jessisgod Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Now that me and the Mrs have visited all the drinking establishments in the toon we are starting on the shire - we have done a fair few already but the shire is a big place Anyone know of any off the beaten track that we might miss not being local? Anyone from Peterheid or the Broch or anywhere else with more than 2 pubs that can give a definitive list?! Cheers loons (and quines) Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Now that me and the Mrs have visited all the drinking establishments in the toon we are starting on the shire - we have done a fair few already but the shire is a big place Anyone know of any off the beaten track that we might miss not being local? Anyone from Peterheid or the Broch or anywhere else with more than 2 pubs that can give a definitive list?! Cheers loons (and quines) i've got a fair few beer books and some of them have pubs recommendations. check out the great/good beer guide 2012 or whatever its called by camera. basically a list of decent boozers all up and down the country. but not a list os yates', chains', themed or irish pubs. more real ale drinking ones. pubs for folk with cardigans, pipes and dogs. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Now that me and the Mrs have visited all the drinking establishments in the toon we are starting on the shire - we have done a fair few already but the shire is a big place Anyone know of any off the beaten track that we might miss not being local? Anyone from Peterheid or the Broch or anywhere else with more than 2 pubs that can give a definitive list?! Cheers loons (and quines) You got a list of ones in the town? Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 the garlogie inn or the red star in skene! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Now that me and the Mrs have visited all the drinking establishments in the toon we are starting on the shire - we have done a fair few already but the shire is a big place Anyone know of any off the beaten track that we might miss not being local? Anyone from Peterheid or the Broch or anywhere else with more than 2 pubs that can give a definitive list?! Cheers loons (and quines) Come up past your username's hometown and into the The Station Hotel. Avoid The Boyne in the same town though. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Now that me and the Mrs have visited all the drinking establishments in the toon we are starting on the shire - we have done a fair few already but the shire is a big place Anyone know of any off the beaten track that we might miss not being local? Anyone from Peterheid or the Broch or anywhere else with more than 2 pubs that can give a definitive list?! Cheers loons (and quines)So do you just want a list of all the pubs in peterhead? I shall include hotels.The Clerkhill innThe TavernThe GrangeThe fitba clubThe sandsThe MayfairThe StationAlbert HotelThe west endThe GranadaThe vodka barThe star wars cantina (caley bar)The WaverleyBailliesThe harbour lightsThe Palace HotelMambosThe Cross Keys That is all I can be arsed typing just now. Link to comment
jessisgod Posted January 25, 2012 Author Share Posted January 25, 2012 You got a list of ones in the town? We have a spreadsheet Come up past your username's hometown and into the The Station Hotel. Avoid The Boyne in the same town though. Is the Boyne the one that has a whiff of Hun about it? So do you just want a list of all the pubs in peterhead? I shall include hotels.The Clerkhill innThe TavernThe GrangeThe fitba clubThe sandsThe MayfairThe StationAlbert HotelThe west endThe GranadaThe vodka barThe star wars cantina (caley bar)The WaverleyBailliesThe harbour lightsThe Palace HotelMambosThe Cross Keys That is all I can be arsed typing just now.[/quoteCheers Coopy - that's a fair few. Is there a lot of travelling if you were to do them all? Any we need prewarned about? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 We have a spreadsheet Is the Boyne the one that has a whiff of Hun about it? Yes it is. Although if a Hun game is on The Station can also have a few in. Owner is a die hard red though and a good egg to boot. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 We have a spreadsheet Nice, see if you can copy and paste it on here, see how many I've been to! Link to comment
zander Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 Broch you have theElizabeathen- Sells a lot of Brewdog stuff (?)Bellslea Bar - Next to the Fitba ground seems a pit of a pool hall type jointShip Inn- Busy enough place doon the harbourBalaclava- Early drinking den doon the harbourCheers- Nae gay like one in toon, wins a lot of awards since its been done up, although iv not been in since.Kenyan- Nae ideaCrown- A standard old pubOak- Nae sure if its still open or even called that.George n Dragon- Heard two poofs own it now so suspect. All sort of town centre. Maybe worth trying a few places on the way out.Ellon. Bridge Bar, Tollbooth, New InnMintlaw. Garret,Pitfour,Shack. Few country pubs round Mintlaw. Stuartfield,New Deer,Maud,Fetterangus etc Link to comment
