Any Computer Geeks Here?

daytripping

None of my drives are working except C, I can't use my disk drive and even plug in pen drives are not working, any ideas?

Have tried searching google but couldn't find a cure.

Tried system restore, didn't work.

tia.

Oh dear. Just a thought but when you search in google make sure you are not being fooled into thinking you are googling when in fact you've been hit by the google redirect virus.

Seriously.

Bastard of a virus

I had the fucker and it took me ages to get rid of it. It also came with something else that wiped (or so I thought) all my files. It had simply turned them into hidden files.

Good luck.

i know nothing about Vista. so checked with a friend of mine who runs a tech support desk. he suggests the following:

- click the windows start button

- type disk management in the start/search box (DO NOT HIT ENTER)

- above that, click whatever shows (will say either disk management or create and format hard disk partitions)

- when disk management window opens, click actions, then click rescan disks

he said it should do the trick. good luck!

People with computer problems are a pain in the hoop.

Canna fix it 'emselves and then go running to a 'geek'. Non self-sufficient, yet disrespectful, cunts.

Anyway, I digress...

How to fix this:

I'd suggest baking it in the oven on a low heat in about an inch of water for 2-3 hours. Afterwards, remove the cover and whack the heat up to gas mark 7 for the last 40 mins to crisp it up. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. Maybe some mustard.

If that doesn't sort it then it's probably the motherboard.

Check to see if any capacitors have sagged. If you can find one that has then a little bit of castor sugar and a lemon squeezed over the top works wonders.

Good luck!

People with computer problems are a pain in the hoop.

Canna fix it 'emselves and then go running to a 'geek'. Non self-sufficient, yet disrespectful, cunts.

Anyway, I digress...

How to fix this:

I'd suggest baking it in the oven on a low heat in about an inch of water for 2-3 hours. Afterwards, remove the cover and whack the heat up to gas mark 7 for the last 40 mins to crisp it up. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. Maybe some mustard.

If that doesn't sort it then it's probably the motherboard.

Check to see if any capacitors have sagged. If you can find one that has then a little bit of castor sugar and a lemon squeezed over the top works wonders.

Good luck!

I was going to suggest deleting all the USB controllers manually, then restarting twice so the box auto-detects the ports.

The guy on second line support has gone way too technical for me, then his mic cut out, how tight should I have the belt round my neck and are you sure I should only have my finger up to the second knuckle in my anus? He seemed unsure.

Apologies. That would be Terrence you were speaking to? Guy is a cunt when he has to work Sundays. Bit of a knob around our partitioned out, soul destroying and hopeless office as well and not as smart as he likes to make out. Well known cocaine fiend though, because at second line you earn are on slightly better wages than the asians and can pretend to snort some coke (speed). It's called 'second line' because you could only barely afford one.

Onyways... I have a phone number for a guy in the UK who will sort ye out if you are prepared to resort to prostitution.

Think about it... It's probably easier...

You've hit the techy nerd jackpot here dayts min, these lads love nothing better than dropping into DOS of an evening, they could sort you out in seconds if they wanted to.

Get 'Bebo' to remotely connect to your computer and he can give us all a detailed list of the utter filth your machine is choked with diagnostic on this interesting technical conundrum.

Best of British to you in your quest chief.

I'm going to make a few assumptions...

You're on a desktop, your mouse and keyboard are USB, your mouse and keyboard are still working and it's only storage devices that aren't being recognised via usb

Is that correct?

Kelt, it's a laptop, the only usb that does work is the wireless thing for the mouse, it works in all the usb ports but those same ports don't recognise pen drives. As previously stated the disk drive is also not working, tried a cleaning disk etc.

LGIR,

I'll give your suggestion a go when i get home, thanks!

Kelt, it's a laptop, the only usb that does work is the wireless thing for the mouse, it works in all the usb ports but those same ports don't recognise pen drives. As previously stated the disk drive is also not working, tried a cleaning disk etc.

Sounds like your PC has a little cock rot, nothing serious, might even be malware.

By Disk Drive you mean DVD Drive, aye? Is the DVD drive showing up when you look in the My Computer dialogue box (Start>My Computer)?

If it's not showing up, go Start>Control Panel>Hardware & Sound >View Hardware & Devices and look at what's in the DVD-CD Rom Drives tab.

If there's a little yellow triangle then you either need to redetect the drive or reinstall the driver. Personally I'd delete the drive (Right Click on device> Uninstall) then reboot twice... it should detect the hardware and reinstall the device driver upon startup. If that works then try the same for the USB controllers.

Sounds like your PC has a little cock rot, nothing serious, might even be malware.

By Disk Drive you mean DVD Drive, aye? Is the DVD drive showing up when you look in the My Computer dialogue box (Start>My Computer)?

If it's not showing up, go Start>Control Panel>Hardware & Sound >View Hardware & Devices and look at what's in the DVD-CD Rom Drives tab.

If there's a little yellow triangle then you either need to redetect the drive or reinstall the driver. Personally I'd delete the drive (Right Click on device> Uninstall) then reboot twice... it should detect the hardware and reinstall the device driver upon startup. If that works then try the same for the USB controllers.

Hope this works...Ke1t sounds like Daytripping has been on some questionable sites to pick this up (Daytripping mind and not take the laptop doon to PC World...that's how GG got regally fu*ked)....It will be a virus for sure...I picked up a cu*t of a one here in Baku...but that's a different story...Daytripping be careful...don't on any account take the thing near P.C. World....if it's fuc*ed bin it and start again....there will be something that they can flag you up for if you take it to PCW....but I think you know this already??