking dolphins or mumbling squid, cannot be incredulous. A person watching said programme, or doing any other activity, can certainly be incredulous. For example - "I'm incredulous that someone can misunderstand a word so badly" said Harcus, when browsing AFChat Link to comment
Henry Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 http://grammar.about.com/od/alightersideofwriting/a/incrediblegloss.htm Link to comment
robbojunior Posted August 25, 2011 Share Posted August 25, 2011 i think we'll have to agree to not agree! To be presented with a fact and then still disagree - that is deserving of an incredulous reaction. Link to comment