At The Border Guy Posted October 3, 2011 Share Posted October 3, 2011 Keep thinking I'm missing someone obvious... Was Tommy Wright the last player we actually paid a fee for?? Link to comment
seanthesheep Posted October 3, 2011 Share Posted October 3, 2011 Keep thinking I'm missing someone obvious... Was Tommy Wright the last player we actually paid a fee for??I heard we paid money for Chalali (prob heard that on here though) Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 3, 2011 Share Posted October 3, 2011 Keep thinking I'm missing someone obvious... Was Tommy Wright the last player we actually paid a fee for?? I think you're right. Has somone in the Highland League (Buckie or Deveronvale I think) not justspent Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted October 3, 2011 Author Share Posted October 3, 2011 Didn't hear the Chalali rumour, but certainly can't remember anyone else. Was just looking at our squad and noticed that - as far as I know - all came in on frees or through the youth system. Not a bad thing necessarily, but I was wondering how many other SPL clubs there are now in that position. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 3, 2011 Share Posted October 3, 2011 That Buckie transfer was the second highest fee between Scottish clubs this summer, after Lee Wallace to the Hun. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 3, 2011 Share Posted October 3, 2011 I think you're right. Has somone in the Highland League (Buckie or Deveronvale I think) not justspent Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Think I read in the pee&jay last week that "Vale originally wanted 15k for Chisholm but Buckie negotiated a smaller 4 figure sum" Or something along those lines. Link to comment
tup Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Vale originally wanted 15k for Chisholm That's cheap. Alex Ferguson sued Magnier and the other Irish cunt for upwards of a million pounds for the same thing. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Sone was after Wright, wasn't he? Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Sone was after Wright, wasn't he?Not that I remember. I thought he was before him. Wright was signed in Waldercoods last season at january was he not? Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Not that I remember. I thought he was before him. Wright was signed in Waldercoods last season at january was he not? Nah, Wright was in the summer at the beginning of Calderwood's last season (made his debut in an away game against Motherwell, which was dire but he livened up in lunatic style). Pretty sure Aluko was signed on the last day of that same window after his ill-fated loan spell at Blackpool. Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted October 4, 2011 Author Share Posted October 4, 2011 Right enough... Tommy Wright 8 August, Sone Aluko 1 September 2008 (so says Wikipedia). Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Can't believe we paid money for Wright. Absolutely horrible footballer, everytime he came on I cringed. Most of the time you couldn't look when he was running full pelt into a challenge that could easily have resulted in a broken leg or worse. We should have demanded a refund, the guy was clearly not working right. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 If he wasn't a Footballer, and I use that term VERY loosely, he'd probably be in jail. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 I heard a rumour that the reason tommy wright was so shite and hyper was a glandular problem with his nose. He was constantly sniffing and going to the toilet to blow his nose. That's what I heard anyway. Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Now at the dizzy heights of Kidderminster Harriers.Darlington binned him and Harriers taken him on game to game deal with no contract!! Link to comment
RUL Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 I heard a rumour that the reason tommy wright was so shite and hyper was a glandular problem with his nose. He was constantly sniffing and going to the toilet to blow his nose. That's what I heard anyway.Think thats why darlo binned him Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 I heard a rumour that the reason tommy wright was so shite and hyper was a glandular problem with his nose. He was constantly sniffing and going to the toilet to blow his nose. That's what I heard anyway.Aye? I heard he was a cokeheid Link to comment
WILCOCK Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Wasn't he league 1's top scorer or something, no brainer just never worked out for him here, you have got to make mistakes to learn from them! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Wasn't he league 1's top scorer or something, no brainer just never worked out for him here, you have got to make mistakes to learn from them!Shut up min. With a wee bit of homework we'd have known he was absolutely fucking terrible and should never have been allowed to darken our doors Link to comment
WILCOCK Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Shut up min. With a wee bit of homework we'd have known he was absolutely fucking terrible and should never have been allowed to darken our doorsBet you wouldn't say that to his face, calderwood probably thought that the current strikeforce he had at his disposal was abit too lightweight so signed some muscle up front. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted October 4, 2011 Share Posted October 4, 2011 Bet you wouldn't say that to his face, calderwood probably thought that the current strikeforce he had at his disposal was abit too lightweight so signed some muscle up front. Bet you I would Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 Think thats why darlo binned himI remmebr that was why we binned him and managed to get out of paying the waste of space aff Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 Maybe its me, but I didnt buy into this Tommy Wright hard man pish, I watched him in a reserve game and he was a coward, got bullied in the air and actually wasnt that big a guy. He was a thick chav with a hard man's haircut and the worst footballer I have seen at the dons n.b. he wasnt top scorer in league one either Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 wasnt a hard-man? he had Stephen Craigan running scared every time he played him No he didnt, he was regularly bullied off the ball, he played Craigan once Link to comment
WILCOCK Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 Also I hope who grassed him up for snorting coke is now out of the club, coke or no coke nobody likes a snitch! Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 Also I hope who grassed him up for snorting coke is now out of the club, coke or no coke nobody likes a snitch! nice pun Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 Bet you wouldn't say that to his face, calderwood probably thought that the current strikeforce he had at his disposal was abit too lightweight so signed some muscle up front. he would Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 5, 2011 Share Posted October 5, 2011 wasnt a hard-man? he had Stephen Craigan running scared every time he played himAye - that once he played against Motherwell when came on as sub for 20 minutes!! Link to comment