Old Wing Stand Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Barcelona 2-0 up against Al Sadd both goals scored by Adriano live on ESPN, winner plays Santos in Sundays final Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 http://www.firstrowsports.tv/watch/97860/1/watch-al-sadd-sc-vs-fc-barcelona.html Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted December 15, 2011 Author Share Posted December 15, 2011 3-0 Keita great pass from Messi Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted December 15, 2011 Author Share Posted December 15, 2011 Finished 4-0 Maxwell with the last goal, David Villa suffers broken leg so transfer speculation will be on hold for a while Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Irrelevant competition, glorified friendlies, FIFA vanity project, nobody gives a fuck. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Irrelevant competition, glorified friendlies, FIFA vanity project, nobody gives a fuck. then don't comment on it Link to comment
Monkey Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Irrelevant competition, glorified friendlies, FIFA vanity project, nobody gives a fuck.Was having a similar discussion recently about the Cup Winners Cup being a mickey mouse meaningless trophy. Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Was having a similar discussion recently about the Cup Winners Cup being a mickey mouse meaningless trophy. It was in it's latter years, when teams started playing 2nd string sides for cup games. Not when we won it though, cups were a serious business then, and it was better than the UEFA cup at that stage Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Irrelevant competition, glorified friendlies, FIFA vanity project, nobody gives a fuck. Yip, more hassle than it is worth, and with David Villa fracturing his tibba bone today, and will be out for several months... Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Yip, more hassle than it is worth, and with David Villa fracturing his tibba bone today, and will be out for several months... At Christmas too. I'm wondering how him and his family will cope. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 At Christmas too. I'm wondering how him and his family will cope. there wont be much duncin Link to comment
Nespa Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Yip, more hassle than it is worth, and with David Villa fracturing his tibba bone today, and will be out for several months... Tevez to replace him? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 It was in it's latter years, when teams started playing 2nd string sides for cup games. Not when we won it though, cups were a serious business then, and it was better than the UEFA cup at that stage good backtracking. ah the good old days. i really hope that man united, so used to champions league the past 15 years, can add a bit of prestige and kudos to the uefa cup. been a while since a club of their stature has competed in it. would be a nice trophy for fergie to win and complete his personal haul of euro baubles but alas i feel that money i.e. league postitions will dictate that 3 points on the sunday take preference. step fwd macheda, pogba and morrisson. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 I think this a lot about some of Tups comments. He likes a say in everything, strange given he says he 'doesn't give a fuck' - but comments anyways, so it tells me he clearly gives a fuck. i remember he didnt give a fcuk about the champions leage and english clubs then predicted that schalke were favourites to beat man united last season. he also didnt give a fcuk about spurs and opredicted hearts would beat them. mental. absolutley bloody mental. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 good backtracking. ah the good old days. i really hope that man united, so used to champions league the past 15 years, can add a bit of prestige and kudos to the uefa cup. been a while since a club of their stature has competed in it. would be a nice trophy for fergie to win and complete his personal haul of euro baubles but alas i feel that money i.e. league postitions will dictate that 3 points on the sunday take preference. step fwd macheda, pogba and morrisson. Bayern, Juve, AC Milan & Aberdeen have all played in it recently Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Bayern, Juve, AC Milan & Aberdeen have all played in it recently ok.let me rephrase it then. when was the last time a team who reached 3 out of 4 european cup finals competed in it then?i.e. a team regularly used to genuinely (unlike juve, ac and batyern) competing for the more prestigious competition Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Have AC Milan not won the European Cup more often than Man United? Two to one, rendering your post nonsensical. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 ok.let me rephrase it then. when was the last time a team who reached 3 out of 4 european cup finals competed in it then?i.e. a team regularly used to genuinely (unlike juve, ac and batyern) competing for the more prestigious competition what you really mean is, when was the last time man utd played in it. plenty prestigious clubs have played in it and they generally don't give a fuck about it. Link to comment
