SAFandthedons1983 Posted September 21, 2011 Share Posted September 21, 2011 Pretty easy choice i feel........... Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted September 21, 2011 Share Posted September 21, 2011 Aluko for 50k at the time was a bargain. He was just poorly coached. Link to comment
SAFandthedons1983 Posted September 21, 2011 Author Share Posted September 21, 2011 Aluko for 50k at the time was a bargain. He was just poorly coached.totally disagree. Birmingham had no interest in keeping him, they wanted rid. ALuko had looked good for his first few games for us, then started to decline more into the player we recognised from his permanent stint with us. Its easy to say it with hindsight, but spending money on him was a extremely bad move. Link to comment
SAFandthedons1983 Posted September 21, 2011 Author Share Posted September 21, 2011 and who voted for that monstrosity known as the Dick Donald stand? it was a ludicrous waste of money, which had a detrimental effect on atmosphere. Link to comment
dervish Posted September 21, 2011 Share Posted September 21, 2011 Lee Miller lately surely? Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted September 21, 2011 Share Posted September 21, 2011 totally disagree. Birmingham had no interest in keeping him, they wanted rid. ALuko had looked good for his first few games for us, then started to decline more into the player we recognised from his permanent stint with us. Its easy to say it with hindsight, but spending money on him was a extremely bad move.The 50k was worth it for that Bayern bounce alone. Can't deny that we could do with Aluko in the side right now as while he only turned up on occasion, he was one of our only players creatively capable. Link to comment
Proud9 Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 100k for Tommy Wright, bargain Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 £500,000 for Duncan Shearer. My god that was so long ago. We are so fucking shite now. Or the new outfit for Angus. Link to comment
dunc_afc Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Given that I'm not sure we have ever spent money well I voted for angus's new threads. Can't believe someone voted for the Dicks massive erection. Who ever designed and flogged those stands to the likes of us, hibs and Motherwell must have been pissing themselves laughing all the way to the bank Link to comment
360 Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Paying Kari Arnason at the moment. I would be really scared if we didn't have him. Link to comment
RUL Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Given that I'm not sure we have ever spent money well I voted for angus's new threads. Can't believe someone voted for the Dicks massive erection. Who ever designed and flogged those stands to the likes of us, hibs and Motherwell must have been pissing themselves laughing all the way to the bankMilne in our case Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Signing Barry Nicholson for me - not an option but the best signing we made in the last few years. as for value for money, has to be Paul Sheerin, an absolute steal for the amount of goals he scored. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Not an option either but the money spent buying second hand pissers for the away section has to go down as a good bit of business. :thumbs: Fuck letting the away fans get anything new. Link to comment
wanderingscotty Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Lee Miller lately surely? aye Link to comment
tup Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Maweme! No I don't mean we spent well, we never bought him, we did however get Mawene, although I'm not sure we paid anything for him, if our fans could learn to fucking spell our players' names I'm sure we'd recover. Link to comment
robbo Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 as for value for money, has to be Paul Sheerin, an absolute steal for the amount of goals he scored. i hope thats fishing because sheerin was a fucking donkey. he got a handful of important goals in his 1st season then was utter crap from then on. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 i hope thats fishing because sheerin was a fucking donkey. he got a handful of important goals in his 1st season then was utter crap from then on. Sheerin scored in almost every game he played when first signed (for 10k). Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Maweme! No I don't mean we spent well, we never bought him, we did however get Mawene, although I'm not sure we paid anything for him, if our fans could learn to fucking spell our players' names I'm sure we'd recover. more of a typo than bad spelling Tup. You'll give yourself another hernia carrying on like that. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Surely tying up Mackie on a 3 year deal has to be one of the best "money well spent" moments? Link to comment
tup Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 No, no bri, folk bang on about a malaise at boardroom level, in the dressing room etc, would you want to try a fucking leg for a bunch of cunts who slag you off mercilessly all the while being unable to spell your extremely well publicised surname? No, you'd think fuck these utter cunts, if they canna be arsed, neither can I. Spelling classes for the fans organised by the club and based on learning by rote our players surnames is the key to us getting out of this hole. Link to comment
Henry Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Sheerin scored in almost every game he played when first signed (for 10k). He scored four games in a row in March/April 2003, which is what you're referring to. Overall, he scored 10 goals in 56 appearances for us, two of which were penalties, giving him a goal per 7 games, from open play. Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 A goal every 5.6 games thats well decent. Find me another midfielder for us thats score that many in the last 10 years Sheerin was a great buy for us given our predicament at the time, plus he was on a tiny wage. Link to comment
Henry Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Haud the bus, do penalties count now? Link to comment
Stoney Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Even taking the peno's out thats a well decent record. After a quick looky its FAR better than severin and nicolson Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Haud the bus, do penalties count now?Why shouldn't they? If they didn't count then we'd have lost 3-2 to East Fife, saving us the hassle of having to witness another 30 minutes of pish, followed by 10 minutes of pointless kicking a ball at a goalie, knowing full well that they actually don't count. Link to comment
tup Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 The penalties didna count! Magic Link to comment
Henry Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 Discounting penalties, Gary McDonald has a better goal/games ratio. 1 per 5.8 Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 22, 2011 Share Posted September 22, 2011 The penalties didna count! Magic We'd have lost 3-2 if penalties didn't count, typical! Link to comment