zander Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 We have a spreadsheet Is the Boyne the one that has a whiff of Hun about it? So do you just want a list of all the pubs in peterhead? I shall include hotels.The Clerkhill innThe TavernThe GrangeThe fitba clubThe sandsThe MayfairThe StationAlbert HotelThe west endThe GranadaThe vodka barThe star wars cantina (caley bar)The WaverleyBailliesThe harbour lightsThe Palace HotelMambosThe Cross Keys That is all I can be arsed typing just now.Cheers Coopy - that's a fair few. Is there a lot of travelling if you were to do them all? Any we need prewarned about? All are decent enough but few have their share of riff raff, Star Wars, Harbour Lights, The creel which isn't mentioned. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 the garlogie inn or the red star in skene!Now that's just stupid, the bar was the size of a kennel before they turned it into a restaurant, that is in no way a pub. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 All are decent enough but few have their share of riff raff, Star Wars, Harbour Lights, The creel which isn't mentioned.Harbour l;ights is alright. The only one that is really dodgy in my experience is the caley bar. I clean forgot about the creel. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted January 25, 2012 Share Posted January 25, 2012 All are decent enough but few have their share of riff raff, Star Wars, Harbour Lights, The creel which isn't mentioned. The Grange is full of nob ends.Been in the Caley a few times and it's ok. Link to comment
jessisgod Posted January 26, 2012 Author Share Posted January 26, 2012 Nice, see if you can copy and paste it on here, see how many I've been to! I don't know how any suggestions?? Broch you have theElizabeathen- Sells a lot of Brewdog stuff (?)Bellslea Bar - Next to the Fitba ground seems a pit of a pool hall type jointShip Inn- Busy enough place doon the harbourBalaclava- Early drinking den doon the harbourCheers- Nae gay like one in toon, wins a lot of awards since its been done up, although iv not been in since.Kenyan- Nae ideaCrown- A standard old pubOak- Nae sure if its still open or even called that.George n Dragon- Heard two poofs own it now so suspect. All sort of town centre. Maybe worth trying a few places on the way out.Ellon. Bridge Bar, Tollbooth, New InnMintlaw. Garret,Pitfour,Shack. Few country pubs round Mintlaw. Stuartfield,New Deer,Maud,Fetterangus etc Now there's a boy that's been about - cheers min :party: The Grange is full of nob ends.Been in the Caley a few times and it's ok. Aye, we found this in Aberdeen. Sometimes the ones people suggested you avoid were the best, sometimes the ither way around. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted January 26, 2012 Share Posted January 26, 2012 What Aberdeenshire pubs are furthest north, sooth, east and west? Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted January 26, 2012 Share Posted January 26, 2012 I'd also be interested in seeing the list of Toon pubs if you can post it on here :drink: :party: Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 26, 2012 Share Posted January 26, 2012 What Aberdeenshire pubs are furthest north, sooth, east and west? The Shore Inn in Portsoy must be in with a shout for the North. It isn't though. Latitude of The Shore Inn is approx 57.68. Rosehearty has 57.70 so the pub closest to the sea in Rosehearty if there is one is the North Winner. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 26, 2012 Share Posted January 26, 2012 This link will help you in your quest though. Latlon Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted January 26, 2012 Share Posted January 26, 2012 I'm starting off a bar crawl the morn's night at the Masada. I ken toon pubs like the back of my hand but does anyone had any unusal suggestions where we could go? Nae Cheers Bar Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 Start off at the Craigmile, then the Northern Lights in Fintry, head to the een in Kinmuck, then choose to either head to Newmacher direction or head for Kintore then Inverurie direction. Link to comment
jessisgod Posted January 27, 2012 Author Share Posted January 27, 2012 I'd also be interested in seeing the list of Toon pubs if you can post it on here :drink: :party: Apparently I am not permitted to put up that kind of file... Link to comment
