HansGillhaus Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Long time lurker - first time poster..... Another Aberdeen Mad refugee! Anyway i've just been looking at the cracking photos of Union Bridge from yesteryear. I thought it would be good to have a thread with other old photos of Aberdeen - for nostalgic purposes. I'll just get us started with some blatent plagiarism. Enjoy! Link to comment
OddJob Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Long time lurker - first time poster..... Another Aberdeen Mad refugee! Anyway i've just been looking at the cracking photos of Union Bridge from yesteryear. I thought it would be good to have a thread with other old photos of Aberdeen - for nostalgic purposes. I'll just get us started with some blatent plagiarism. Enjoy!A great idea. Welcome onboard Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 A great idea for a thread. I don't have any pics but had a look on google. Link to comment
OddJob Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 A great idea for a thread. I don't have any pics but had a look on google. Looks like Albyn Place Link to comment
Pudgie Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 A great idea for a thread. I don't have any pics but had a look on google. That's almost ootside my hoosie! I wonder if the horseys are still there. Hope I don't hit them speeding round that corner :/ Link to comment
Dynamo Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Looks like Albyn Place Nae sure I thought it looked like Wellington Place. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted September 28, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted September 28, 2011 Nae sure I thought it looked like Wellington Place.Na its Albyn Place roughly outside The College looking towards Queens X Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Nae sure I thought it looked like Wellington Place. Nah, definitely Albyn Place heading up to Queens Road. Surely the trams wouldn't run along Wellington Place? Also the road's too wide. Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Nah, definitely Albyn Place heading up to Queens Road. Surely the trams wouldn't run along Wellington Place? Also the road's too wide. Alford Place. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Alford Place. Hardly fair, you were auld when most of these pictures were taken. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Alford Place. A mere technicality. Were you driving the tram Tommy? Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 A mere technicality. Were you driving the tram Tommy? No i cleaned chimneys back in the day. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Palmerston Place down the bottom of South College Street. Got this picture from Dandyjams mum (mod here on afc chat) a while back. And here's a classic that used to be on the side of the South College signal box. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 28, 2011 Share Posted September 28, 2011 Cracking pic that Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 And here's a classic that used to be on the side of the South College signal box. That picture is ace on so many levels. :thumbs: Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 Top thread! I love old pics I have calendars with old Aberdeen pictures in them they are amazing. Our city, like our football team, used to be something to be proud of Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 Castlegate I think Tut would have got that one right. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 I think Tut would have got that one right. i wasn't certain if the jpeg would show as an attached file only, no image.. so thought i'd best include some description. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 A great idea for a thread. I don't have any pics but had a look on google. Can almost see my work! Link to comment
Tommy Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 i wasn't certain if the jpeg would show as an attached file only, no image.. so thought i'd best include some description. I wasnae having a dig at you, it was at Tut. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 I wasnae having a dig at you, it was at Tut. Harsh Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 the skater pic looks like it could be worth a t shirt. anybody got decent pictures of rubislaw quarry, another ace thing about aberdeen. Link to comment
Maniac Cop Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 the skater pic looks like it could be worth a t shirt. anybody got decent pictures of rubislaw quarry, another ace thing about aberdeen. Good youtube video here with shots of the quarry. Aberdeen in the 60s The guy that uploaded that has a few decent videos of Aberdeen. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 the town looks great in the sun, loads of folk out n about! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 Aiberdeen Beach and the baths.1920's Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted September 29, 2011 Share Posted September 29, 2011 The harbour Link to comment