Ke1t Posted November 20, 2011 Share Posted November 20, 2011 There's no doubt that everything is shit nowadays, except for video games and the internet, football's worse, telly's worse, music's worse, kids are worse, you cannae even drink a beer in the street now, and I heard a bunch of Well supporters got thrown out of the fitba for standing up and singing.... jesus fucking wept. But the one thing about the 80s, early to mid in particular, was the "Chances are you're all going to die pretty much" adverts that used to come on telly any time the Russkies and the Yanks upped the ante.... in the form of 'Public Information Announcements' you'd be watching Tiswas quite happily, cut to commercial break, and on comes the dude who did all the voiceovers... "When you hear this terrifying sound, you and your family must seek refuge under a flimsy B&Q table, and spend the last few minutes of your existence weeping, screaming and begging your gods for mercy. You're ALL going to die." This was accompanied by a poorly drawn cartoon representation of nuclear explosions and people running around with their hair on fire. Growing up under the looming threat of all out nuclear war was a right laugh... and those fucking adverts still scare the shit out of me today. And what in the hell was the sinister music at 2:14 for.... that's nothing less than an attempt to make you even more scared. That's not the sort of music that anything pleasant happens to.... you're not going to see footage of a kid cuddling a puppy to that fucking music. If anything it's the kind of music you see dogs eating human corpses to. Fuck me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=5oVWUAbREq0 EDIT: Vids no showing up... Fixat! Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 20, 2011 Share Posted November 20, 2011 I don't remember the videos but remember hearing the warning sounds as I grew up beside an RAF base. They must have been training. Thank god I didn't see the videos, freaky as fuck and trying to explain the Cold War to me, aged 5 would have been a bit of a challenge. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted November 20, 2011 Share Posted November 20, 2011 I don't think I ever worried about the yanks or the USSR at that time. Was too busy playing fitba and trying to get a stinky finger. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 20, 2011 Share Posted November 20, 2011 I was more scared of Grotbags. Aye tell me about it. Her side kick Croc was an annoying twat though. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 There's no doubt that everything is shit nowadays, except for video games and the internet, football's worse, telly's worse, music's worse, kids are worse, you cannae even drink a beer in the street now, and I heard a bunch of Well supporters got thrown out of the fitba for standing up and singing.... jesus fucking wept. But the one thing about the 80s, early to mid in particular, was the "Chances are you're all going to die pretty much" adverts that used to come on telly any time the Russkies and the Yanks upped the ante.... in the form of 'Public Information Announcements' you'd be watching Tiswas quite happily, cut to commercial break, and on comes the dude who did all the voiceovers... "When you hear this terrifying sound, you and your family must seek refuge under a flimsy B&Q table, and spend the last few minutes of your existence weeping, screaming and begging your gods for mercy. You're ALL going to die." This was accompanied by a poorly drawn cartoon representation of nuclear explosions and people running around with their hair on fire. Growing up under the looming threat of all out nuclear war was a right laugh... and those fucking adverts still scare the shit out of me today. And what in the hell was the sinister music at 2:14 for.... that's nothing less than an attempt to make you even more scared. That's not the sort of music that anything pleasant happens to.... you're not going to see footage of a kid cuddling a puppy to that fucking music. If anything it's the kind of music you see dogs eating human corpses to. Fuck me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=5oVWUAbREq0 EDIT: Vids no showing up... Fixat! Utter shite, These were never shown in the public domain... FACT Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 21, 2011 Author Share Posted November 21, 2011 Actually, you might be right. EDIT... I wonder if they were shown in school or on some TV show. I know I've seen them way before Youtube came about... There's also an older series of Public Information ads about nuclear attacks.... Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Actually, you might be right.EDIT... I wonder if they were shown in school or on some TV show. I know I've seen them way before Youtube came about... There's also an older series of Public Information ads about nuclear attacks.... Aye Ke1t,your right there was an older series of public info films in the 60"s aptly named "duck and cover",but the "Protect and Survive" series were completely classified and were only going to be shown on all TV channels on a loop,if nuclearattack was immiment withing 48/72 hours,there was pressure from CND groups in the early 80"s to releasethem to the public,giving them vital necessary information but the goverment decided not to,as,they would of probablyled to mass panic,and complete civil breakdown,there was a Panorama programme on the BBC which dealt with the whole films on in the 80"s,maybe you saw them on there,or you can try and track down on the net,the fantastic BBC docudrama film called "Threads",the voiceover and some the the films were used in its production,its bleak and harrowing,superb film of what life was like under the nuclear threat,here is a 8 minute clip of it from You Tube....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RN8-VP810aA Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 That is quality! The woman pissing herself, Ruth being a twat, the boy with his love birds. I know its not supposed to be comedy gold but the acting was so bad it was good. Scary stuff all the same. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 It was scary being an 80s child. Mozzer wrote songs about 'the bomb'. It was a time filled with fear and every day could easily be the end. Link to comment
Ando Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 It was scary being an 80s child. Mozzer wrote songs about 'the bomb'. It was a time filled with fear and every day could easily be the end. Too right, every day in the '80s I woke up terrified that I'd end up getting involved in a frisbee-related electrocution incident at an electricity sub-station Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Too right, every day in the '80s I woke up terrified that I'd end up getting involved in a frisbee-related electrocution incident at an electricity sub-station Now I remember those adverts on the TV. Kids flying through the air then lying dead having been electrocuted by thousands and thousands of volts as they flew their kite that bit too close. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Too right, every day in the '80s I woke up terrified that I'd end up getting involved in a frisbee-related electrocution incident at an electricity sub-station Sod off Ando! It was scary! I still have vivid dreams that I mind perfectly well. My dreams were like an extreme version of Star Wars with radiation poisoning thrown in for good measure. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOYidBZlF9I I blame the girl, fucking bitch. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uT_wwkCoBL8&feature=related She tried to warn him this time though Link to comment
robbo Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 they still come on at stupid oclock in the morning. this one is frequently on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1misuu1P2U as is this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBc02FPSvXc that firefly one in particular scared the every loving piss out of me when i was 7ish. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOYidBZlF9I I blame the girl, fucking bitch. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uT_wwkCoBL8&feature=related She tried to warn him this time though I had forgotten all about that. What a silly boy. Avoid electricity sub-stations kids. Link to comment
tainboy Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 I mind one night I was around 12 year old at exactly 03:12 (just after watching the very early days of adult channel free 10 minutes on the hour every hour) the siren in Tain went off. To say I packed it would be an understatement of the "here, Greece it's your round get them in" magnitude. Turns out it was a test but I didn't sleep that night waiting to be burned to a crisp like Sarah Connor at a swing park. Also recall those adverts. Serious nightmare stuff as a young un. And to think we used to have a game to see who could jump from one wall of the substation (power boxes locally) onto the top and across to the other wall. And there was a massive communal tv aerial up by "the swings" that was maybe 80' high. Used to climb that too. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 I mind one night I was around 12 year old at exactly 03:12 (just after watching the very early days of adult channel free 10 minutes on the hour every hour) the siren in Tain went off. To say I packed it would be an understatement of the "here, Greece it's your round get them in" magnitude. Turns out it was a test but I didn't sleep that night waiting to be burned to a crisp like Sarah Connor at a swing park. Also recall those adverts. Serious nightmare stuff as a young un. And to think we used to have a game to see who could jump from one wall of the substation (power boxes locally) onto the top and across to the other wall. And there was a massive communal tv aerial up by "the swings" that was maybe 80' high. Used to climb that too. We used to just chuck massive bricks at them. POW! haha! Link to comment
