Gary O'connor

• Replies 67

Brum fans saying they had a right to know as they wouldn't have supported him, absolute pish, in a time of need they were willing to kick the man when he was down, I personally would back the player.

I'd rather have a player that snorted a wee bit of coke than one that got pished.

That said these guys will be snorting coke WHILST drinking, and that will allow them to drink more, which can only be a bad thing!

Time of need? Kick the man when he was down?

He took coke and got busted, would you feel sorry for any other Joe Public that got knobbled?

I never really feel sorry for them, but i do feel a sense of injustice when i read that such and such has been dragged through the courts and labelled a pariah for having the audacity to take recreational drug that is less harmful than alcohol.

That said I would want any Dons player to be booted out of the club, but to put that in perspective if i had my way any player who drank would be booted out of the club too!

I never really feel sorry for them, but i do feel a sense of injustice when i read that such and such has been dragged through the courts and labelled a pariah for having the audacity to take recreational drug that is less harmful than alcohol.

That said I would want any Dons player to be booted out of the club, but to put that in perspective if i had my way any player who drank would be booted out of the club too!

Coke isn't less harmful than booze.

You're probably referring to that report done by that committee the boy Nutt setup when he got sacked by the government? This was attempting to show the overall harm to society rather than the individual, so whilst alcohol does more overall social damage (mainly due to its massive popularity), coke is more harmful for the individual and the people close to them.

Which is kinda what matters when you are talking about sportsmen...

So how come Gary Oconnor gets a second chance with drug rehabilitation etc. but Adrian Mutu got sacked and had to pay Chelsea millions in compensation for doing the same thing? :dontknow:

(I see Mutu has now been banned from international football for being pished)

because Chelsea did the right thing in sacking him. Whilst Birmingham took the hippie approach and wanted to help him with his "disease"

Coke isn't less harmful than booze.

You're probably referring to that report done by that committee the boy Nutt setup when he got sacked by the government? This was attempting to show the overall harm to society rather than the individual, so whilst alcohol does more overall social damage (mainly due to its massive popularity), coke is more harmful for the individual and the people close to them.

Which is kinda what matters when you are talking about sportsmen...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11660210

Aye this one.

Just find it astounding that people seem to take a hissy fit if someone takes a drug that is deemed "illegal", but they'll happily have 10 pints of their drug of choice whilst looking down their noses at other people who take cannabis, XTC, coke etc. It's as if they don't realise that a law is just something that somebody made up, and it might not be based on facts.

I don't think football clubs have a duty to be a propaganda tool for the legal system/daily mail, who feed off willful ignorance, and hollywood portrayols of coked up psychos.

I haven't read directly from the report and the BBC could have misinterpretted the report (newspapers quite often do) - but coke is listed as less harmful to the individual than alcohol on their interepretation. Looks to be about 20 against 25 for alcohol on the scale provided.

I'd take David Nutts word over some vicar or jumped up politician angling for votes.

Sportsmen who take coke should be hounded out of the game, but so should those who drink alcohol.

I just hate the blatant hypocrisy - there's a bar in Westminster FFS!

Quite simply professional athletes should drink NO alcohol. None whatsoever.

So the fact O'Connor took devil's dandruff is neither here nor there, he's a ned, clearly, and that's what they do of an evening.

If you play football professionally you should be taking no harmful substances at all. They get paid a fortune. The very fucking least they can do is abstain whilst taking that cash.

So yes, he's a dick, but so are all the footballers who drink all the time.

So the fact O'Connor took devil's dandruff is neither here nor there, he's a ned, clearly, and that's what they do of an evening.

If you play football professionally you should be taking no harmful substances at all. They get paid a fortune. The very fucking least they can do is abstain whilst taking that cash.

Correct.

Party when you retire. You've got long enough!

:thumbup1: