BrianFaePerth Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 WTF Hmm, gie them this and the fuckers will go on strike at Seaworld if they didnae get enough fish tae eat. Where would it end, poofy dolphins being allowed to marry each other? 1 Link to comment
Patty Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Let the Dolphins themselves vote if they want the same rights as humans. Then we'll see how fucking smart they are!!! Link to comment
fifered Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 WTF Hmm, gie them this and the fuckers will go on strike at Seaworld if they didnae get enough fish tae eat. Where would it end, poofy dolphins being allowed to marry each other?Mind seeing a similar debate on tv one time about apes getting 'human' rights. Some folk really need to gie themselves a shake. We'd just get all the foreign dolphins coming over here taking advantage of our benefits and NHS. Link to comment
thedandydon Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 'Mon the Dolphins! :thumbs: Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Do female dolphins take it up the blow hole? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Last dolphin to win Mastemind? Cliver my erse. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Hard to gauge if a dolphin's smart or not. Their environment is hardly conducive to the creation of even a basic civilization, their physiology likewise. You can't start a fire underwater (generally) and even if they could, dolphins have no fucking hands to hold aloft a flaming torch and go, "Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!" Like Schwarzenegger in Predator. And in the scheme of starting your own civilization those are two pretty fucking spectacular drawbacks. * So they could be smart, but just imagine if our own environment 1 million years ago had been as hostile to developing a civilization as an aquatic environment is, or if we lacked opposable thumbs. No way you're taking down a sabretooth if you can't hold a spear. Even eating would be a pain in the arse.... you'd have to eat like a squirrel, with your food clasped between two thumbless hands. We wouldn't even have made the stone age. Walking around Detroit, I doubt there's many residents of that fine city who could so much as figure out how to jump through a hoop, let alone swim backwards or leap ten feet into the air and grab a fish on a pole. So, in that respect, Dolphins are probably smarter than some humans, and definitely more versatile. So, personally, I reckon dolphins could be a fuck sight more intelligent than humans... they just fucked up when it comes to your starting point and their evolutionary path. They developed streamlined bodies and the ability to swim underwater... humans took the route of least resistance, grew kick-ass thumbs, started burning shit to the ground, started wiping out anyone who even looked like a slight threat, like Neanderthal and Homo Habilis, fuck those guys trying to steal our jobs and hunt our women or what the fuck ever... and BOOM! A fucking civilization.... meanwhile dolphins are stuck in the water, realising they've SERIOUSLY fucked up, because they can't even hold a rock to cave in a shark's skull. Dolphins are in the water looking helplessly at their ultimately useless flippers, then to the shore where dudes are just building a civilisation like a fucking BOSS, and the dolphins are all like, "FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!" A million years down the line and we're pulling the bastards up in tuna nets and selling them to the Japanese.. the Japanese who'll eat practically fucking anything if it was dragged out of the sea in a tuna net... ...so, yeah, maybe dolphins made a couple of spectacularly bad evolutionary decisions early on, and maybe they're paying for it now, but they might not be a whole lot less intelligent than us. They're just the result of bad planning on the part of their ancestors. So that's what I think. * Not being able to start a fire, and not having hands... those are the drawbacks, not the inability to hold aloft a flaming torch and go, "Aaaaaaaaaaaaaah" like Schwarzenegger in Predator. That's not a prerequisite to creating a civilisation. ** ** Though it couldn't hurt. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Kelt you should really channel your energies into writing a book. I feel as though you are wasted here. Link to comment
dervish Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 WTF Hmm, gie them this and the fuckers will go on strike at Seaworld if they didnae get enough fish tae eat. Where would it end, poofy dolphins being allowed to marry each other? Ohh aye how far do the Friends of Union Terrace Gardens have to go to get a vote on their side... Link to comment
dervish Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Hard to gauge if a dolphin's smart or not. Their environment is hardly conducive to the creation of even a basic civilization, their physiology likewise. You can't start a fire underwater (generally) and even if they could, dolphins have no fucking hands to hold aloft a flaming torch and go, "Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!" Like Schwarzenegger in Predator. And in the scheme of starting your own civilization those are two pretty fucking spectacular drawbacks. * So they could be smart, but just imagine if our own environment 1 million years ago had been as hostile to developing a civilization as an aquatic environment is, or if we lacked opposable thumbs. No way you're taking down a sabretooth if you can't hold a spear. Even eating would be a pain in the arse.... you'd have to eat like a squirrel, with your food clasped between two thumbless hands. We wouldn't even have made the stone age. Walking around Detroit, I doubt there's many residents of that fine city who could so much as figure out how to jump through a hoop, let alone swim backwards or leap ten feet into the air and grab a fish on a pole. So, in that respect, Dolphins are probably smarter than some humans, and definitely more versatile. So, personally, I reckon dolphins could be a fuck sight more intelligent than humans... they just fucked up when it comes to your starting point and their evolutionary path. They developed streamlined bodies and the ability to swim underwater... humans took the route of least resistance, grew kick-ass thumbs, started burning shit to the ground, started wiping out anyone who even looked like a slight threat, like Neanderthal and Homo Habilis, fuck those guys trying to steal our jobs and hunt our women or what the fuck ever... and BOOM! A fucking civilization.... meanwhile dolphins are stuck in the water, realising they've SERIOUSLY fucked up, because they can't even hold a rock to cave in a shark's skull. Dolphins are in the water looking