Three Dee Telly

Ke1t

In the market for a new telly, but not sure about this whole three dimensions thing. Wearing goggles to watch telly seems like a pain in the arse, especially when coupled with my inability to keep track of where I even put the remote. 150 bucks for a pair of goggles seems a bit much to me, especially when there's three of us will need a pair, minimum... Kind of looking for convincing for or against the whole 3DTV thing.

I've seen shit come and go, Lazerdisc, Betamax, HD-DVD, Philips 2000, Paul Squires, all came along and ripped shit up, only to fade away without a trace... particularly Paul Squires.

My gut feeling is that 3DTV is the Paul Squires of the 2010's... sure, it's a little bit different, but ultimately you're going to get bored with the prick 5 minutes into its routine. It's worse than Paul Squires, in fact, because it didn't cost 150 bucks a pop to watch the twat.

Anyway... I'm not getting 3DTV, fuck that faddy shit with his pish jokes and annoying fucking voice.

Thanks for your help.

Fuck You 3DTV

paul-squire2.jpg

I just can't see 3D being anything more than a fad. Its a gimmick for the tv companies to sell to people with excess money to burn. Watching TV with specs on just seems ludicrous to me.

I can see some form of 3D projection in the future.....like in star wars......that would be awesome. Especially porn vids.

I just can't see 3D being anything more than a fad. Its a gimmick for the tv companies to sell to people with excess money to burn. Watching TV with specs on just seems ludicrous to me.

I can so some form of 3D projection in the future.....like in star wars......that would be awesome. Especially porn vids.

I would subscribe to that!

Just get ursel a led backlit tv. I have a 1080p LCD one but when been in people's homes with an led the color and brightness from them is amazing!

Got an LED recently and the black levels are definitely better. LCDs look washed out in comparison.

Not seen a 3DTV in action but would not be up for wearing 2 sets of specs to see my TV!

i got a 3d telly from best buy closing down sale, only cos they were same price as backlight led. picture quality good but no tried 3d as am not paying sky for it. will try a couple of dvd's and report back.

having said that if there is a Best Buy shop in Aberdeen get doon there quick cos they close for good on the 15 jan

One-eyed people need not bother with 3D TV , two good eyes are a pre-requisite.

I have sight in both eyes but one iris has refused to open and shut since birth. It is required to open and shut with increasing and diminishing amounts of light. This may have affected my appreciation of 3D.....because I am underwhelmed.

W are told it's the future but then business interests are always telling us what is good for us.....and we are addicted to the next 'big thing'.

Let me say that I used to get as much enjoyment out of listening to music on a windup gramophone as I do today on a Sonos Play:5.....it's about the emotional experience , not the sophistication of the gadgetry.

'twas ever thus.

And thus shalt it be with TV.

I bought myself a 46" Samsung LED 3D Smart TV in October and absolutely love it. The depth to the 3D, especially in the sport stadia (tennis and rugby particularly) is stunning. I have no problem looking like a pleb for a couple of hours while watching a match or a film, as the other 2 in the house are either watching with me and also all looking like plebs together, or know I'm a pleb anyway. It definitely enhances my viewing enjoyment.

'Twas one of THESE I purchased incidentally, a Samsung UE46D6530.

In the market for a new tv myself just now. Have a 42" Samsung Plasma which is 6 years old and isn't even HD. It's served its purpose well but definately time for an upgrade. Funny thing is it cost £1500 when i bought it.

42" is a good size for my lounge so want to stick to that. Not sure whether to get another Plasma or LCD or LED. The thing i like about Plasma's is the picture seems better with 600Hz but i did notice that the tv Ollie bought was 400Hz which is high for a LCD/LED.

This is what I'm close to buying plasma If I buy it before midnight on the 8th of Jan you get 75% of this blu ray player Meh and 2 free pairs of 3D glasses specs That means i get all that for £782.99 when the tv on its own is £759.99

On the subjects of TV, I have a Samsung Flat Tv and the sound is atrocious, varying between to loud and to low, there appears to be no happy medium, keep meaning to look into it but never have, is this a known complaint about Samsungs or have I been sold a duffer?

for 3d tvs to work they are going to have to make them with back boxes again.... on 'something for the weekend' a while back the gadget woman reckoned that tv companies will be making tvs with back boxes again so that to watch 3d we wont need the goggles..... my sister has a 3d and ive watched boxing and the chumps league final on it... boxing was excellent... football is only good when the camera being broadcasted from is a pitch side one

imo 3d should be left for the cinema, cartoon and action type movies!!

On the subjects of TV, I have a Samsung Flat Tv and the sound is atrocious, varying between to loud and to low, there appears to be no happy medium, keep meaning to look into it but never have, is this a known complaint about Samsungs or have I been sold a duffer?

My old Samsung LCD sound was a bit like that but our living room is nae huge so wasn't really a problem. The sound on the new one is just fine though. In saying that, I'm looking to purchase a soundbar for underneath just to enhance it a bit when watching films and playing music.

Can anyone recommend a decent mid range one?

Was in tesco on my way home and checked out one of these fad TV's. Not for me at all... weird as fuck, the only way i could see it working is if you got a TV that was 200" or larger.

Ma got a new LED a few months ago when her 10 month old LCD packed in. The picture quality is immense, she doesn't like the TV though (didn't pick it, came as warranty replacement) so I have my name on it :) She's out looking at new TV's at the mo, looking forward to mounting the 50" bad boy in the next week or two.

I'm prob talking shite but aren't half the "3D" tellies (the ones you need the pricey active specs for) effectively normal tellies but with the refresh split between the two "3D" images? As opposed to the ones where it's cheaper polerising specs you use(dinna get me wrong fairly sure it'll be fucking expensive for the set itself).

Anyways my right eye is fucked so doesn't work for me anyway.

I think you can get 'active' 3D and 'passive' 3D. One needs the special glasses (active, I think) and the other just uses the ones you got if you went the the cinema to see a 3D film.

I watched the Gadget Show a few weeks ago and they said that the next thing coming maybe late this year on in 2013 is 3D television that you don't need glasses to view, probabaly the same idea as the Nintendo 3DS. If this is the case I'll hold off till then!

Agree about the picture quality of LED though, I'm very much in the camp of the Plasma ones but my mate has an 42 Inch LG LED and the picture quality in HD was superb.

3D

Glasses Free 3D