Big Man Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 We were discussing this today at work. What silly/outrageous rules (or lack of) did you play with when at school? Two of mine: i) When the ball went out of play, the first person to get it got the throw in. ii) Whoever brought the ball picked the two pickers Link to comment
Big Man Posted October 11, 2011 Author Share Posted October 11, 2011 Our school field backed onto some hooses. Whoever booted the ball into a back gairden - everybody on the opposing team got a free hit on them (usually resulting in a very dead arm)... Link to comment
Just Jack Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 No rules when we played at primary apart from primary 7s v the rest Link to comment
Kilkito Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 At my high school(16 miles from Glasgow), we played Aberdeen fans v the rest, and had to give them some of our players to make the teams even, those were the days Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Two and through. World cuppie.Half volleys don't count. Headers and volleys. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 We had a rule about the keeper bouncing the ball three times once they had it in their hands. Once they had done that you weren't allowed to block their kick Lee Miller style. Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 SP (stop play) PO (play on) to control stoppages...genius. If the ball went over a jumper the keeper had to throw it back out mimicking a goalposts rebound. Units stuck eachother every lunch time so same teams every day. Both teams also won every day... Link to comment
tainboy Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Mini world. Penalties all round. Link to comment
robbo Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 at primary, if you wanted to play, you had to take part in "whose the lucky one". everyone would line up against the wall and the 2 pickers had 1 shot each at the group. if you ran away, you were shunned. Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Runny oot keepers. Just occurred to me how funny that sounds. Link to comment
Dazzler Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Any man save. As it sounds, usually when there was a numerical advantage for the other team. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 if the ball goes behind the only keeper decides if it is play on. the lazy oaf. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 we used to have the following rules for headers and volleys. for first game keeper got a point if the ball went wide of goal only nothing for OBH (Over Bar hieght)for the first game if the keeper lost that game then for game two the OBH exemption was removed meaning all efforts off target was a point to keeper. if he lost the second game then the third game rules were all efforts off target gained the keeper a point, outfield players were,nt allowed to score volleys in the 6 yard box if he laost thw thierd game then a sudden death penalty shoot out ensued the loser going in goals .Oh, and for ALL header and volley games the kkeper got a point for catching the ball. for normal games we used to play with one goal meaning the keeper was referee too. no goals in six yarder unless a header or a rebounder off post or bar. used to play first team to score five one however if it got to 4-4 the would play two goal advantage, ( had to win by two clear goals ( i.e 6-4. or 7-5) if however it went on and then score reached 6-6 it was a penalty shoot out to determine winner also when we had enough folk for two goals we would play half pitch and running keepers Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 if the ball goes behind the only keeper decides if it is play on. the lazy oaf. we had that rule too usually if it went out towards corner play on if towards goal then keepers ball Link to comment
granite sheep Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 One goal, start wi plenty boys, scorers go off till there's one left, and that's the loser. I'm a footballing spastic, so more often than not, guess fa wound up losing more than anyone else in the playground Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Any man save. As it sounds, usually when there was a numerical advantage for the other team.This was a classic. Responsible for many a goalmouth scramble. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 we used to have the following rules for headers and volleys. for first game keeper got a point if the ball went wide of goal only nothing for OBH (Over Bar hieght)for the first game if the keeper lost that game then for game two the OBH exemption was removed meaning all efforts off target was a point to keeper. if he lost the second game then the third game rules were all efforts off target gained the keeper a point, outfield players were,nt allowed to score volleys in the 6 yard box if he laost thw thierd game then a sudden death penalty shoot out ensued the loser going in goals .Oh, and for ALL header and volley games the kkeper got a point for catching the ball. for normal games we used to play with one goal meaning the keeper was referee too. no goals in six yarder unless a header or a rebounder off post or bar. used to play first team to score five one however if it got to 4-4 the would play two goal advantage, ( had to win by two clear goals ( i.e 6-4. or 7-5) if however it went on and then score reached 6-6 it was a penalty shoot out to determine winner also when we had enough folk for two goals we would play half pitch and running keepersWe used to call that round the world. Half volleys outside the area, volleys or headers in the area, and headers only in the six yard box. If you hit it wide, you were in goals, one point for any goal, and if you got to 10 then the goalkeeper had to run round the park. Best we had was "world cuppy" or "2 and through", god knows how many teams of 2 and one keeper all shooting for the same goal. First teams to score 2 goals went through to the next round and last team went out, number of goals increased by one each round. If one player was constantly poaching, every other team got a penalty. Goalkeeper was referee. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Runny oot keepers. Just occurred to me how funny that sounds.I mind asking my brother who Ronny was Always found it funny we used the NO BALL GAMES sign as a goalpost. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Ombdy play 'World Cuppies'?Knockout event, with heaps of players and one keeper. I dont get it. Link to comment
Jonty Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 I dont get it. World cuppy - one keeper, 3+ outfielders, score a goal( or two - two n thru) and u r through. Keep going until one player is eliminated, then Abdy that got through is back in for the next round, til u get a winner. Headers and Volleys was called Lobs and Volleys ( or Ls and Vs) at my school for some reason? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 World cuppy - one keeper, 3+ outfielders, score a goal( or two - two n thru) and u r through. Keep going until one player is eliminated, then Abdy that got through is back in for the next round, til u get a winner. Headers and Volleys was called Lobs and Volleys ( or Ls and Vs) at my school for some reason? ,thanks for the bite there. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Didn't see that one coming. Much.I thought you were going to nibble tbh, good on yi son. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Christ razor, just give up. Link to comment
Jonty Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 ,thanks for the bite there. Hohoho!! Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Christ razor, just give up.Blow me Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Any girls you could get to stand between the jumpers were legitimate back up goalkeepers... Only way they were allowed any involvement in a game. Link to comment
360 Posted October 11, 2011 Share Posted October 11, 2011 Two and through. World cuppie. I called that Knocky-Outy Running Keepers I called that Rush Keeper Any man save. As it sounds, usually when there was a numerical advantage for the other team. I called that Fly Keeper. Good times. Link to comment
s1dnk Posted October 12, 2011 Share Posted October 12, 2011 7s vs the rest, classic. If the P7's were down just before the end of break it was always next goal wins, if the rest scored then we'd play next goal wins again until P7's won. Running keeper when a team was down a man or 2, if they were down by a few players then it was any man save. Headers and volleys was called Spanish, don't ask me why. Whoever was in goals when you got to 10 goals got booted up the arse from every other player. Link to comment
thebladder Posted October 12, 2011 Share Posted October 12, 2011 Any man save. As it sounds, usually when there was a numerical advantage for the other team. is that the "keep me" rule? fan we used to play runny oots, anyone within a reasonable distance of the goal could shout "keep me" and pick up the ball. The rule I never got was "next goal's the winner" (normally shouted by someone on the team being hammered) for some reason, everyone just accepted it. Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted October 12, 2011 Share Posted October 12, 2011 Ombdy play 'World Cuppies'? Knockout event, with heaps of players and one keeper.[/quote Aye even played it a few weeks back. 10 dads from where I live rolled back the years with a classic game of world cuppie. We were all so unfit we had to resort to pens to get the game to end. Link to comment