What Makes You "english", "scottish" Etc

28 members have voted

1. 1. Is a person "Scottish" if

• Both parents are Scottish, but born and raised in England?
    • Both parents are Scottish but born in England and moved at early age
    • One parent is Scottish, but born and raised in England
    • One parent is Scottish but born in England and moved away at an early age
    • Neither parents Scottish but born in England and moved at an early age
    • Neither parents Scottish but born and raised in England but grandparents were Scottish

• Replies 70

Poll multiple choice now (wasn't originally) but still not flexible enough for me.

My feelings are:

1. Born there

2. Grew up (significant amount) there

3. Parent/s born there

4. Have taken nationality or lived there a long enough time to do so

(5. as far as playing international... if your career has been largely or significantly based in that country I'm sortof ok about that being a basis for it... maybe. Not convinced myself entirely about that but leaning that way)

*I hate being Scottish. We're the lowest of the fucking low, the scum of the earth, the most wretched, servile, miserable, pathetic trash that was ever shat into civilization. Some people hate the English, but I don't. They're just wankers. We, on the other hand, are colonized by wankers. We can't even pick a decent culture to be colonized by. We are ruled by effete arseholes. It's a shite state of affairs and all the fresh air in the world will not make any fucking difference.

*I quite like being Scottish

My gut feeling basically comes down to where you feel you belong but if rules are needed then for me if you were born in Scotland you can claim to be Scottish regardless.

If both parents are Scottish then you can claim to be Scottish too.

If born in a foreign country and one parent belongs to that country even if other parent Scottish it becomes less convincing though you can make a better claim if neither parent belongs to that foreign country you were born in and one of them is Scottish however anything beyond that just isn't - imo.

I've lived in the Glasgow area for many years that doesn't make me Glaswegian (not that I hate them simply for being born there - hating someone because of where they were born is daft). If you are born in England of English parents and lived in Edinburgh for 10 years - you are still English even if grannie lives in Leith.

the missus wee brother (21) was born and has lived in England his whole life (obviously with a strong English acdent) but both parents are Scottish as is his family and he is fiercely Scottish to the point he would go for you if you even suggested he was English.

Hilarious when he come up for Scotland football games and when he goes away to the Rugby with his Kilt on. Gets some strange looks. He now rocks a few Dons tops sent down for his Bday/Xmas

Personally i think it comes to how you as a person feel! Id never play for a country that i have absol no link to including a Grand father unless i had been greatly influenced by him.

International football should be stripped back to basics - you have to have been born in that country in order to qualify. Not yer ma, yer granny or yer postie, just you.

you mean born there like terry butcher was in singapore? or born there as in you hold that nations passport?

its too complicated these days and folk like cascarino have highlighted that the system is a bit of a joke.

should be simple like you say.

would france have won teh world cup with only french passport holders? how many of them were actually french?

the dutch in the past too have taken many with diverse backgrounds.

lots of things make you Scottish/English etc.

Could be where you were born, brought up, the values your granda/grunny/ma/da instilled into you and where you feel you belong.

I know a guy Sweden that says he's Scottish. Brought here when he was 8 and has lived here almost 30 years. He has a Swedish and UK passport but he says without a doubt he's from Aberdeen and he's a Scot.

Its cant be put down to 1 of the things you've put above, its about how you feel about it yourself.

Unless you're a shite English footballer that is, then if you've got a grunny that was Scottish then you can at least get a game for an international team.

If you move to another country you should not be considered for the national team.

And you canna play for your new country either.

Would mark you down as a nomadic traitor, and rightly so.

Why did you move in the first place should be put to these types, by an SFA grilling committee.

Nae mates? On the run from serious crimes? Drug or human trafficking?

'Whatever you say you havering spastic, now GTF, you will never play for Scotland again'.

what was the deal with molester gough (sweden) and fatty goram (oldham). how did they worm their way into the scotland setup?

same with don hutchison. and mccall too, hes was english i think.

shame we lost out on ray houghton. why did he choose eire?

all the names you've listed qualify through their parents.

Steven Fletcher is, ironically, an English cunt, yet folk batter Levein for not including the English bastard on the basis that he refused to travel with us for an important game.

Same as Stokes, you canna pick and choose your games, this applies from youth football upwards, those that turn up regularly take precedence over the primadonnas and rightly so.

And everyone screams for Rhodes to get capped before England tempt him, but he only qualifies through education. :dontknow:

Correct, people fall for media illusion and spin.

The Scottish media do not like Craig Levein, and therefore he can do no right in their eyes.

This is because he stuck it to Rangers, and they dinna like that at all (Lennon, Romanov, Durrant) etc etc.

I disregard what is said in the media. Levein is doing a decent job.

Leave the incessant manager bashing to the English.