NorthernLights24 Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 The Memories section of todays Evening Express has a picture of the Aberdeen U12 team from 2001. The team features David Templeton, Peter Pawlett and Chris Maguire. Not bad going to have three players from a single batch of U12s reach the SPL. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 The Memories section of todays Evening Express has a picture of the Aberdeen U12 team from 2001. The team features David Templeton, Peter Pawlett and Chris Maguire. Not bad going to have three players from a single batch of U12s reach the SPL.So who do you congratulate for that achievement? .......... Willie Miller? Link to comment
Admin Bebo Posted September 6, 2011 Admin Share Posted September 6, 2011 So who do you congratulate for that achievement? .......... Willie Miller? Angela Link to comment
Granite City Reds Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 So who do you congratulate for that achievement? .......... Willie Miller? It was before he joined the club. Went and watched the U19's against Celtic and both clubs have changed their squad from last season so a younger team. Its been about 3 years since i watched Aberdeen U19's which i used to regular watch them and first thing that hasn't changed was Celtic are big and physical compared to Aberdeen smaller players but what concerned me was the lack of ability from both sides. Maybe being harsh as i've only watched them once but i am concerned that the great youth academy that Aberdeen seem to go on about is not as great as we are led to believe. Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 The Memories section of todays Evening Express has a picture of the Aberdeen U12 team from 2001. The team features David Templeton, Peter Pawlett and Chris Maguire. Not bad going to have three players from a single batch of U12s reach the SPL. Templeton - the one that got away. Link to comment
MightyDons Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Templeton - the one that got away. These things happen. Thats life. Link to comment
baconman Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Templeton - the one that got away. Yup because he was too small. Same thing happened to Coutts and Maloney and look where they are now? Incompetence. Link to comment
MightyDons Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Yup because he was too small. Same thing happened to Coutts and Maloney and look where they are now? Incompetence. Maloney trained with us, but chose to sign for Celtic instead. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 bebo looks a bit odd in it? Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Yup because he was too small. Same thing happened to Coutts and Maloney and look where they are now? Incompetence.Rubbish, real rubbish, utter rubbish and complete rubbish. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Rubbish, real rubbish, utter rubbish and complete rubbish.I'd disagree, Coutts is a quality player. Maloney on his day can pose any sort of threat to any team Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 I'd disagree, Coutts is a quality player. Maloney on his day can pose any sort of threat to any team Think he meant the reasons for them not being with us and not the players themselves being rubbish bebo Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Think he meant the reasons for them not being with us and not the players themselves being rubbish bebooh aye! fucking hell, heid nae screwed on the day. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 I'd disagree, Coutts is a quality player. Maloney on his day can pose any sort of threat to any team Think he meant the reasons for them not being with us and not the players themselves being rubbish bebo oh aye! fucking hell, heid nae screwed on the day. Who does Incompetence play for? Link to comment
Macca Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 An Aberdeen coach was quoted to have said he was happy Coutts had "found his level" when being watched at Cove..... Link to comment
Macca Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 I'll bite. Playing at Preston, see his goal the other week? Sublime. Scotland 21s when fit. Ferguson failed in a couple of bids to take him back to the Championship in the summer. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 I'll bite. Playing at Preston, see his goal the other week? Sublime. Scotland 21s when fit. Ferguson failed in a couple of bids to take him back to the Championship in the summer.aye! sheer class, didn't see that move to preston coming after watching him for cove, was a key player but wouldn't have thought to be at their level! Link to comment
steems Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Rubbish, real rubbish, utter rubbish and complete rubbish. No its true. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 No its true. Not going down this road again. Link to comment
zander Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Coutts and Templeton were simply not good enough for Aberdeen they both left and improved as players these things happen. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Not going down this road again. It's clear as day that you support the youth coaches to every degree, When you son is binned \ free'd \ moved on because someone else is better will you still support them then ? Or because you haven't seen any other youth setups the likes of Motherwell who are churning out youth players that you are just single minded. Sorry but it's just the feeling I get bud. The reason I say this is that we are struggling to beat the likes of Culter FC and Formatine Utd ...... I watched both of these games and the only factor came down to fitness.... I also watched the St Mirren game down in Glasgow ... when the final result was 5-4 St Mirren and they have some class players to which I believe will be going to the Celtic youth setup shortly ...... For a fee I may add. Link to comment
MightyDons Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 It's clear as day that you support the youth coaches to every degree, When you son is binned \ free'd \ moved on because someone else is better will you still support them then ? Or because you haven't seen any other youth setups the likes of Motherwell who are churning out youth players that you are just single minded. Sorry but it's just the feeling I get bud. The reason I say this is that we are struggling to beat the likes of Culter FC and Formatine Utd ...... I watched both of these games and the only factor came down to fitness.... I also watched the St Mirren game down in Glasgow ... when the final result was 5-4 St Mirren and they have some class players to which I believe will be going to the Celtic youth setup shortly ...... For a fee I may add. No the reason he said utter rubbish is because this "too small" quote is reeled out for every player that leaves clubs. Just because some players play for us at 12-15 doesn't mean they are going to sign professional contracts. Players have the right to choose clubs at that age. As a Teacher and football coach I have seen many players mature as footballers at 13/14 and by 16 are not good enough for professional game, equally I have seen players at 13/14 that are average, but by 16/17 have developed their game enough to make it. Coaches have a task of choosing players not just on ability, but what is right for the player and club. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 It's clear as day that you support the youth coaches to every degree, When you son is binned \ free'd \ moved on because someone else is better will you still support them then ? Or because you haven't seen any other youth setups the likes of Motherwell who are churning out youth players that you are just single minded. Sorry but it's just the feeling I get bud. The reason I say this is that we are struggling to beat the likes of Culter FC and Formatine Utd ...... I watched both of these games and the only factor came down to fitness.... I also watched the St Mirren game down in Glasgow ... when the final result was 5-4 St Mirren and they have some class players to which I believe will be going to the Celtic youth setup shortly ...... For a fee I may add.Of course I support the youth coaches and I Link to comment
baconman Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Maloney trained with us, but chose to sign for Celtic instead. Wasnt as straight forward as that. Link to comment
baconman Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Rubbish, real rubbish, utter rubbish and complete rubbish. Yeah whatever you think! Been a prob in our game for years. You have to be big and physical hence the reason we are now playing catch up because the type and style of fitba we play is sheeeeite!! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Yeah whatever you think! Been a prob in our game for years. You have to be big and physical hence the reason we are now playing catch up because the type and style of fitba we play is sheeeeite!!You know my (my sons Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Any of the coaches who were not convinced about certain players becauseof their height are long gone.Nicky Low is a prime example that is no longer an issue, if it ever was an issue.AFC cannot sign everyone and decisions need to be taken based on many factors.I'd have loved it if we'd signed Maloney knowing what he turned out like but whateverhappened, he didn't end up with us. Swings and roundabouts, we got many greatsfrom other areas over the years. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 It was mainly down to Chic McLelland the whole released if you were small came about. He is long gone and good riddance. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Any of the coaches who were not convinced about certain players becauseof their height are long gone.Nicky Low is a prime example that is no longer an issue, if it ever was an issue.AFC cannot sign everyone and decisions need to be taken based on many factors.I'd have loved it if we'd signed Maloney knowing what he turned out like but whateverhappened, he didn't end up with us. Swings and roundabouts, we got many greatsfrom other areas over the years.Nail on head Link to comment