fine-n-dandy Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/2482802 Ok, now I'd rather we were going for more than one loan (maybe try for some that we do not have to pay wages also?) but it seems that with Gonzales's loan deal expiring, having Brown & Clangers battling over No.1 shirt will be enough (debatable yes but fair enough) so which position needs filled most for a decent loan signing now? I'd still say LM, a good attacking left midfielder is still the main weakness in our team. Other than that, a bloody proper out & out striker (ken a decent poacher like?) Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 I'd like to see Arnason and Osbourne tied down to deals before January to stop clubs sniffing about. Like to see a wide man, full back for cover, and maybe Mackie and Paton released/sold and a quality striker brought in to freshen it up... Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 a full back, wouldn't mind a left mid either. agree with deco though, 1st thing they should be doing is getting osbourne and arnason tied down to 3 year deals. Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 May revisited. Almost word for word Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 A winger, preferably left mid but would be a bonus if it was someone who could play on either flank. Obviously wouldn't be able to get the player i'm about to mention but someone like him. Player in question is Wayne Routledge. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 May revisited. Almost word for wordCorrect. Player for player we are probably a better team than we were at this stage last season. Just imagine how an out and out full back and a pacey winger would improve us even more. Living in hope Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 If we can't hold onto Gonzo till the end of the season I'd try to offload Mackie and Clangers in a straight swap for Paul Gallagher from Dunfermline. It's a worry that we could potentially be going into a critical stage of the season with a couple of keepers with very little game time under their belts. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 If we can't hold onto Gonzo till the end of the season I'd try to offload Mackie and Clangers in a straight swap for Paul Gallagher from Dunfermline. It's a worry that we could potentially be going into a critical stage of the season with a couple of keepers with very little game time under their belts.Oh,you can make sensible posts. Well done. Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 Oh,you can make sensible posts. Well done. wonder what primary school gallagher attended? Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 wonder what primary school gallagher attended? Mink hole in some council scheme in Glasgow i would imagine. Link to comment
paddy Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 Are these EPL loan(s) before or after the loans from Borussia Monchengladbach? Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 wonder what primary school gallagher attended? Now now... Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 Oh,you can make sensible posts. Well done. Thanks RAZOR....although I've just posted up a rant on the Lets all laugh at the huns thread....Broon got no abuse for a change Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 19, 2011 Share Posted October 19, 2011 Thanks RAZOR....although I've just posted up a rant on the Lets all laugh at the huns thread....Broon got no abuse for a changeCredit where its due bud Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 19, 2011 Author Share Posted October 19, 2011 Osbourne & Arnason are obviously a priority for getting signed up on extended deals before Jan & Brown HAS already said this & knows this but he's also spoken of the (in a round about way) Gonzales wage that will be available in Jan for another Premiership loan. Clangers as No.2 would be ok with me but is Brown good enough for No.1 shirt Pre contract offer for Dixon at Utd in Jan, then Shift Foster to RB for next season (or sell him) & hold on to the Midfield we have & we could have the makings of a semi decent team. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 I want a keeper that has a moustache. Moustached keepers are ace. Not Jamie Langfield though, he has rubbish a 'tache. Link to comment
Moorie86 Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 I want a keeper that has a moustache. Moustached keepers are ace. Not Jamie Langfield though, he has rubbish a 'tache.He has bum fluff What is Southall up to these days? Link to comment
ebbe Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 He has bum fluff What is Southall up to these days? to hell with neville southall, let's get sieb dykstra oot of retirement, thon boy owned the mowzer. Link to comment
Moorie86 Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 to hell with neville southall, let's get sieb dykstra oot of retirement, thon boy owned the mowzer. Almost Movember take your pick of mowzer cunts, do a better job than Clangers Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 The way Broon is always praising Mackie makes me thing we won't be releasing him in Jan. Winger and some loans but more importantly tie down Ozzy and Arnie asap!! Paton shouldn't come back Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted October 20, 2011 Share Posted October 20, 2011 The way Broon is always praising Mackie makes me thing we won't be releasing him in Jan. Winger and some loans but more importantly tie down Ozzy and Arnie asap!! Paton shouldn't come back Not unless he has a bitchin mo'tache. Word. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted January 4, 2012 Share Posted January 4, 2012 Has Brown forgotten about the possibility of loan deals?? Surely there are countless quality players down south looking to get some game time and so their parent clubs would willing to loan them out on the cheap?? Link to comment
