New Puppy

DD1903

The mrs and I have just bought ourselves a spaniel pup. He's a cracking wee thing. She's lived around dogs all her life, but I'm new to owning a dog!

Anyone got any hints or tips in how to bring up the wee fella successfully? Particularly toilet training - taking him out every couple of hours but having mixed success!

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The mrs and I have just bought ourselves a spaniel pup. He's a cracking wee thing. She's lived around dogs all her life, but I'm new to owning a dog!

Anyone got any hints or tips in how to bring up the wee fella successfully? Particularly toilet training - taking him out every couple of hours but having mixed success!

congratulations!

pictures? :)

A Spaniel? Are you mental?

Those things are constantly coked up to the eyeballs. Boundless energy.

My advice is the same with any dog. They need and appreciate consistent rules. You should never need to strike your dog. Be firm and in control and spend a little bit of time training it every day.

Good luck with it, but a Spaniel. Fuck...

Enjoy!

Newspaper at one specific place in the house so he knows where

to head when he's needin.

Praise him up when he manages to do it on paper, it comes naturally to many.

Next Week : how to get your dog to fetch you a beer from the fridge.

Enjoy!

Aye. Put the newspaper by the door to the garden so he gets the hang of where he needs to go. I would use a Daily Record.

If its a dog you've got then you have to assert your authority from day 1 especially if you're going to let him keep his nuts.

If its a bitch then lifes a bit easier, they will do what they are told a lot easier.