K-9 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 what you really mean is, when was the last time man utd played in it. plenty prestigious clubs have played in it and they generally don't give a fuck about it.Come the end of January it could be the only trophy left for United to win this season!! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 what you really mean is, when was the last time man utd played in it. plenty prestigious clubs have played in it and they generally don't give a fuck about it. no. lets say then when was the last time barcalona played in it? the best teams over the past 5/6 seasons have been man united and barca. for a team that good and consistnetly successful to be playing in the uefa cup is hopefully a boost to the reputation of the competition. sadly i fear that united will not take it very serioulsy. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Come the end of January it could be the only trophy left for United to win this season!! IMO they should go for it. Fergie hasn't won it before so he might as well give it a go but I doubt many will see it the same way. It a shame that any tournament is devalued because of money. back on topic, Barca and Santos final. It will no doubt be labelled Messi v Neymar Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Have AC Milan not won the European Cup more often than Man United? Two to one, rendering your post nonsensical. you nae reading all the posts? if you did you may have grapsed the point. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Did Bayern not reach the European cup final the year after they played in the UEFA cup?AC Milan played in it having won the European Cup 3(?) years previous and playing in 3 finals in 6/7 years? 2 vs Liverpool, 1 vs. Juventus. Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 It would be good if Santos won, seeing as it's Christmas. Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 i.e. a team regularly used to genuinely (unlike juve, ac and batyern) competing for the more prestigious competition No just this bit, which is bollocks. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 No just this bit, which is bollocks. sorry, can you please enlighten me on ac milans RECENT european cup success, besides their 2007 win? i'd be very interested to see how they have performed and what makes them currently such a big attraction in european football (when compared to the recently more successful man united and barcalona)? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 sorry, can you please enlighten me on ac milans RECENT european cup success, besides their 2007 win? i'd be very interested to see how they have performed and what makes them currently such a big attraction in european football (when compared to the recently more successful man united and barcalona)? bluto apart from trying to wank yourself in to a frenzy aboot man utd what exactly is it you are trying to say? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 Did Bayern not reach the European cup final the year after they played in the UEFA cup?AC Milan played in it having won the European Cup 3(?) years previous and playing in 3 finals in 6/7 years? 2 vs Liverpool, 1 vs. Juventus. fair point dynamo, but i was really meaning the past handful of years. i know ac milans OVERALL pedigree is huge of course but not so much success post kaka and post liverpool. that was why i thought man united's (default) entry to the uefa cup is unusual and more importantly hopefully a shot in the arm to a sadly ailing competition. Link to comment
tup Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 sorry, can you please enlighten me on ac milans RECENT european cup success, besides their 2007 win? i'd be very interested to see how they have performed and what makes them currently such a big attraction in european football (when compared to the recently more successful man united and barcalona)? The 2007 win was the Champions League. Less lustre to it since football was ruined by the G14. When it was the European Cup, as you referenced, Milan won it twice, two years running, whilst United won it once, in 19-oatcake. Milan have won the Champions League 3 times, again more than United. Glad to have cleared that up for you, pre-1993 I ken, anything else you need to know just ask. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 15, 2011 Share Posted December 15, 2011 fair point dynamo, but i was really meaning the past handful of years. i know ac milans OVERALL pedigree is huge of course but not so much success post kaka and post liverpool. that was why i thought man united's (default) entry to the uefa cup is unusual and more importantly hopefully a shot in the arm to a sadly ailing competition. It's very rare that a team will compete at the top in Europe for more than 5/6 years. Peaks and troughs. Their time will come again. Milan had 3 finals in 5 seasons - Juve (2003), Liverpool, Liverpool.Man United have had 3 finals in 4 seasons. Chelsea (2008), Barca, Barca.Barcelona have had 3 finals in 6 seasons - Arsenal (2006), Man United, Man United.Real Madrid hve 3 finals in 4 season - Juventus (1998), Valencia, Bayer Leverkusen. Link to comment