Last Night

phoenix

Used to love the Prince of Wales for the generally warm welcome , social discourse without wide screen tvs or loud music , decent wines and beers.

Last night after waiting patiently in an uncrowded part of the bar to be at least acknowledged by the barmaid( whatever happened to 'be with you in a minute , sir' ) , I took this sulky girl( actually be unfair on the trade to call her barmaid ) to task for keeping me waiting so long and suggested she might pour me a glass of RED while she was waiting for some digital device to print out a receipt.

With a look that could turn sweet milk sour she informed that she was serving a customer ; I thocht women could multi-task. I responded by telling her it was a good job it was not busy the length of time she was taking.

That seemed to get up her nose and completely disregarding the protocol that 'the customer is always right' , she decided to 'put me right' in a most snooty , disdainful and ignorant manner.

My tactic was to then attempt to inform her of my rights as a customer under the laws of the hotel and catering act...which saw her flounce off , telling me she was not going to serve me. :laughing:

That's a first in fifty years of drinking. :laughing:

I suppose if I was to be charitable I could put it down to PMT.....but to be honest she looked like a right bitch( and probably 'friend' of the manager , who I also did not like the look of ).

Everything changes.

Like our once great Club , the Prince of Wales has gone into a decline.

Used to love the Prince of Wales for the generally warm welcome , social discourse without wide screen tvs or loud music , decent wines and beers.

Last night after waiting patiently in an uncrowded part of the bar to be at least acknowledged by the barmaid( whatever happened to 'be with you in a minute , sir' ) , I took this sulky girl( actually be unfair on the trade to call her barmaid ) to task for keeping me waiting so long and suggested she might pour me a glass of RED while she was waiting for some digital device to print out a receipt.

With a look that could turn sweet milk sour she informed that she was serving a customer ; I thocht women could multi-task. I responded by telling her it was a good job it was not busy the length of time she was taking.

That seemed to get up her nose and completely disregarding the protocol that 'the customer is always right' , she decided to 'put me right' in a most snooty , disdainful and ignorant manner.

My tactic was to then attempt to inform her of my rights as a customer under the laws of the hotel and catering act...which saw her flounce off , telling me she was not going to serve me. :laughing:

I suppose if I was to be charitable I could put it down to PMT.....but to be honest she looked like a right bitch( and probably 'friend' of the manager , who I also did not like the look of ).

Everything changes.

Mebbe she didnae see ye ower the bar, given yer bathchair is so low

I tried that Brew Dog (the old marchial bar) for the first time last week phoen and I was quite impressed. The beer tastes funny, they have all those weird home brews but the atmosphere and welcome in the bar is something I havent felt in Aberdeen in a long time.

Yeh the bar staff are all 'alternative' to the point of all looking the same but the punters and staff were all there for a laugh and a wee drink.

Might be worth giving it a go if you're one for the atmosphere and welcome :thumbs:

Everything changes.

you tell 'em feen.

she's probably just a good for nothing student.

or one of those wacky kids with funny hole earrings that goths wear.

the youth of today arent what they were in my day.

i blame the parents.

I tried that Brew Dog (the old marchial bar) for the first time last week phoen and I was quite impressed. The beer tastes funny, they have all those weird home brews but the atmosphere and welcome in the bar is something I havent felt in Aberdeen in a long time.

Yeh the bar staff are all 'alternative' to the point of all looking the same but the punters and staff were all there for a laugh and a wee drink.

Might be worth giving it a go if you're one for the atmosphere and welcome :thumbs:

You know sss.....I might just do that. I have been in a couple of times already and it was always pleasant and the bar staff sociable and willing to inform. In fact I like it

Only trouble is , altho' I've grown out of being self-conscious , my auld baldy heid does rather stick oot in a bar populated predominantly by yoof !

Always looks full of bloody students whenever I go past it! :tommy:

You know sss.....I might just do that. I have been in a couple of times already and it was always pleasant and the bar staff sociable and willing to inform. In fact I like it

Only trouble is , altho' I've grown out of being self-conscious , my auld baldy heid does rather stick oot in a bar populated predominantly by yoof !

there was quite a few yung uns but there were also a few from older generations as well... had a 60-70 year old couple sitting across from us.

It was midweek though when I was in, dont think I'd go in there on a Friday or Saturday night, would be far too busy for my liking as well.

Me and the ex wife went in there for a quick drink last year while through doing some Christmas shopping. So I went up to the bar to order the drinks to be told I was barred and had to leave. I tried to explain that I was through from inverness for the day,and hadn't been in the bar for about 5 years. The lassie behind the bar was having none of it so we just Buggered off.

Must have been mistaken identity or she was just a shit.

Me and the ex wife went in there for a quick drink last year while through doing some Christmas shopping. So I went up to the bar to order the drinks to be told I was barred and had to leave. I tried to explain that I was through from inverness for the day,and hadn't been in the bar for about 5 years. The lassie behind the bar was having none of it so we just Buggered off.

Must have been mistaken identity or she was just a shit.

Wrang spy bd.....it only opened last year , formerly the Marschal Bar( former proprietor - one William Miller Esq. ).

Everything changes.

on the decline like most of the city centre....couldnt agree more with your post

I thought it was that bar on union street beside the shopping centre. Must have been a different one. Don't really go drinking in Aberdeen.

It is just off Union Street. I think he thinks you were talking about Brewdog where the conversation had moved rather than the POW.

Never had a problem with the POW myself. Generally always get a decent, quiet pint in there. Level of service is better than most places, though that doesn't say much.

Not a massive fan of Brewdog. Cheese and biscuits are a great idea, but well overpriced and the place is more often than not packed (given the size of the place, doesn't take much).

It is just off Union Street. I think he thinks you were talking about Brewdog where the conversation had moved rather than the POW.

Never had a problem with the POW myself. Generally always get a decent, quiet pint in there. Level of service is better than most places, though that doesn't say much.

Not a massive fan of Brewdog. Cheese and biscuits are a great idea, but well overpriced and the place is more often than not packed (given the size of the place, doesn't take much).

I thought I was in the right boozer. Still don't know why I got binned out though. The ex was mortified lol. Ended up going to some place opposite a casino just over the road and down the hill a bit. Nice food good pint,Feck knows what its called,but I'm through in Aberdeen later on tonight so will have a look.

Auld Feen gets easily confused. You were in the PoW.

The one thing that always sticks in my memory regarding the POW is the reeking blokes toilets.

Old mannie piss smell ahoy!

:tommy:

Problem solved now , allegedly Johnny Mac.

No odour detectable last night and our table was right outside.

Never needed to go like.

I just did it where I was sitting.

I went in past the POW after the game on Saturday and it was great. served as soon as i walked in the door by a nice fella.

Never had a bad experience in the POW and a cracking place for some grub and a pint.

Yeah i was surprised at Phoenix's unlucky experience too as i've never had a problem in the POW either, and as you say the food is really good.

Sounds like it could be the Gaslamp you're referring to there?