Ando Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Sod off Ando! It was scary! I still have vivid dreams that I mind perfectly well. My dreams were like an extreme version of Star Wars with radiation poisoning thrown in for good measure. ...and they wonder why we all ended up as mad slavering pill-popping ravers in the '90s Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 ...and they wonder why we all ended up as mad slavering pill-popping ravers in the '90s Fair point. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vb00H6mCTM8&feature=related Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Christ that Threads film, even for a guy born outside the Cold War, scares the shit out of me. The last 3 months I've been obsessed about nuclear war and realizing how screwed my house would be (in between Broch and Peterhead, as they would both be nuked, and the house is in all the fire zones and blown-tae-fuck zones). It's the biggest paranoia in my heid atm... besides nae being laid in 2 years! If the Tain incident as described above happened to me at this moment, the shite would flow out of me at at least Warp Factor 6. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Christ that Threads film, even for a guy born outside the Cold War, scares the shit out of me. The last 3 months I've been obsessed about nuclear war and realizing how screwed my house would be (in between Broch and Peterhead, as they would both be nuked, and the house is in all the fire zones and blown-tae-fuck zones). It's the biggest paranoia in my heid atm... besides nae being laid in 2 years! If the Tain incident as described above happened to me at this moment, the shite would flow out of me at at least Warp Factor 6. Fucking hell, calm down. What did you think was happening when the fighter jets did practice bombings at Rosehearty? Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Fucking hell, calm down. What did you think was happening when the fighter jets did practice bombings at Rosehearty? Never heard of them until now. When was this going on like? Still do them? I fancy going for a gander Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 http://www.secretscotland.org.uk/index.php/Secrets/RoseheartyBombingRange Long gone, you missed out! Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 http://www.secretscotland.org.uk/index.php/Secrets/RoseheartyBombingRange Long gone, you missed out! Explains why I never heard of them. Was only 7-8 in 2000. Link to comment
Bobby Connor Posted November 21, 2011 Share Posted November 21, 2011 Explains why I never heard of them. Was only 7-8 in 2000. Bairn! Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted November 22, 2011 Share Posted November 22, 2011 It's the biggest paranoia in my heid atm... besides nae being laid in 2 years! What the fuck is going on here? Its a forum full of folk choking to get their hole. <---No one will tell lads. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted November 22, 2011 Share Posted November 22, 2011 Well at least we know where the voiceover for Frankie Goes to Hollywood's Two Tribes comes from now.... Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted November 22, 2011 Share Posted November 22, 2011 The Prodigy used to do the music for public announcement broadcastings before they were famous. -- The Cold War was not at all funny. I too remember a childhood, safe in the knowledge that as I lived only 7 or 8 miles from the Nimrod base at Kinloss, I wouldn't have to worry about surviving an attack - which was, strangely by worst fear. I think the movie DEFCON5 might have had something to do with that - disconcerting viewing at 11. Anyone else remember it? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted November 22, 2011 Author Share Posted November 22, 2011 The Prodigy used to do the music for public announcement broadcastings before they were famous. -- The Cold War was not at all funny. I too remember a childhood, safe in the knowledge that as I lived only 7 or 8 miles from the Nimrod base at Kinloss, I wouldn't have to worry about surviving an attack - which was, strangely by worst fear. I think the movie DEFCON5 might have had something to do with that - disconcerting viewing at 11. Anyone else remember it? Vaguely remember films like Threads and The Day After, and there was another British film called, I think, Year of the Yeti.. all of which were depressing as shit and I don't think I made it through a whole movie. Then there were things like massive headlines like "3 SECONDS FROM WAR!" Which told how computer fuck ups had British and Soviet aircraft being scrambled in preparation for hostilities. And in retrospect, what's even scarier, is all the times we very nearly DID go to war but weren't told. There's the story of the Russian guy, sitting in his command post, watching what were, to all intents and purposes, the blips from American nuclear missiles crawling across his radar, and rather than escalate this to his superiors he kept quiet about it, not believing that there really was an attack under way. So rather than begin the process for a Soviet launch, he sat it out. In '95, Yeltsin sat with his nuclear briefcase wondering whether or not to order a counterstrike when a missile was launched, he believed, at Russia. Turned out it was some Noggie research missile, and fortunately Yeltsin was sober and not in a bad mood. Link to comment