Big Man Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 Apple have discovered a problem with the battery in the 1st gen ipod nanos and recalling them and replacing them. Unconfirmed rumours that they are replacing them with backstock of 5th gen nanos. Apparently the battery can overheat causing danger. Ive got one somewhere gathering dust, might be worth a punt. Read more here: http://www.apple.com...no_replacement/ Link to comment
csdonz Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 Sent my 4GB 1st Gen Nano away to them at the end of november, couple of days ago received an 8GB 6th Gen Nano (Newest version). Its Tiny! Got an iPhone already so just using it for my ipod dock in my room like i did for my 1st gen one. Not sure if its actually brand new, defo looks like it is but they don't include an actual box or cables and earphones, literally just the ipod in a plastic sleeve... Link to comment
Big Man Posted January 7, 2012 Author Share Posted January 7, 2012 Nice one. Im gonna get on this straight away. Link to comment
Big Man Posted January 7, 2012 Author Share Posted January 7, 2012 Just got off the phone with apple - it appears i do have an affected model. The boy doesn't know what i'll get as a replacement though. Different folk have been getting different things apparently. Hopefully get a brand new one... Link to comment
csdonz Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 Just got off the phone with apple - it appears i do have an affected model. The boy doesn't know what i'll get as a replacement though. Different folk have been getting different things apparently. Hopefully get a brand new one... Can do it all online mate but at least its done now, takes up to 6 weeks to replace once they receive your ipod. Been hearing that all the backed up 1st gen refurbished stock has been issued out so now everyone is getting 6th Gen 8GB ones. Top Class customer service from Apple! Link to comment
HamiltonRed1903 Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 What one is the 1st gen? Link to comment
Big Man Posted January 7, 2012 Author Share Posted January 7, 2012 What one is the 1st gen? Link to comment
HamiltonRed1903 Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 Ah! Not the one I was thinking about. Link to comment
minijc Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 Think my dad has two of these, will have to look further in to this. Link to comment
tup Posted January 7, 2012 Share Posted January 7, 2012 The one thing they do not sell in Apple stores? Apples. You couldna make it up, they are busy making big bucks using fruit insignia, but do apples benefit? Do they fuck! An I-pod a day keeps the doctor away? Hardly. Link to comment
red_army1985 Posted January 8, 2012 Share Posted January 8, 2012 i'll be checking mine, i'm sure its 1st gen, knowing my luck i'll get one of those diddy things that are about the same size as a Link to comment
tup Posted January 8, 2012 Share Posted January 8, 2012 You're quite right. I went into Currys yesterday and asked for a Chicken Tikka Masala. The halfwits just looked at me as if I was stupid. I dinna ken what the big connection with IT and fruit is. Orange make mobiles, so do fucking Apple. You get fucking Blackberries, jesus h, show a bit of imagination FFS. Mind you technical folk could be described as 'fruits' so I suppose there's that loose correlation. I use my mobile phone for phoning folk, and the odd text. I've no idea what the fuck else it does. I dinna care. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 http://www.apple.com/support/ipodnano_replacement/ Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I have an 80g 1st gen nano I think.Black plastic front with silver metal back, hope it's the right one. I'll nip into the shop to check the morn or tue Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I have an 80g 1st gen nano I think. No you don't. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 No you don't. Same as this http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=ipod+1st+gen+nano&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=ycY&sa=X&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&biw=1680&bih=916&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=SOaAfbUaXeUhZM:&imgrefurl=http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2009/01/apple-agrees-to-settlement-for-first-gen-ipod-nano-scratches.ars&docid=bRS3fAf8SJCUBM&imgurl=http://static.arstechnica.net/nano_scratch.jpg&w=449&h=478&ei=mMcKT5fRNNCz8QOQxNCuAQ&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=1423&vpy=136&dur=13099&hovh=232&hovw=218&tx=131&ty=166&sig=117964386237879064396&page=1&tbnh=146&tbnw=134&start=0&ndsp=44&ved=1t:429,r:9,s:0 maybe it's not 1st but it's 2006 cos it says on back & the description is as I said but just not whether it's 1st or 2nd or what Black plastic front, silver metal back & 80g from 2006 Maybe this is the classic though???? http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/220730654837?var=lv<yp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar Check the price of a couple of them nearly £800 Link to comment