ChookterDon Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 If you found yourself in the AFC hotseat and had the cash that CB does, who is the one player you would buy and know we could afford and why? Mines would be Jamie Murphy from Motherwell. Why? He's pacey and can grabs goals, but then again you need a midfield for that so I'll re-phrase the question...what one player would you buy within AFC budget for attack, midfield, defence and keeper. One player for each position. Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Sheridan who signed for St Johnstone Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 I'd buy Robbie Winters fae Hartley for Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted October 18, 2011 Author Share Posted October 18, 2011 That's all fair and well but one player for att, mid, def and gk. Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Link to comment
Jaws Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 If you found yourself in the AFC hotseat and had the cash that CB does, who is the one player you would buy and know we could afford and why? Mines would be Jamie Murphy from Motherwell. Why? He's pacey and can grabs goals, but then again you need a midfield for that so I'll re-phrase the question...what one player would you buy within AFC budget for attack, midfield, defence and keeper. One player for each position. Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk There's not a hope in hell Jamie Murphy is within our budget. I'd imagine Motherwell would want 500k minimum. Link to comment
MD88 Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 I'd buy Robbie Winters fae Hartley for Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted October 18, 2011 Author Share Posted October 18, 2011 Aye but if u do it the AFC way you wait to get em on a bosman! Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 I'd buy a youngster from Celtic for Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted October 18, 2011 Author Share Posted October 18, 2011 Like islam feruz or whitever his name was? Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Like islam feruz or whitever his name was? Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk I was thinking more a Brian O'Neil type. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 We have a pretty solid, if unspectacular side at the moment... we're probably a creative attacking midfielder from having a very decent first XI. A player like Eremenko, who was on loan at killie last season, would make a huge difference to Aberdeen. Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted October 18, 2011 Author Share Posted October 18, 2011 We have a pretty solid, if unspectacular side at the moment... we're probably a creative attacking midfielder from having a very decent first XI. A player like Eremenko, who was on loan at killie last season, would make a huge difference to Aberdeen.I agree, an attacking midfielder with a bit of pace and skill. I think that's what Milsom tries to do with his wee turns and his 'bombing' forward. He's getting better at it. Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Link to comment
GK55 Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Fowler/Heffernan - both Kilmarnock O'Connor (within budget!?) - Hibs Sheridan - St Johnstone Daly - Dundee United Higdon - Motherwell MacDonald (GK)/Sutton - Hearts Van Zanten - St Mirren Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted October 18, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted October 18, 2011 I agree, an attacking midfielder with a bit of pace and skill. I think that's what Milsom tries to do with his wee turns and his 'bombing' forward. He's getting better at it. Sent from my BlackBerry 9800 using Tapatalk Gordon Strachan from DundeePeter Weir from St MirrenJoe Harper from MortonMark McGhee from NewcastleBobby Clark from Queens ParkJim Hermiston from Linlithgow Rose Each and everyone still better today than Chris Clark Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 McKimmie fae Dundee. Tommy McQueen fae Clyde. McDougall fae St Mirren. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Heffernan Looks to be a fantastic signing. Murphy, Law, Hammell, Jennings, Hateley, Lasley. Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Murphy, Law Is this a joke? Link to comment
leftside Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 McKimmie fae Dundee. Tommy McQueen fae Clyde. McDougall fae St Mirren. Steve Arichibald from Clyde, bought for 20K sold for 800K 2 years and a champioship later. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Is this a joke?Its an opinion. Link to comment
Mr Brightside Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 i found this to be a difficult but intriguing question, reallty made me think....here are my suggestions (not sure how within our budget they really are though-trying to be realistic but probably haven't been) GK- Paul Gallacher or Ian TurnerDF- Steven Hammell or the boy Matt Kilgallon from Sunderland (never seems to get a game- used to think he was descent enough)MF- would love Eremenko, but also Chris Humphrey from Well.ST- Templeton from Hearts or Sandaza (really liked him at Utd) Link to comment
tup Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Its an opinion. I thought this was what you were getting at but it seems you were serious and this is mere coincidence Link to comment
zander Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 I see only two players posted that we could actually afford. Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 18, 2011 Share Posted October 18, 2011 Humphrey from Motherwell Pacy winger which we are badly missing, although doubt Motherwell would even consider selling him especially to a rival Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted October 19, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted October 19, 2011 Is this a joke? No, a TV show I think. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 I thought this was what you were getting at but it seems you were serious and this is mere coincidence He managed to WHOOSH himself Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 He managed to WHOOSH himselfBy stating two players who i would like to see at the club. Big time fail from you. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 By stating two players who i would like to see at the club. Big time fail from you. WHOOSH Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 I don't get why people are saying players under contract and would require a fee, since we haven't paid out fees for years so hence we can't afford them, which was the original question... Jamie Murphy's next move will be to England. I'll go with Paul Dixon next summer, out of contract at the end of the season and a sweet left foot. Funnily I was just thinking he'd be a great pre-contract target. However I'm not sure Afc really understand what a pre-contract agreement is. Link to comment