a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 Bright clear skies, sunny day 15 minutes before I left work. A weather alert gets sent out as I'm out the door and this is 10 minutes later. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WofQlJ450U8 Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 Bright clear skies, sunny day 15 minutes before I left work. A weather alert gets sent out as I'm out the door and this is 10 minutes later. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WofQlJ450U8 Should ye really be daein that while driving in bad weather? Looks like a pleasant summer's day ower here Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 It's ok, I was only driving at 30-40k so... whats that in old money, 20mph? But yeah no chance to take a longer video. Later on at a junction on that main road with another main road it was under about 4-6 inches of pretty swiftly moving water... totally mental. 6 lanes of traffic sending up waves into each other. It's the kind of rain, the big drops that you get soaked through in about half a second out in it. A long drive home after that snippet with all the slow water logged bits. That was also at 3:45 or so, so still about 3 and a bit hours of daylight, not that you'd tell. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 It's ok, I was only driving at 30-40k so... whats that in old money, 20mph? But yeah no chance to take a longer video. Later on at a junction on that main road with another main road it was under about 4-6 inches of pretty swiftly moving water... totally mental. 6 lanes of traffic sending up waves into each other. It's the kind of rain, the big drops that you get soaked through in about half a second out in it. A long drive home after that snippet with all the slow water logged bits. That was also at 3:45 or so, so still about 3 and a bit hours of daylight, not that you'd tell. Aye, eh drove through rain like that in Florida once. Hadnae a clue where the road was, just followed the car in front of me fae a distance. If he went in a ditch, eh'd have followed. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 Normally driving here is piss easy. Compared to the snow and fog and ice and the rest of it in NE Scotland, even the rain here is normally not that bad. Sure it can be heavy at times but you get on with it. But then there are days like today where you either - like you say - follow the lights in front and hope for the best, or pull over and wait it out. Though when I did that last year during the floods a bloody tree snapped and crashed down inches from the bonnet. So maybe safer to just keep doing. :confused: Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 You get some pretty crazy weather over there in queensland! It seems like Queensland is always on the news out here either, counting the cost of some mental flood, or braceing yourselves for the next tropical storm! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 Yeah the weather has been quite extreme in the time I've been here both ways. We were pretty much weeks from entirely running out of water here in 2007 after 5 years of drought... and we're now sitting with several massive floods in 3 years (inc the SE corner going under last year). Devil or deep blue sea. Link to comment
scotfree Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 A few years ago we got 600mils of rain in 6 hours. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OeFkF_nYhWc Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 Insane... "more than a third of the average ANNUAL rain fall in 6 hours" And as an aside, I'm guessing you had that screwed up emergency alarm broadcast shit happening around then. I *hated* that last year. Makes me sick hearing it now in fact. As a further aside, Anna Bligh has aged dramatically in the intervening 4 year... poltiics and floods and cyclones not best for the health. Were you flooded back then scotfree? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 You move to a semi-tropical country and moan about the weather? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 You move to a semi-tropical country and moan about the weather? Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 8, 2012 Author Share Posted February 8, 2012 http://video.news.co...ng-Flood-Rescue Video of some dude getting swept up in the flash flooding that hit today from that rain about 5 minutes from my house. You'd think with the people being swept away by the flood water this last week or two - or even last year here in Brisbane - that people would steer clear of that kind of water eh? In fact one women died from pretty much that. Taken away in a flood into a stormwater drain and drowned. Couldn't be saved even with others there. Link to comment
scotfree Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 Insane... "more than a third of the average ANNUAL rain fall in 6 hours" And as an aside, I'm guessing you had that screwed up emergency alarm broadcast shit happening around then. I *hated* that last year. Makes me sick hearing it now in fact. As a further aside, Anna Bligh has aged dramatically in the intervening 4 year... poltiics and floods and cyclones not best for the health. Were you flooded back then scotfree?Aye mate i was. I live on a hill but the water ran down the side of my house and came through the air vents.I got up and found out my carpet was swimming. Not a good feeling.Had a lot of work though after it as i'm a Tiler. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 8, 2012 Share Posted February 8, 2012 You move to a semi-tropical country and moan about the weather? I think moaning about the weather is just a British obsession. It's been so fucking hot here for about the last month, that I've even had the odd whinge! I've had to give myself a good shake on occasion - my main gripe with living in the UK was always the bitter winter and the non-existant summer weather! Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 9, 2012 Author Share Posted February 9, 2012 Only here for the woman. The climate here is balls. MUCH prefer the weather in the UK, rain, sleet, gales, snow 'n' all. And that's pish, scotfree. Not a good feeling at all. Fuck this flood shit. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 9, 2012 Share Posted February 9, 2012 Only here for the woman. The climate here is balls. MUCH prefer the weather in the UK, rain, sleet, gales, snow 'n' all. And that's pish, scotfree. Not a good feeling at all. Fuck this flood shit. I wouldn't fancy the climate in Queensland either! You can't beat Perth for weather though.... it's a mediterranean climate. Spot on! Link to comment