Hogmany 2011

InTaeEm

As it's coming up to that time again (early but trying to make plans), I was going to be going to Newcastle with mates for it but some folk can't afford it etc. and was wondering what places are decent to go to for two nights out Hogmany and the 1st, in Scotland?

We went to Glasgow two years ago, amazing time, then Edinburgh just this new year past and again another cracking time, but after folk backed out we were discussing last night about places to go in Scotland to keep it cheaper and less travelling. And beside Aberdeen (which there's no chance im staying here for new year, town (clubs) is bad enough every other weekend), Edinburgh and Glasgow we couldn't really think of anywhere else? Dundee came up but weren't really interested.

Anywhere else that folk have been too in Scotland outwith the main places thats good for nights out etc at this time of year?

• Replies 74

I'm alright with the hangovers on the 1st as Im usually looking forward to going out the next night as well which seems to over power the hangover, must be all in the mind.

And house parties can be good, but im at that age where nobody has them and if they do they turn into a failure because about 20+ guys turn up ready to get smashed and sleaze and then about 4 girls turn up and most are taken or boring.

Prefer to get away from Aberdeen at new year, I was raring to go with Newcastle an' all!

I did go to Tenerife one year, was great every night apart from New years eve, everyone and his dog was out, the place was so rammed you struggled to get a drink.

There lies the problem with New Years eve. Town is mobbed, everywhere is expensive and the weather is usually shit. The best New Years are when you get a group of mates together and have a party at someones house.

Na, these happen by accident, not design, when you find yourself marracked and end up in a house full of complete radges, brilliant crack.

Anything choreographed is bound to be shit. Like when folk 'plan' a night in with chips and dips and all that shit. It's horrendous. Nobody can be arsed with it.

The best parties just come fae nowhere :dancin:

Im offshore as of 27th December so couldnt give a fuck aboot NY eve this year. Went to Carmelite last year for their function and it was a great night. Got a crackin deal on a room too so few couples we were with got rooms. First good time I'd had in aberdeen for New Year for a while. As has been said above, its all about Christmas to me.

New York for me this year. Was there for it in 2002/03 also, and was a great time. 29th Dec til 5th January. Be both of our 30ths when there too :beer:

Last 2 years were spent at the Douglas Hotel party, and it was an excellent night both times. Edinburgh is, IMO also good for New Year. Dublin was good, but expensive.

Never done Stonehaven fireballs but my family go down there and have a great time.

Guest PeePaw16

As it's coming up to that time again (early but trying to make plans), I was going to be going to Newcastle with mates for it but some folk can't afford it etc. and was wondering what places are decent to go to for two nights out Hogmany and the 1st, in Scotland?

We went to Glasgow two years ago, amazing time, then Edinburgh just this new year past and again another cracking time, but after folk backed out we were discussing last night about places to go in Scotland to keep it cheaper and less travelling. And beside Aberdeen (which there's no chance im staying here for new year, town (clubs) is bad enough every other weekend), Edinburgh and Glasgow we couldn't really think of anywhere else? Dundee came up but weren't really interested.

Anywhere else that folk have been too in Scotland outwith the main places thats good for nights out etc at this time of year?

posted more or less the same message in the 'new year' thread about a week ago:

what to do... looking for inspiration. would rather not spend another new year in aberdeen. but if i can't convince folk to leave (looking likely), then what decent options are here? house parties are good. town's not. sit-down do's are alright.

even sent out similar email suggestions to my mates - the likes of edinburgh and dundee (dundee united away on the 2nd).

quickly gave up though - that email turned into a discussion of pubs we go to every bloody weekend.

..f*** it, you up for just being mates??

• 4 weeks later...

New York for me this year. Was there for it in 2002/03 also, and was a great time. 29th Dec til 5th January. Be both of our 30ths when there too :beer:

Last 2 years were spent at the Douglas Hotel party, and it was an excellent night both times. Edinburgh is, IMO also good for New Year. Dublin was good, but expensive.

Never done Stonehaven fireballs but my family go down there and have a great time.

Are you planning on standing around Times Square waiting for the ball to drop?

Me and my wife are heading over for New Year as well - trying to figure out the best thing to do - standing out in cold weather with no toilets for 10 hours or so doesn't sound very appealing.

That being said I really can't wait to get over there again! :dance: