Predators

got my first pair of predators since the late 90s over the weekend.

they are astro boots.

roadtesting them tonight.

i had the very first pair and they were ace.

then i got the 2nd or 3rd generation ones a few years later.

i'll let you know how much harder my shot is and how much more spin i can put on the ball.

they are astro boots.

i'll let you know how much harder my cock is and how much more spunk i can put on the ball.

:gay:

they are astro boots.

i'll let you know how much harder my shot is and how much more spin i can put on the ball.

Ive went back to preds for this season. Been a couple of years since ive had a pair, so forked out the essential

The original preds are the best boots ever, proper fins on them they were amazing. I am also quite partial to copa's they still are the coolest looking boots around.

aye back in the day when football boots were black and footballer were men. apart from justin fash. and graheam le saux.

Copa Mundials are the best boot bar none.

Expensive to buy over here though! I put my foot through a pair last month and had to fork out $240 for replacements!

i always find that statement a strange one. so many people say copa are the best but there is no difference technically or aesthetically between the copa and the umbro specialli, puma king or asics testimonial.

back to topic, i hate the new preds. theyve moved away from being traditional predators and are now more akin to the adipure.

whats worse is the fact they are making preds and 'pures in the SL range - SL being adidas' lightweight range. completely redundant because if you want lightweight, you opt for the adizero. pisses me off. cant make a predator style boot with synthetic fibres and expect the same result youd get from a traditional pred.

my favourite boot has been the predator powerswerve, low profile but the vamps are significant enough to put decent spin on it.

adidasPredatorPowerSwerveX_01.jpg

these are the ones i want now.

mizuno wave ignitus. look very similar to the preds ive got namely why i want them. these are more like predators than the new adipower predator

nr091001_1.jpg

havent bought a pair of football boots since i stopped playing 13 years ago but find myself everytime time im in a sports shop looking at boots!

from 13 to 20 year old all i ever had was Adidas World cup (for grass) and Copas (for ash).....

before that Patrick Platini, Puma Mexico and Puma Maradona were my choice of boot! All out of the back pages of the Shoot!

havent bought a pair of football boots since i stopped playing 13 years ago but find myself everytime time im in a sports shop looking at boots!

from 13 to 20 year old all i ever had was Adidas World cup (for grass) and Copas (for ash).....

before that Patrick Platini, Puma Mexico and Puma Maradona were my choice of boot! All out of the back pages of the Shoot!

Ye canna beat a pair of Puma Kings, only football boot worth wearing, black, none of this fancy pish.

couldnt disagree more. fancy push is what drives innovation and gives us better quality at lower costs.

prime example being the adipure range - a few years ago you got cheap rubbish on their cheaper range but they still charged 30-40 quid for them. now, because the top end boots are so much higher quality and more techinically advanced, the result is the cheap adinovas are now fully K leather uppered....but still 30-40 notes.

same as computer tech, the more specialised the higher end ones get, the better quality your cheaper ones become.

ill concede, theres nothing wrong with puma kings. but are you talking the original 70s incarnation

puma-king-h8-rugby-boots.jpg

or the xls

puma-king-xl.jpg

or the finale?

10199601.jpg

they are all simple black ones and all under the puma king umbrella but they have used modern methods to diversify the range slightly and give you different variations to either bring the weight down, increase the size of the sweet spot or open up the side of the foot to give you a better feel for the ball.

im not a fan of the lightweight boots like the nike vapours, adizeros or the puma v1.10s. others swear by them. i prefer power boots because i prefer K leather and a bit of tech to improve your touch. does it help in the grand scheme? probably not, if your shite, your shite. boots wont make a difference. if your decent at 1 thing however, they make that part of your game that bit tighter.

For once I agree with Tup.

You notice the difference when you're involved in the upper echelons of amateur football. Certainly I did when playing in England and also now in Australia. The vast majority of players wear boots like Puma Kings or Copa Mundials. I played premier league amateurs in the East Midlands, prior to leaving the country and if you'd turned up to a match wearing some of these daft boots, you'd get ripped apart in the dressing room and your opponents would kick seven shades of shit out of you. 95% of the players wore black leather boots - you had to be something special to get away with wearing anything else.

Incidentally, my experiences in Australia are even more pronounced in this respect! A guy on our team turned up to training the other day wearing kineso tape, or something like that.... the poor lad had strips torn off him! Our coach reminding him in no uncertain terms that he was an amateur footballer - not David Beckham!

The majority of these so called boot innovations are a nonsense. Predator fins, or whatever other nonsense, will not make you a better player. These are gimmics used to market boots to spotty teenagers.

Ye canna beat a pair of Puma Kings, only football boot worth wearing, black, none of this fancy pish.

the original predators i had were black, white 3 stripes and small bit of red detailing.

they were ace.

retro yet modern. the ultimate combo for the ultimate boots.

these days football boots have been bastardised to obscene levels with garish colours and disgusting patterns.

copa mundials and puma kings are good at keeping it simple.