vanderark14 Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2011/dec/12/dundee-teenagers-jailed-riots-facebook thoughts? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 I said on another thread sentences like these will act as a deterrent in the future. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 Not harsh at all.Maybe teach them & their mates & the type a lesson. Same as anyone caught carrying a knife (unless for work) should be punished as if they are intent on using it. Automatic minimum sentence for it & record dictates if it should be longer. Link to comment
zander Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 Hopefully this a start of some real cleansing of the streets obviously Dundees an easier place to start. Link to comment
paulkaneatemyhamster Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 In regards to what they've done ? No. not at all Compared to what you do get in jail for other crimes ? It's very harsh. Perhaps its the other crimes you should get longerin the pokey for . Link to comment
granite sheep Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 Seen the pictures of them on the news, both just look a pair o real thickos. Get it right up them, jute minks. And the sentence is fair enough, inciting riots although in Dundee, that's pretty much a typical slow Tuesday night... Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 So if I started a Facebook page saying get that Linsay Lohan room ti mine so I can pummel her whether she likes it or not and 200 folk like it should I get done with thinking about getting folk to hold down Lohan while I give her a fair pummelin with ma wee tadger? on a more serious tip... if I start a Facebook page before a organised peaceful protest saying if it happens then we kettle the kettlers should I get done for inciting violence against the police? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 I'm all for freedom of speech, but the maxim holds... "Freedom of speech doesn't allow you to shout "FIRE!" in a crowded theatre." People could get hurt as a result. What they did was pretty dumb, in the way that most teenagers do dumb shit. 3 years, however, is ridiculous. I mean, if it could be demonstrated that the messages posted by these dipshits actually contributed to injury or damage to property then fair enough. But I'm going to guess that no such demonstration was made. They need to appeal what is clearly a 'Send a message' sentence. Link to comment
daytripping Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 Hardly the stuff worthy of a prison sentence let alone 3 years, those sentences have ruined 2 young people and their families. fuck you see rapists get 4 to 6 these days yet posting what was obviously a joke gets them 3 years. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 Not sure about this. I think jails need to be kept for violent offenders - murderers, rapists, etc. We need tougher sentences for these kind of criminals not teenagers being stupid. I suppose they will be in Polmont for their sentence and away from the most hardend of criminals. Perhaps they will get a chance to reform? But they will still have the opportunity to sit in their cells all day, every day if they so wish. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted December 12, 2011 Share Posted December 12, 2011 if the twats had put this facebook page up over a year ago. i doubt anyone would've noticed. Link to comment
minijc Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Absolute pish, 3 years for that when some boy who stabbed someone also gets 3 years? 'Justice' system here is an absolute joke. Link to comment
actonsheep Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 I'm all for freedom of speech, but the maxim holds... "Freedom of speech doesn't allow you to shout "FIRE!" in a crowded theatre." People could get hurt as a result. What they did was pretty dumb, in the way that most teenagers do dumb shit. 3 years, however, is ridiculous. I mean, if it could be demonstrated that the messages posted by these dipshits actually contributed to injury or damage to property then fair enough. But I'm going to guess that no such demonstration was made. They need to appeal what is clearly a 'Send a message' sentence. Great post. Its clearly political sentencing. Although its unlikely an appeal would succeed, the two jailed immediately after the riots for the same crime have already tried, and their sentences were confirmed. A Scottish court might be more forthcoming though, especially as there wasn't a state of riot occuring in Scotland at the time. There was also a 3rd case but thats slighty different in that the daft cunt actually turned up, only to get his collar felt, he got 4 years. It certainly seems a precedent is being set. Seems we have to keep the joke death threats for prime time TV instead of Facebook. How dull. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 I think the sentence is extremely harsh, The local smack head, breaking and entering, stealing grannys purse, assaulting to feed there need is lucky to get a jail sentence, yet a bit of bravado online results in 3 years. Ouch. sare een. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 13, 2011 Author Share Posted December 13, 2011 I think the sentence is extremely harsh, The local smack head, breaking and entering, stealing grannys purse, assaulting to feed there need is lucky to get a jail sentence, yet a bit of bravado online results in 3 years. Ouch. sare een. have to agree with this. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Not quite trial by media, but sentencing by media. If ever there was a case for a suspended sentence, this is it. You've been daft - just don't do anything stupid. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 It's ridiculous to be honest. I've read some amount of things on Facebook which are worse than that to be honest. Jailed for that? Hahahahaha. Unbelievable. So the next time you threaten to glass, our banned maniac psycho, you might end up doing some bird... Link to comment
tup Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Don't worry lads, AFC Chat base their servers in America. We can incite riots on here no bother. Anyone fancy killing some 'daftys'? Link to comment
centraldon Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Quote from the sheriff This is one of the worst breaches of the peace that I have ever had to deal with. Really??? In Dundee??? Updating FB is as bad as it gets??? You're having a laugh. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 To be fair to the judge, handing out a 3 year sentence to a couple of Jutes at least means they have some decent accommodation for the next while. A sentence of compassion you could say. Link to comment
tup Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Obvious difference being you dinna have to display your real name and a picture of your coupon on here. Link to comment
tup Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 That's me in my picture, and I'm like Romario - I only have one name. You're 24? Hard paper round? Link to comment
tup Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Magic ones judging by the nick of you in that photo. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 That's me in my picture, and I'm like Romario - I only have one name. The same one name that Rom Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 That's me in my picture, and I'm like Romario - I only have one name. You've got two accounts on here as it is. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 He's known simply as 'Romario' but if we get technical I have 2 names: RoboRoberto So I have 2 names I guess. If we're going to be throwing around accusations like this, I technically have 4 accounts on here. . I use 3 of them regularly. Roberto, muttondressedaslamb and looksgoodinred? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 He's known simply as 'Romario' but if we get technical I have 2 names: RoboRoberto So I have 2 names I guess. If we're going to be throwing around accusations like this, I technically have 4 accounts on here. . I use 3 of them regularly. Technically? Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 Hypothetically?Metaphorically?Potentially? Is this a gameally? Anyways, I have 3 accounts and MDAL and LGIR isn't 2 of them. I won't reveal. I did have 5, but EbbesSandals was deleted Fatshaft and redstar then. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted December 13, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted December 13, 2011 Absolute pish, 3 years for that when some boy who stabbed someone also gets 3 years? 'Justice' system here is an absolute joke. He should get 10 years. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted December 13, 2011 Share Posted December 13, 2011 hey! LGIR is me, dammit! :-( Link to comment