Jocky Balboa Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Happy belated 65th Birthday to the greatest Rock singer and showman of all time, Farookh Pluto Bulsara (AKA Freddie Mercury). Too bad you worshipped the God of Rectum a little TOO much, or you'd be here to celebrate with us. I am playing the "Sheer Heart Attack" album (my favourite Queen CD, although I love all the albums, from the 1973 debut, up to and including "The Game" in 1980) in your honour... darling! Haw-haw-haw! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 6, 2011 Share Posted September 6, 2011 Happy belated 65th Birthday to the greatest Rock singer and showman of all time, Farookh Pluto Bulsara (AKA Freddie Mercury). Too bad you worshipped the God of Rectum a little TOO much, or you'd be here to celebrate with us. I am playing the "Sheer Heart Attack" album (my favourite Queen CD, although I love all the albums, from the 1973 debut, up to and including "The Game" in 1980) in your honour... darling! Haw-haw-haw!If there was a more charismatic frontman I've yet to see him. The ultimate showman. Rip, ye ravin' lunatic Link to comment
minijc Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Were queen and to a certain extent Freddy, all that? Link to comment
zander Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Were queen and to a certain extent Freddy, all that? I'm nae their biggest fans. Link to comment
zappadons Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Maybe being a little pedantic but Freddie's AIDS was not caught through unnatural sex acts but the same strain as Kenny Everett caught from a shared neeedle. Also to answer Mini's query, some of Queen's not so well known work is superb. It's all the shite that made it onto Greatest Hits I & II!!! Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Sheer Heart Attack is an immense album! Probably my favourite Queen song is Show Must Go On though Aye, Freddie could play the crowd better than anyone before him and anyone since. The Live Aid gig he had the crowd in the palm of his hand. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted September 7, 2011 Author Share Posted September 7, 2011 Apparently a few yrs back they sold the piano that he played Bohemian Rhapsody on... what I want to know is though, what happened to the stool he sat on?! Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Best frontman of all time in the best band of all time in my opinion . Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 tup wants to break free. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted September 7, 2011 Author Share Posted September 7, 2011 Sheer Heart Attack is an immense album! Probably my favourite Queen song is Show Must Go On though Aye, Freddie could play the crowd better than anyone before him and anyone since. The Live Aid gig he had the crowd in the palm of his hand. SHA is also my favourite album, along with NOTW and The Game. I know ANATO is regarded as their best, but while it's got a lot of great stuff, I think it's mainly the fact Bohemian Rhapsody is on it that elevates it. For me, SHA, NOTW and The Game are just as good, if not better, albums (the first 2 albums are very underrated as well). I'm not a big fan of their 1982-89 output though (ESPECIALLY that abomination of an album, Hot Space), barring a handful of great songs. Too commercial and lightweight, imo. 1991's Innuendo was a stunning return to form, though. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 i do like a bit of queen. but they are definitley a bit cheesey.and in no way whatsoever in any way at all cool. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 i do like a bit of queen. but they are definitley a bit cheesey.and in no way whatsoever in any way at all cool. Get what your saying . But if you follow bands that are "cool" you will end up listening to a load of pish that isnt "cool" within a couple of months ! Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Great frontman from all of the performances I have seen, probably one of the greats. Queen are shite though. Brian May is a poodle headed c*nt. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Get what your saying . But if you follow bands that are "cool" you will end up listening to a load of pish that isnt "cool" within a couple of months ! aye but led zep, the who, floyd etc were cool and have cool fans like me. queer are the epitome of a guilty pleasure band. they are like a good music version of genesis. Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 aye but led zep, the who, floyd etc were cool and have cool fans like me. queer are the epitome of a guilty pleasure band. they are like a good music version of genesis. Agree with some of that . However Queen are better than all 3 of those bands . Pink Floyd is the one "supergroup" that I dont get the praise for . 3 or 4 different songs that are decent , the rest is bollocks like the song Sheep (24 minutes of pish) . Also I like Led Zep and the Who and agree with them being called cool . Pink Floyd are not however ! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Agree with some of that . However Queen are better than all 3 of those bands . Pink Floyd is the one "supergroup" that I dont get the praise for . 3 or 4 different songs that are decent , the rest is bollocks like the song Sheep (24 minutes of pish) . Also I like Led Zep and the Who and agree with them being called cool . Pink Floyd are not however !Pink Floyd are one of the greatest, influential and most innovative bands these shores have produced. They were at the forefront of a "movement". That's pretty cool. Which three or four songs do you class as only decent as a matter of interest? Link to comment
afc_blockhead Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Pink Floyd are one of the greatest, influential and most innovative bands these shores have produced. They were at the forefront of a "movement". That's pretty cool. Which three or four songs do you class as only decent as a matter of interest? The main hits . I think you know the ones . Before you ask or assume , I have listened to most of their output . However , a lot of it is very prog and dull . That is my opinion . I think they are a good band , as I said I just think they are one of the massively overrated bands . Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 The main hits . I think you know the ones . Before you ask or assume , I have listened to most of their output . However , a lot of it is very prog and dull . That is my opinion . I think they are a good band , as I said I just think they are one of the massively overrated bands .Fair doo's min. Light years ahead of their time, in my opinion. Link to comment
zappadons Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Took me ages to get into Floyd, but love their work now. Oh, and Sheep is a cracking number. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted September 7, 2011 Share Posted September 7, 2011 Took me ages to get into Floyd, but love their work now. Oh, and Sheep is a cracking number.Probably most think their entire back catalogue consists of Money, ABITW pt2, SOYCD and Comfortably Numb as that's all that's played on radio. (Statement not aimed at afc_blockheid) I defy anyone to listen to "Obscured By Clouds" and not think, "that's fuckin' magic"! GENIUS Link to comment