jessisgod Posted January 27, 2012 Author Share Posted January 27, 2012 This is a bit of a rough and ready copy and paste job: Hen Hoose524 Cocktail BarAbbottAbercrombieAbergeldieAitchies Ale HouseAlbynAnchorageArchibald SimpsonAthenaeumAtticus AppleBabylonBalaclavaBank BarBankhead InnBar 524Bar 99Bells BarBelmont BarBelugaBieldside Inn / BielderBlack DogBlacksBlue LampBobbinBrew DogBridge BarBrig InnBrig o DeeBrig of DonBroadhillBroadstraikBroadswordBuckie FarmBudz BarButchers ArmsCafe BohemeCafe DagCaledon BarCampbellsCarlton BarCastle BarCellar 35Central BarCharactersCheersClare'sCloverleafCocket HatCollegeCoopersCoopersCopper BeechCove BayCriterion/Frank McDougalls Sports BarCroft TavernCrownCrown & AnchorCults Hotel / DenCutters WharfDizzy'sDon ViewDouble TwoDr DrakesDrakesDrummondsDukes DenDuskDutch MillEast NeukEating Inn?Egg & DartEllingtons Bar / Northern HotelEnigmaFerryhill HouseFerryhill TavernFilthy McNastysFittie BarFive MileForumFoundationFoundryFountainFour MileFrigateGas LampGrays InnGilcomston Glenlivet BarGlentanarGlobeGolden TeeGrampian BarGrays InnGreentreesGrillHawthorn / Adam LoungeHayloftHenry's Highland HotelHolburnHowffHyplokIci'sIllicit StillInn at the ParkJerone & JeroneJumpin Jacks / Chicago RockJustice MillKings BarKirkgate BarKittybrewster BarKorovaLangdykesLochside BarLord ByronLorne BarMa CameronsMaggie MansellsMains of ScotstownMalt MillMarket BarMasadaMcGintys Meat & AleMimMither TapMolly MalonesMonkey HouseMoonlight Wine BarMooringsMotown Soul BarMurdosNeptuneNo 10 TavernNo1 Bar BrasserieNoose & MonkeyNorthern BarO' Donoghue'sO'NeilsOfficeOld Kings HighwayOld School HouseOrchidPalm CourtParamountParkvale Social ClubParkway InnPearlPearl LoungePeep PeepsPittodrie BarPloughmanPortalsPrince of WalesPrivate EyesProhibitionQuarterdeckQueen VicRabbies BarRed Lion / BeastieRegent BridgeRevolutionRicky FlynnsRosemount BarRowan TreeRoyals BarRusty NailSaltoun ArmsSchoonerScotiaScott's BarShelly Leighs / Charlotte BarShort MileSimpsonsSinatras Music BarSlainsSnuggerySoulSpiders WebSpirit LevelSt Andrews BarSt ClementsSt JuglergarSt MacharStaging PostStar & GarterThe BassmentThe RigThistle BarThree LumsTiger TigerTilted WigTipping Hatter?Tollbooth?TonikTower Bar?Triple KirksUnder the HammerVictoria Bar (Rats Cellar)Vodka BarWaterfront BarWaterwheel InnWhite CockadeWhite Horse BarWild BoarWilsons BarWoodend BarWordiesSanctuary Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 The Shore Inn in Portsoy must be in with a shout for the North. It isn't though. Latitude of The Shore Inn is approx 57.68. Rosehearty has 57.70 so the pub closest to the sea in Rosehearty if there is one is the North Winner.Bay Hotel is the nearest to the sea in Rosehearty, but along the road in Sandhaven The Ark and The Pittendrum are right next to the beach Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 The Grange is full of nob ends.Been in the Caley a few times and it's ok.Yes I will bite. The grange is a good pub hence the reason I drink in there, caley bar is full o junkies, alchies and knife weilding maniacs. No one I know would venture into that hole and I would honestly advise you not to as well. Sort of place where one wrong look could result in a stabbing. The rest I listed are all fine for a pint with varying degrees of degenerates in them. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 Yes I will bite. The grange is a good pub hence the reason I drink in there, caley bar is full o junkies, alchies and knife weilding maniacs. No one I know would venture into that hole and I would honestly advise you not to as well. Sort of place where one wrong look could result in a stabbing. The rest I listed are all fine for a pint with varying degrees of degenerates in them. Caley is that the one now called Hennings ? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 This link will help you in your quest though. Latlon I think its;Bay Hotel Rosehearty NorthRamsay Arms Fettercairn South East and West to go. Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 I think its;Bay Hotel Rosehearty NorthRamsay Arms Fettercairn South East and West to go. East could possibly be The Tufted Duck Hotel in St Combs Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 Bay Hotel is the nearest to the sea in Rosehearty, but along the road in Sandhaven The Ark and The Pittendrum are right next to the beach It's The Bay that wins. Sandhaven slightly more South. East could possibly be The Tufted Duck Hotel in St Combs No. Peterhead pub will win this one unless Boddam has a shore side pub. Braemar would be favourite location for West I'd say. Link to comment
tup Posted January 27, 2012 Share Posted January 27, 2012 Wordies My favourite place for a pint. Link to comment