helplessly at their ultimately useless flippers, then to the shore where dudes are just building a civilisation like a fucking BOSS, and the dolphins are all like, "FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!" A million years down the line and we're pulling the bastards up in tuna nets and selling them to the Japanese.. the Japanese who'll eat practically fucking anything if it was dragged out of the sea in a tuna net... ...so, yeah, maybe dolphins made a couple of spectacularly bad evolutionary decisions early on, and maybe they're paying for it now, but they might not be a whole lot less intelligent than us. They're just the result of bad planning on the part of their ancestors. So that's what I think. * Not being able to start a fire, and not having hands... those are the drawbacks, not the inability to hold aloft a flaming torch and go, "Aaaaaaaaaaaaaah" like Schwarzenegger in Predator. That's not a prerequisite to creating a civilisation. ** ** Though it couldn't hurt. If they are the zenith of evolution then why are they so tasty? Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 They can't be any thicker than the average Radio One DJ. It's a yes from me. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 If they are the zenith of evolution then why are they so tasty? How do you know humans aren't just as delicious? Link to comment
dervish Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 How do you know humans aren't just as delicious? Shouldn't we do this on pm? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3WlRKZ1l8I Nom nom nom Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 Kelt you should really channel your energies into writing a book. I feel as though you are wasted here. I'm currently trying... but I need a casual's muscle on the project. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 this is what gets me about us saying thing like "ah, but theyre not intelligent as they cant start fires, Yeah, but that's not what I'm saying. I'm saying they can't manifest their intelligence in the form of what we would recognise as a civilisation, because one of the prerequisites to civilisation is fire. I wasn't saying that dolphins are dumb because they can't make fire, I said they're unfortunate to be in an environment where they can't make fire. Even Bear Grylls couldn't start a fire under water, that doesn't mean he's thick. fires and broadband are important to us, not dolphins If you want to create a civilisation as we know it then fire is essential to any species, be that humans, dolphins or Huns. show a dolphin a flame or a fibre connection and theyd have no clue what it is, purely because they dont need to know likewise, if we seen 2 things a dolphin did down there, we'd have no idea what it was either Can't imagine dolphins do a whole lot more than fuck, fight, shit and eat.... and I'm pretty sure I'd recognise those. Link to comment
tainboy Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 Ok. I'll show a dolphin a tuna net. Not so fucking smart now are they?!?? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 but everything youve argued there, fighting fire with fire, if you will...is from your own perspective civilsation as WE know it they will have their own version of what we think civilisation is While I think it extremely unlikely that dolphins have anything other than a nomadic, non-tech, society, I've never argued that they couldn't have something that might qualify as civilisation on an entirely different set of principles. That's why I expressly said "What we would recognise as civilisation. I can't really imagine what kind of civilisation lacks tools, writing, basic manufacturing or organised, concentrated populations, however.... without those things you're basically a herd of animals. Link to comment
dervish Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 They are quite enlightened keen on a bit of the gay sex, incest and rape. So like us. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 Since when have dolphins not needed broadband? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 yep and theres your problem maybe its as that are thick, clapping ourselves on the back like morons for what we regard as revolutionary inventions, whereas theyre observing us thinking were a bunch of yahoos You've been down this road before Miller with Killer Whales and I believe you took a beating in that thread. Maybe I'm mistaken. Harcus will help me find out. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 23, 2012 Author Share Posted February 23, 2012 yep and theres your problem maybe its as that are thick, clapping ourselves on the back like morons for what we regard as revolutionary inventions, whereas theyre observing us thinking were a bunch of yahoos and while doing so they swim in to the nets of Japanese fishing boats. 1-0 tae the humans Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 until they start paying taxes they shouldn't be allowed the same rights although of course, no taxation without representation Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 A dolphin surfing the net. I feel sorry for it though. They're doing no harm. Leave them be. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 23, 2012 Author Share Posted February 23, 2012 some humans dont have accidents? Point me in the direction of the details of the last human that was trawled oot of the sea by the Japanese, and eh'll admit defeat Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 23, 2012 Author Share Posted February 23, 2012 A dolphin surfing the net. :laughing: Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 I'm currently trying... but I need a casual's muscle on the project. PM me! Link to comment
Henry Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 You've been down this road before Miller with Killer Whales and I believe you took a beating in that thread. Maybe I'm mistaken. Harcus will help me find out. http://lmgtfy.com/?q=afc+chat+killer+whales It's the Kelt thread. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 The dolphins at Aqualand in Tenerife put on quite a show, I'd like to see a human try to jump a 20 foot net with a football on its nose. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted February 23, 2012 Author Share Posted February 23, 2012 all relative though, which is my whole point entirely show me the last dolphin to fall off a platform at a train station and get smacked by a train? But a human could physically get in the ocean and get fished oot, a dolphin couldnae get to a train station. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 Point me in the direction of the details of the last human that was trawled oot of the sea by the Japanese, and eh'll admit defeat Probably a victim of the Tsunami Link to comment