barassie_afc Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 The missus best friend is a pilot, and she made me aware of a petition she is involved in, via BALPA about changes to pilots flying hours, I kinda dismissed it, then saw this http://fullfact.org/factchecks/pilots_asleep_in_cockpit-3129 Worrying 56% admitting to a wee snooze, that is before the proposed EU directive is implemented as per this e-petition, food for thought http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/16050 Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 If it keeps the fares doon I'm nae too worried if Biggles has a wee nap. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted November 18, 2011 Author Share Posted November 18, 2011 If it keeps the fares doon I'm nae too worried if Biggles has a wee nap. aye you will when crash, saying that most these big jets these days are auto pilot ? Link to comment
Redstar Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 aye you will when crash, saying that most these big jets these days are auto pilot ? I would think so...once they get up to altitude it would be pretty much cruise control and auto guidance until they start their descent Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 aye you will when crash, saying that most these big jets these days are auto pilot ? Even more reason to keep their wages to hours worked ratio doon. Lazy cunts. Half of them work part time in Tie Rack too. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 I'm led to believe that the actual, hands on, flying time of a commercial pilot is somewhat less than 10 minutes per flight. Yeah, poor dears.... Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 Way to save even more cash. Dual role pilot for take off and landing. Then come out and be a trolley dolly in between while plane is on auto. Hope Rynair are not reading this. Link to comment
Jones Posted November 18, 2011 Share Posted November 18, 2011 I suppose it depends on exactly what an unplanned nap is? I know from speaking to a commercial airline pilot that sleeping in shifts is standard. Link to comment
Monkey Posted November 20, 2011 Share Posted November 20, 2011 aye you will when crash, saying that most these big jets these days are auto pilot ?Or you get a situation like with the Air France crash where the pilots weren't trained in what to do when the plane stalled and the auto pilot turned itself off. Link to comment