Mouse Posted January 4, 2012 Share Posted January 4, 2012 Gonzales is poor - poor. his loss between the sticks will be a blessingKind of agree MT, didn't think he was anything special and definately not any better than Langfield. I'd like to see us bring in a winger, and Arnason signed up as many have said Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 4, 2012 Author Share Posted January 4, 2012 http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/2482802 Ok, now I'd rather we were going for more than one loan (maybe try for some that we do not have to pay wages also?) but it seems that with Gonzales's loan deal expiring, having Brown & Clangers battling over No.1 shirt will be enough (debatable yes but fair enough) so which position needs filled most for a decent loan signing now? I'd still say LM, a good attacking left midfielder is still the main weakness in our team. Other than that, a bloody proper out & out striker (ken a decent poacher like?) Osbourne & Arnason are obviously a priority for getting signed up on extended deals before Jan & Brown HAS already said this & knows this but he's also spoken of the (in a round about way) Gonzales wage that will be available in Jan for another Premiership loan. Clangers as No.2 would be ok with me but is Brown good enough for No.1 shirt Pre contract offer for Dixon at Utd in Jan, then Shift Foster to RB for next season (or sell him) & hold on to the Midfield we have & we could have the makings of a semi decent team. Gonzales is poor - poor. his loss between the sticks will be a blessing Kind of agree MT, didn't think he was anything special and definately not any better than Langfield. I'd like to see us bring in a winger, and Arnason signed up as many have said It appears you are under the impression that I wanted to keep Gonzales but I'm not sure how you got this idea from these two posts?I was merely wondering what position Brown would use the available wage for.& also I was questioning whether Brown was good enough to be our No.1 cos we knew nothing about him then & whether or not he was just another Clangers & would be another 1,2,1,2,1,2 battle like last seasons circus.In no way was I saying that Gonzales should be kept on. We need his wage!!!!!!! Link to comment
K-9 Posted January 4, 2012 Share Posted January 4, 2012 It appears you are under the impression that I wanted to keep Gonzales but I'm not sure how you got this idea from these two posts?I was merely wondering what position Brown would use the available wage for.& also I was questioning whether Brown was good enough to be our No.1 cos we knew nothing about him then & whether or not he was just another Clangers & would be another 1,2,1,2,1,2 battle like last seasons circus.In no way was I saying that Gonzales should be kept on. We need his wage!!!!!!!Broon already said it wont free up a wage as that was an extra exceptional circumstance wage for the term of the deal only. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted January 5, 2012 Share Posted January 5, 2012 Honestly don't think we should be looking at loans. We'll be able to limp across the line this season. Instead we should use this time to get pre-contracts signed up for next season and anyone that doesn't sign up by the end of January - that we want - for next season on should be regarded as (but not told) they're gone. No fucking around holding on for guys that are not signing up. I have no problem with them doing so, it makes sense for themselves, but I don't care about their well being over that of AFC. So... we have the team we currently have till the end of the season. If Arnason or Osbourne or whoever else sign up great. If not, get those pre-contracts sorted out now to replace them and strengthen the team next season. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted January 5, 2012 Share Posted January 5, 2012 I wait in anticipation of the EE's daily non-stories for all our transfer gossip. Brown does refuse to rule a lot out y'know Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 5, 2012 Share Posted January 5, 2012 No pressure on the board now that we have a couple of wins now, no players will be coming in as already over budget. Unless clubs are willing to pay a players wages and send him on loan up here for experience (but then would we not be better giving experience to our own players) Brown has been real lucky with injuries so far, cant think of any players who have had a spell on the side lines longer than two or three games. Which has also taken pressure off the board to invest. Would be incredibly stupid for the board not to allow brown to sign at least a full back and a wide midfielder. Unfortunately think we are going to have to make do with our lot and continue plodding away never actually getting anywhere. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted January 5, 2012 Share Posted January 5, 2012 Non Story of interest today in the EE is that Brown may be willing to sell our key players this window. I guess if they don't want to extend their deals it's a smart move to take the money for them now as long as we have decent replacements lined up to fill their boots and they are brough in THIS transfer window. Would prefer for Arnason, Ozzie and Vernon to stay though.... Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 5, 2012 Share Posted January 5, 2012 Yea, we'll continue to the end of the season going LLDWWLLDWLDLWWDD or something like that. And finish 7th or 8th. Happy days. Link to comment