Regret, What's Your Biggest?

dervish

• Replies 97

Was a decent footballer, got a scottish schools region trial but fucked it up! Im a bit introverted and out my comfort zone and never had the guts to stand out! Prob wasnt good enough but that i can still mind that day 17 years later i guess shows it still gets me!

On a personal level my mum left when i was 7 and havent seen her at all for about 20 years abd im now 28 through her choice! Im a father of 2 now and looking ahead i think i will regret not tracking her down in years to come but think why should i chase her when she never contacted me? Oooft deep stuff, i will look a cock when yous all post funny regrets!

[Was a decent footballer, got a scottish schools region trial but fucked it up! Im a bit introverted and out my comfort zone and never had the guts to stand out! Prob wasnt good enough but that i can still mind that day 17 years later i guess shows it still gets me!

On a personal level my mum left when i was 7 and havent seen her at all for about 20 years abd im now 28 through her choice! Im a father of 2 now and looking ahead i think i will regret not tracking her down in years to come but think why should i chase her when she never contacted me? Oooft deep stuff, i will look a cock when yous all post funny regrets

That's harsh mate and I feel for you. I regret the way I tossed my last relationship onto the fire. I still miss her. Absolute mug.

Not taking up the offer of a threesome when in Dubai as not ever going to pay any girl for sex, although they were both hot!

Me too on that but it was free, there were kinda fugly(ish... done way worse) but just never realised what I was getting offered (one told me the next day... :( ).

On a more serious side had various great opportunities work-wise I've either turned down or deliberately tried to get out of because I don't like to seem like a try hard.

Tend not to have regrets. There are things I would do differently but not to the point of regretting it.

Could've done a better job keeping hold of the last real girlfriend and she was one really worth keeping hold of but then I wouldnt have met a the girl I met about 2 months ago if I did... or I would've and it would've got messy.

Swings and roundabouts.

RUL

On the first one can identify with that, do the same thing even now!!! On the second I'd say family is complicated not everyone in it is good for you, her decision might have been for a good reason but wasn't your choice so you can't regret it. I'd say enjoy the family you have now rather than worry (easy said).

nae taking up the chance to go and study in the u.s. Was offered pretty much a full scholarship, playing football and studying whatever i wanted to near enough. Felt i was a tad too young at the time, and also didnt want it enough, and let it slip by. Looking back would of been a cracking chance, and looking to hopefully do it in the near future.

Also choosing the ex bird over the girl i really wanted. Silly cunt.

Got a few regrets. Not sticking in with my football when I got a bit older. Was on Aberdeen's books for a while, got released then seemed to lose interest.

Regret gettin involved with my ex girlfriend. Was head over heels at the time but she fucked me over something rotten and ended up gettin me in trouble with the way she acted to wind me up. Should have stayed well clear.

Going to uni. Ended up jacking it after 2 years and getting an apprenticeship, wish Id just gone straight into that from school.

Not doing more to help my mum while I was growing up. She died when I was 20 and looking back, she worked hard to look after me and my sister. Just wish i could have done more to help now. Also got myself in trouble in my late teens with the police a few times, and I know that broke her heart. Regret being the way I was and gettin into trouble.

No big regrets, jist little things

- Telling one ex she wis a mindfuck, felt great eh had telt her proper, and then weakened and apologised tae get my hole. Fact is she was a mindfuck and we then split up, but eh had lost the moral high ground.

- Wanting tae break up wi another burd but stringing her along for ages, no being man enough tae tell her straight and in the end no answering her calls. :( Eh wis young, but it was no excuse.

- Turning doon a threesome wi Baby Spice and Ginger Spice at the height of their fame. Eh didnae like their music, so didnae feel it wis right.

Wasting 5 years of my life with the ex, especially when I knew I didn't want to be with her from the very beginning. It ended up getting to the point where I just accepted it when really I should have ended it. We even got round to buying a house (her money not mine though as she had a flat to sell and I didn't). In hindsight I should have manned the fuck up, and just not wasted all those years on someone I just wasn't interested in.

You live and learn.

I regret fucking about so long at uni and taking forever to get my degree. I regret the way I treated various birds along the way and I have many drink-related regrets but they are for another thread. Thing about regrets is, if I did things differently then the things that happened after probably would never have happened so I'm not sure whether it's all part of the bigger plan. Still some things I think back on and I definitely don't feel too clever about.

2 main regrets, the first one being getting with a girl, going out with her for 18 months then choosing to stay with her while she toured australia and new zealand for a year. while she was away i got a mortgage, secured loan (most of which she got) and kitted the flat out. needless to say she never came back, stayed out there and never spoke to me again for reasons unknown. the second regret spunking thousands of pounds in bookies and casinos over the years before i wised up.

you live and learn.