daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Had Northsound on coming into work this morning and they were discussing resolutions, the DJ'S sidekick said she was on a diet and the DJ was tempting her with things to eat, one of which was a Buttery/rowie! A woman then called in and said there was more fat in one buttery than there is in two fish suppers! Surely that can't be right, I have 2 butteries for my mid morning break most days, does that mean I'd be healthier eating 3 fish suppers every morning. Regards, Confused fae Bucksburn. Can anyone put my mind at ease. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Not sure if that's true but they are full of fat. I couldn't give a fuck though as they taste amazing. Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Aye i have seen them being made, theres not a more fattening food on the go. Used to have about 5 or 6 a week before i found out how they were made. Heart attack in a white bag. Link to comment
Liam Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 i heard there is about 2000 calories in a buttery Who cares though, they are still fine as fuck. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 i don't know if the ones i make are as fattening as what you've eaten.. but they have a half-pound of butter (roughly 1,600 calories), and another third of a pound or so of lard (another 1,200 or so calories). in what works out to about a dozen rowies. that's a lot of fat :-( Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 150g of lard and 250g of butter. Think theres also sugar yeast and water Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 Aye, I heard the same thing. I didn't believe it to be honest - but hey, you never know. Greigsy is a pleb though. His jokes are terrible. The bird who's on the show with him needs to go on a diet, and she has a face for the radio! The girl sounds so hot, I always imagined her to be a young blonde model type.........till I googled her one day. She isn't bad but not what I expected. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 what i love about butteries (and other thing slike cornish pasties) is that theres history to them. canna beat fine food that has a wee story to tell. Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 the only thing that differentiates the rowie from a butter croissant is the shape.... the amount of butter (i.e. more of it in a rowie)....oh...and the fact that the rowie is also pumped full of lard aswell, just for good measure Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 what i love about butteries (and other thing slike cornish pasties) is that theres history to them. canna beat fine food that has a wee story to tell. Aye i think they were originally made for the fishermen as its the only thing that would keep for that length of time at sea. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Rowies are ace. Bad for you, but a North East delicacy. As for Northsound If I listen to a local station it's Original. Northsound go to Glasgow after a certain time, weegie cants. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Aye i think they were originally made for the fishermen as its the only thing that would keep for that length of time at sea. exactamundo. just liek the locals miners in deon/cornwall who got their share of main meal and desert in equal measure from their pasty. many other examples of food that has evolved to meet its local needs Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Did you watch the same prog as me? Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 Rowies are ace. Bad for you, but a North East delicacy. As for Northsound If I listen to a local station it's Original. Northsound go to Glasgow after a certain time, weegie cants. The in demand in the evenings is great when they switch to Glasgow, Romeo fae Glasgow on the decks, the people who phone in are hilarious..........aye can ah get a wee tune for my girlfriend Chardonnay, am jist hinging aboot in ma motor........ Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Did you watch the same prog as me? fit program was that? these fact are trotted out all the time on programs like coast, great british this, blah balh. Link to comment
phoenix Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Butteries were designed to have a high calorific value. First used at sea by fishermen , they were supposed to be an efficient means of taking nutrition( energy ) away to sea for days at a time. Long before the obesity epidemic like. What goes in , must come out( or on ). Link to comment
Stoney Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 i canna mind fitivir my mum was watching between half 4 and 5 on STV on day :thumbs: Link to comment
daytripping Posted January 9, 2012 Author Share Posted January 9, 2012 At least on the bright side we can all dig into fish suppers knowing they're actually quite a healthy option. Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Rowies are ace. Bad for you, but a North East delicacy. As for Northsound If I listen to a local station it's Original. Northsound go to Glasgow after a certain time, weegie cants.But also adored down south too. Whenever i travel down to see my uncle in Rochdale, he always asks if i can bring down a heap of rowies for him and his neighbours. They fucking love them down in Guffland Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 But also adored down south too. Whenever i travel down to see my uncle in Rochdale, he always asks if i can bring down a heap of rowies for him and his neighbours. They fucking love them down in Guffland I have relatives in Motherwell that used to ask us to take a few dozen down when we visited. I took some on holiday to Cyprus and had with a cup of tea by the pool, wonder if any "real" (nae supermarket shite) rowie has been eaten further afield? Link to comment
dervish Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Apparently about 300 calories in one, no idea what that means though. Think a man is allowed 2500 a day. So one is 12% of your daily intake... but who the fuck only eats one at a time? Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Apparently about 300 calories in one, no idea what that means though. Think a man is allowed 2500 a day. So one is 12% of your daily intake... but who the fuck only eats one at a time?Nae me anyway. Has to be 2 Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Apparently about 300 calories in one, no idea what that means though. Think a man is allowed 2500 a day. So one is 12% of your daily intake... but who the fuck only eats one at a time? sounds about right. except about 230 of those calories are coming from fat (76%).. not so good. Link to comment
OddJob Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 I've taken a bag of six down to India once. The bag was see through by the time we tucked into them. Indians fucking hated them. They fucking hate all food that isn't Indian though. Except shortbread.Fuck them Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Had Northsound on coming into work this morning and they were discussing resolutions, the DJ'S sidekick said she was on a diet and the DJ was tempting her with things to eat, one of which was a Buttery/rowie! A woman then called in and said there was more fat in one buttery than there is in two fish suppers! Surely that can't be right, I have 2 butteries for my mid morning break most days, does that mean I'd be healthier eating 3 fish suppers every morning. Regards, Confused fae Bucksburn. Can anyone put my mind at ease. The average fish supper has about 600 caloriesThe average butterie has about 300 calories Conclusion, the caller was a fat cow who can't count calories. A fish supper also has less fat than a bigmac and chips and a lot less than a whopper and chips. Thats why yanks are fatter than us... Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 The average fish supper has about 600 caloriesThe average butterie has about 300 calories Conclusion, the caller was a fat cow who can't count calories. but she wasn't talking calories, only fat. there's a lot of fish in a fish supper too.. but how much fat? Link to comment
zander Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Fuck them Exactly we eat their curry with no bother, aboot time them cunts started buying our rowies. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 but she wasn't talking calories, only fat. there's a lot of fish in a fish supper too.. but how much fat? Theres about 15g of fat in a buttery before its cooked so you'll probably be looking at around 10g once they are cooked. There's about 9.5g of fat in every 100g of a fish supper. A haddock far Mike's is 250g minimum so I'm reaching the same conclusion as above, fat fuck without a clue. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted January 9, 2012 Share Posted January 9, 2012 Theres about 15g of fat in a buttery before its cooked so you'll probably be looking at around 10g once they are cooked. There's about 9.5g of fat in every 100g of a fish supper. A haddock far Mike's is 250g minimum so I'm reaching the same conclusion as above, fat fuck without a clue. well, i'm away to bake some rowies then! Link to comment