Schoolkids Homework

daytripping

My daughter has just started first year and seems to have a pile of homework every night, frankly it's bringing the whole family down as she gets stressed out about it and wants loads of help, last night was fecking practising for a French spelling test!!! she's only had French for 3 weeks, WTF are they giving them spelling tests for it at this stage, they have enough trouble spelling English words correctly without the hassle of that on top.

Add that to constant Maths, social study stuff, English etc and it becomes a mind feck for the kid, they're new in the big school so they shouldn't have this kind of pressure put on them.

I'm at the stage of going to the school and complaining, when I was at academy we never got any homework, time after school is for playing with your mates and chilling out. Would I be within my rights to tell the school to stop giving her homework, it's doing me head in all the constant arguing it causes, she should be learning in school not at home.

Anyone in the same boat? are other schools like this??

PS Any teachers out there can get to feck, if you're not good enough to teach the kids in the allotted time you shouldn't be in the job.

:soapbox:

Im no parent, but it wasnt that long ago that i was at the big school. I seem to remember we got a fair amount of homework in first year, its normal.

I arsed about at school up until about 4th year, and then i started to put some effort in - and i turned out superbly.

Just tell your kid not worry about it and she can arse about until 4th year as well. On the other hand it gets the wee f*ckers into the habit of stress and learning. There's too much namby pamby dancing and prancing at primary school these days - i see it with my nephew. Life is hard and they have to learn its hard.

Pretty soon she's going to be competing in the international jobs market with chinese people who were doing the equivalent of her 1st year homework whilst stumbling about their rice huts still in nappies. Its for her own good in the end.

Dad how do you spell Jim APEL?

Just what I'm fecking needing after sitting down to watch the footy after a hard day.

As well as your wife moaning about her job, I can see where the arguments are starting.

I don't see the point in learning French, I hate the cunts, and if they want to converse they can do it in English, fuck all that high-pitched bent-arsed pish that passes for their language.

If I wanted to be French, I'd be cutting about with a handlebar moustache in a black hooped jumper with ingins and garlic round my neck, giving it 'Oo-la-la, NICOLLLLE!', and all that jazz, but I don't, and I'm not, so it's pointless.

As well as your wife moaning about her job, I can see where the arguments are starting.

I don't see the point in learning French, I hate the cunts, and if they want to converse they can do it in English, fuck all that high-pitched bent-arsed pish that passes for their language.

If I wanted to be French, I'd be cutting about with a handlebar moustache in a black hooped jumper with ingins and garlic round my neck, giving it 'Oo-la-la, NICOLLLLE!', and all that jazz, but I don't, and I'm not, so it's pointless.

Have you ever tried ordering drinks in a parisian bar in english - they look at you like you're an arab and you've just raped their daughter.

No.

I've never set foot in that shithole, and don't intend on doing so, 'rosbifs', they fucking hate us, and I hate them, ergo no chance of me going there.

Papa!

I'm unemployed.

Proof if ever it were needed that sticking in at school is unimportant.

Tell the school to ram their homework where the sun disna shine daytripping min, you watching the football undisturbed is obviously much more important, and quote Pash here as a character reference should they attempt to argue the toss.

Proof if ever it were needed that sticking in at school is unimportant.

Tell the school to ram their homework where the sun disna shine daytripping min, you watching the football undisturbed is obviously much more important, and quote Pash here as a character reference should they attempt to argue the toss.

I'm only joking tup, I'm a fully qualified drafty in the diving sector.

Homewrk sux.

Maybe you're Arabic, if so, apologies rag-head.

Better than hiding in a wheelie bin or a bus shelter.

better than being a rapist also.

no i'm not arabic but i once had a milk sheik.

anyway back on topic - homework. when i was at school, i generally dossed about, caused mischief, was a cheeky wee shite and didn't do as i was told.

turned oot nae bad in the end so basically you can do whatever you want (as long as its legal) at school and it doesn't necessarily stop you from achieving things in your life.

I've seen some stuff that the missus takes back from school and believe me some kids need more than bloody homework.

I've seen work that looks like a spider has crawled out of an inkwell and just ran across the pages.

Shocking.

Anyway if you cannot help with a 12 year old's homework you need to take a good look at yourself. :sherlock:

Talk about dumb Britain.

Jesus fucking Christ. :dc:

I was a model of good manners and hard work at school.

It was only later I turned into a complete cunt, it's hard to put my finger on where the turning point came.

I agree with boofon for once, dayts min, put the TV off and go and do something less boring instead, in the words of the 'Why Don't You' crew.

i.e. help your daughter with her homework, proper help, not shouting at each other over a loud telly.

You benefit in kudos and goodwill, she gets back on her feet with the workload, and peace and harmony is restored.

Is that dayts doing his daughters homework?

Yeh he PM'd me earlier asking me to check over what he had done on her behalf. I know he won't mind me posting the rest of it:

This is her homework on shapes that he did:

scan0011.jpg

This is her algebra that he did:

Screen-shot-2010-06-10-at-6.39.55-PM.jpg

This is her trigonometry that he did:

six.jpg

Then he attempted her spanish:

4719_86668619509_840184509_1775430_7369086_n.jpg

My daughter has just started first year and seems to have a pile of homework every night, frankly it's bringing the whole family down as she gets stressed out about it and wants loads of help, last night was fecking practising for a French spelling test!!! she's only had French for 3 weeks, WTF are they giving them spelling tests for it at this stage, they have enough trouble spelling English words correctly without the hassle of that on top.

Add that to constant Maths, social study stuff, English etc and it becomes a mind feck for the kid, they're new in the big school so they shouldn't have this kind of pressure put on them.

I'm at the stage of going to the school and complaining, when I was at academy we never got any homework, time after school is for playing with your mates and chilling out. Would I be within my rights to tell the school to stop giving her homework, it's doing me head in all the constant arguing it causes, she should be learning in school not at home.

Anyone in the same boat? are other schools like this??

PS Any teachers out there can get to feck, if you're not good enough to teach the kids in the allotted time you shouldn't be in the job.

:soapbox:

Who's her French teacher?

Is Ms Vissochi or Mrs Keelan still there?

Just tell her to do what I did with my french homework. Don't do it.

I still passed it despite the numerous detentions.