JFK Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 Craig Brown's comments to the press seem to indicate that he's not in the market for any more defenders. For instance, in his post-match interview today he stated that he's looking to improve the team 'from middle to front' and that he still wanted a player to 'put the ball in the net'. Obviously Craig could just be keeping his cards close to his chest, but from what I've seen so far his actions in the transfer market do seem to mostly correspond to his statements to the press. From reading many of the comments on this board I know that many fans, including myself, are concerned that we only have one natural full-back in the squad and that we're having to play both Jack and McArdle, and maybe even Clark as well when he's fit, as right-backs. Now when I was listening to the pre-match build up today I was delighted to hear that Yoann Folly was back in full training because frankly we need as many experienced players available for selection as possible. However, IMO we already have 4 quality centre midfielders to choose from in the form of Fyvie, Milsom, Arnason and Osbourne, and Osbourne seems to be as good a spoiler in the middle of the park as Folly ever was. That got me wondering whether Brown could be thinking of playing Folly as a right-back once he's at full fitness. From what I can remember he was better on the ball than McArdle, faster than both McArdle and Jack and he always had a high work rate and was a good tackler. Obviously he's a natural centre mid but he does have some experience of playing in both the right midfield and the right back positions. For instance, I found an article from 2007 which states that FRANKIE Simek has given the seal of approval to his deputy Yoann Folly. Owls right back Simek believes that his colleague, though known as a midfield player, can do a job any time at full back - after the Frenchman was switched to defence for the Sunderland game. "Yoann is a good footballer," says Simek. "He can play in different positions: in the centre or wide on the right, and he can do a job at full back, no problem. I thought he did all right." Obviously it wouldn't be ideal to play Folly at RB, but if we're not looking at any more defenders then he could simply be the best option available for that position. Thoughts? Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 |Thoughts? My thoughts are that if he doesnt add to the defence than we will be lucky to finish 10th Doesnt matter who plays right back IF you are next to Mawene, Consi and Foster we are not going to keep clean sheets away from home. And looking at our strike force it we dont keep clean sheets we have no chance of outscoring anybody Apart from central midfield - we have f**k all quality and are light in every other area. Hibs away is massive, even at this stage in the season. Link to comment
OddJob Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 Craig Brown's comments to the press seem to indicate that he's not in the market for any more defenders. For instance, in his post-match interview today he stated that he's looking to improve the team 'from middle to front' and that he still wanted a player to 'put the ball in the net'. Obviously Craig could just be keeping his cards close to his chest, but from what I've seen so far his actions in the transfer market do seem to mostly correspond to his statements to the press. From reading many of the comments on this board I know that many fans, including myself, are concerned that we only have one natural full-back in the squad and that we're having to play both Jack and McArdle, and maybe even Clark as well when he's fit, as right-backs. Now when I was listening to the pre-match build up today I was delighted to hear that Yoann Folly was back in full training because frankly we need as many experienced players available for selection as possible. However, IMO we already have 4 quality centre midfielders to choose from in the form of Fyvie, Milsom, Arnason and Osbourne, and Osbourne seems to be as good a spoiler in the middle of the park as Folly ever was. That got me wondering whether Brown could be thinking of playing Folly as a right-back once he's at full fitness. From what I can remember he was better on the ball than McArdle, faster than both McArdle and Jack and he always had a high work rate and was a good tackler. Obviously he's a natural centre mid but he does have some experience of playing in both the right midfield and the right back positions. For instance, I found an article from 2007 which states that Obviously it wouldn't be ideal to play Folly at RB, but if we're not looking at any more defenders then he could simply be the best option available for that position. Thoughts?Only other option i can think of and that isn't ideal either is playing 3 at the back instead and having Clark and Foster as wing-backs. Just don't think Folly would be any good at full-back. Tbh we're in a bit of a situation here with central midfielders i.e too many. He just has to get wider players in pronto. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 Folly certainly could be better option at RB than both McArdle or Jack but none of the 3 of them are right backs and shouldn't have to be first choice in that position with club having just 1 right back who is playing left back!! Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 The Hibs game is already a very important fixture and i expect us to get the win as surely we are due some luck. We played well today and were very unlucky not to come away with at least a draw. The scoreline flattered rangers totally Link to comment
OddJob Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 The Hibs game is already a very important fixture and i expect us to get the win as surely we are due some luck. We played well today and were very unlucky not to come away with at least a draw. The scoreline flattered rangers totally Well going by the radio commentary and the little highlights shown on Sportscene it does seem like another hard luck story so yeah you could say we deserve a little luck but at the end of the day you create your own luck too. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted August 28, 2011 Share Posted August 28, 2011 Create your own luck with Brines in charge - aye right!!!!! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 We can only hope he proves to be a good full back if brown plays him there. I think it's possible he will give him chance there. We might also see him used right mid at times, just can't see him fitting into the centre now. It's great we have such a strong centre of the team but I still can't understand how we can benefit without better players on the flanks. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Id play josh right back if it meant mcardle wasnt Link to comment
Crossbow Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 We have a right back - at least sort of - in Foster. Whilst having players who can fit a role should there be injuries is good finding someone who can play left back as their best position really should not be too much of a challenge over a transfer period - it's not as if it has come as a major surprise. It is ludicrous that we are for the second season running making do with an inadequate number of fullbacks. You have to wonder about the inner workings of Pittodrie when it is as plain as the nose on your face what is missing in defence. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Sure I remember McGhee trying out Folly at RB last season, possibly Killie away. And it didn't work. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 I doubt he'd be a world beater, but then you don't really need to be in the SPL. Having said that, I agree with the post above that it's a left back we really need - Having both Pawlett and Foster on the left means there's no-one to go outside on our left flank - both will want to cut in - although Foster does have a shot on him, the lack of balance is a concern. On the other hand, if we can only get in one more player, I'd prefer it to be an attacker as Foster is capable there. As for the McGhee era comparisons - he played Ifil at fullback - I can't see us ever being that bad in the same position again. Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Ozzy can apparently play right back, meaning Folly n Arnason could hold the midfield...not ideal at all. Really fed up with Aberdeen of late. We can't even sign players for the required positions, make a useless player captain, play defensive against a very weak Rangers side and why won't any manager transfer either Foster, Considine, Mackie or Paton, they're utter dross. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 This is a very good shout - was thinking the same on Saturday watching McArdle make a meal of it yet again in a position that is way above his abilities. Jack is quite young to use in his place but Folly would fit the bill. He is experienced, strong and can carry the ball forward. McArdle was the only let down for me at Ibrox and he simply must not continue in that position - his use of the ball is deplorable. The savign grace here is that Mr Brown has proved this season that he sees what we see. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 We have a right back - at least sort of - in Foster. Whilst having players who can fit a role should there be injuries is good finding someone who can play left back as their best position really should not be too much of a challenge over a transfer period - it's not as if it has come as a major surprise. It is ludicrous that we are for the second season running making do with an inadequate number of fullbacks. You have to wonder about the inner workings of Pittodrie when it is as plain as the nose on your face what is missing in defence. Agreed. What's needed at the back is a LB and has been all summer. Stevie Smith was available on a free and we decided not to go for him. In fact I seem to recall Chris Porter was also available and to me sounds like we are scraping around now for far less proven forwards to add. Nae idea why we deemed him unsuitable for us as well. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Stevie Smith was available on a free and we decided not to go for him Stevie Smith was small and slow and not tough enough in the tackle, glad we didn't sign him - especially on the wages he would have demanded. I agree a left back would be handy, but right now we should play Folly at right back so Rory McDonkey stops undoing all the good work by our midfield by humping it to the opposition every time he gets the ball. Folly is strong and mobile with a good touch, McArdle is strong. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Stevie Smith was small and slow and not tough enough in the tackle, glad we didn't sign him - especially on the wages he would have demanded. I agree a left back would be handy, but right now we should play Folly at right back so Rory McDonkey stops undoing all the good work by our midfield by humping it to the opposition every time he gets the ball. Folly is strong and mobile with a good touch, McArdle is strong. You can criticise Smith if you want but he is light years ahead of anyone else we have in the FB position. Yet to see if Folly will be good at RB but I really hope so. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Stevie Smith was small and slow and not tough enough in the tackle, glad we didn't sign him - especially on the wages he would have demanded. I agree a left back would be handy, but right now we should play Folly at right back so Rory McDonkey stops undoing all the good work by our midfield by humping it to the opposition every time he gets the ball. Folly is strong and mobile with a good touch, McArdle is strong. Spot on! Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Smith was probably our best defender last year and is 20x better than foster. We should have burst the bank to get him back here. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Smith was probably our best defender last year and is 20x better than foster. We should have burst the bank to get him back here. I liked Smith because he was a natural full back with a left foot. He wasn't great though, certainly not a bank-buster... Link to comment
seanthesheep Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Agreed. What's needed at the back is a LB and has been all summer. Stevie Smith was available on a free and we decided not to go for him. In fact I seem to recall Chris Porter was also available and to me sounds like we are scraping around now for far less proven forwards to add. Nae idea why we deemed him unsuitable for us as well. We can play Clark at right back and Foster at left back. Jobs a good un! Link to comment
RUL Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 I liked Smith because he was a natural full back with a left foot. He wasn't great though, certainly not a bank-buster... Aye, thought Smith was average as feck to be honest, he looked better than he was because we didn't have a fullback, let alone a left sided fullback. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 We can play Clark at right back and Foster at left back. Jobs a good un! So not bothering with players who can actually play full back at all then? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Aye, thought Smith was average as feck to be honest, he looked better than he was because we didn't have a fullback, let alone a left sided fullback. If by average you mean twice as good as most of the players and all of the FB candidates in our current squad then yes I'd agree with that. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 Smith was good but was obviously after more money than Brown thought he could spare. As for the full back positions, it was the first thing Brown rectified when coming in, so I'm fairly hopeful he doesn't see McArdle as a long-term option for the position Link to comment
robbo Posted August 29, 2011 Share Posted August 29, 2011 what i dont understand is why were playing foster at left back and mcardle at right back. neither are in their natural position....but foster at least showed he was decent at RB wi the huns. so why not put foster to RB and stop him cutting inside all the time, instead let him use his pace out wide, then punt mcardle to LB. hes not going to be any slower or positionally inept at LB than he is at RB.....so surely it makes sense to make 1 side solid rather than having 2 so-so sides. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted August 30, 2011 Share Posted August 30, 2011 To be fair I forgot about Christina Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Any update on the loon Folly's progress?Anyone heard anything? Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Any update on the loon Folly's progress?Anyone heard anything?Wondered that the other day as i notice he's not even been on the bench recently. Hopefully gets himself back in the picture a obviously would hate to see Osbourne and Arnason get injured but if they did and not having Folly to come in would be disastrous. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 was coming back but picked up an injury after the hibs game. been training recently. Link to comment